Winter is the slow down…

a digital image I created layering my artwork and photography was the starting point for pages in one of my homemade art journalsMagpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Goes Gray

mixing paints and gesso for the background and using the star shaped stamp on scrap paper to add texture and interest…

Magpie's Nest Paint and Star Pattern

the computer generated Terri Guillemets quote flowed onto the pages (actually it is quite fiddly to cut and glue the words down and that is why I went with phrases this time)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter is the slow down

there are still a lot of gessoed pages waiting for attention… the other completed spreads can be seen here and here

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Is

joining Art Journal Journey again for Chrissie’s Winter Wonderland challenge…

 

25 responses to “Winter is the slow down…

  1. What a wonderful piece, love the colours and the beautiful combination of images, just fantastic, dear Patty, Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. This is an amazing piece of artwork with a wonderful quote.

    Thank you for your support at AJJ

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

  3. Oh wow Patty — gorgeous!
    You created a winter wonder page in your Journal !
    I am thrilled about it!
    Thank you for linking to Art Journal Journey again!♥♥♥
    Have a great rest of the week!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  4. Pretty. It gives the dark feel that you get in the dead of a cold winter. Hugs.

    Like

  5. Such a splendid interpretation of winter with a perfect quote. Brrrr! Stay warm this weekend – it looks like you might get snow!

    Like

  6. A wonderful star stamp, looking kind of Indian ? and I still admire the paper doily you used, Patty, -looking so much like a real lace, and the qoute sounds already reading it, calming and pieceful. The cold blue-like light you created is gorgeous,-and just what I see outside my window, today with the grey-blue shadows on the snow, from a very pale sun !!
    Such a winter beauty spread, again , dear !!
    Hugs
    Dorthe

    Like

  7. This is lovely Patty.Winter does slow down,especially up north!
    xoxo

    Like

  8. I love the look of the cut down words but I hate doing it — you’re right — it IS fiddly. And you know, it works just fine as a quote, all in one. Very nice.

    Like

  9. Dottie Lou Crisp

    Patty! I am awed by your work. Every day, you have something else wonderful to add. Thank you so much for sharing. xoxoxo

    Like

  10. Love all the layering…and the words.

    Like

  11. Gorgeous pages and layers. The word phases look great, well worth the fiddly cutting you had to do.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  12. What magical pages with the cool blue colors, it makes a wonderful winter atmosphere.
    Big hugs Anja

    Like

  13. Wonderful pages and a very good idea to put the nice star stamp around the edges. Great design!
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  14. Love this Patty! Love the way the colors and images blend together.

    Like

  15. This is beautiful Patty! I love your words and that wonderful image you created.
    Alison xxx

    Like

  16. Stunning pages, beautiful colors and I love the quote!
    Groetjes Karin

    Like

  17. What a brilliant saying!
    Patty, your pages are simply gorgeous- those blues are so yummy,and the touch of gold,just perfect! I love that you are also sharing some steps;I would just love to sit and watch you create someday- I know I would be filled with inspiration from you!
    warm hugs and this cold wintry day my friend! xo

    Like

  18. Marvelous quote. I was listening and a HUGE red tailed hawk hung out in the trees this morning. Love it when nature wakes us up!!! xox

    Like

  19. Beautiful Patty.
    Winter brings out the ethereal in us.
    Maybe it’s the shorter, darker days and the snow and icy landscapes surrounding you – whatever inspired these pages they have captivated my heart!
    We are sweltering in my neck of the woods ha ha!
    Love
    Shane xoxox

    Like

  20. Pingback: a hole in my pocket… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  21. so lovely-that theme over at AJJ this month really has inspired lots of super pages from you my dear! Love the stars for the background-gosh I haven’t used one of those tools-or my Brilliance pads in ages. You’ve inspired me:)

    Like

  22. Wow! What a fabulous page! Such gorgeous colours and I love the quote! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  23. I’m finally back among the land of internet and love what I see here. I love the star you used because I have one of those handles. I have never used the set I got, which I fear is a real shame on me. Your entry for this challenge is absolutely incredible. I adore it.

    Like

  24. These are amazing pieces! I so admire those who can do this type of work. cheerios!

    Like

  25. I love that quote on the first page – it’s a good way to think of winter. And the page is blue – my favourite!!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

