a hole in my pocket…

 it was really nice visiting so many talented artists over at Paint Party Friday last week for my first time playing along…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Painted Collage Background pages

this week I created a spread in a “Dream” themed art journal

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Gouache Stars

and had fun with a star shaped stamp and gold gouache…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Brandi Carlile lyric

cutting out a few stars and stamping a burst stamp over them using a mask..

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Dreams Heart

I had printed out two of my altered images using the smaller one in another of my art journals here… this version worked out nicely for these book pages … 

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz dreams fall quote

the words are from a Brandi Carlile song “The Things I Regret”… 

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz dreams fall

thank you for your visit…

“Still round the corner there may wait, A new road or a secret gate.” -J.R.R. Tolkien

40 responses to “a hole in my pocket…

  1. Beautiful pages, as always, and I love the touch of gold. Stay safe in the storm, dear Patty, look after yourself! Hope it won’t be as bad as expected. Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. I love the Tiffany blue with the gold–so lovely. It gives a very ethereal look. Have a wonderful weekend and happy PPF! xo

    Like

  3. Lovely journal spread, Patty. The colours and lay out are fabulous.
    Happy weekend xx

    Like

  4. Wow – I am thrilled about your wonderful spread dear Patty! So beautiful!
    Have a lovely weekend my friend!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  5. this is beautiful. I love the colour combination and the lyrics are lovely – I’d never heard of that singer but it’s made me want to investigate so thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. Another wonderful page with the nice star stamp and you did it in my favourite colors, turqoise with a touch of gold. I love it.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  7. Those stars are gorgeous Patty- the textured gold…they really add to your page! Hope you are stocked up and ready to ride out the storm- hopefully you won’t lose your power and maybe get to make some rt time while you are “snowed in”. Happy PPF.

    Like

  8. Beautiful pages Patty!! I love how your stars turned out with the gold gouache. Fabulous!! ~Sophia

    Like

  9. More loveliness! So enchanting! You have a way of using stock images that make them totally yours. You are in my thoughts as the winter storm approaches. Stay safe and warm.

    Like

  10. I love the richness of your page with the gorgeous stars you made and it’s opulent color palette. I love the poetic quote, even if it’s a little sad. Blessings!

    Like

  11. Both this, and the other page are really beautiful. I like that star stamp! Is it snowing yet, LOL?

    Like

  12. a beautiful journal spread! I love how your collage papers just meld into the backgrounds so well too. Hope you don’t get the storm that’s predicted. Keeping my fingers crossed for all of us!

    Like

  13. Pretty! I’m loving the starts and might do something similar for Valentine’s day with hearts. Hosting a make-and-take Valentine party soon and that would be a fun thing to prep up for the guests to cut out and use! The gold looks lovely with the blue and gesso white!

    Like

  14. Your pages are absolutely gorgeous, liebe Patty.

    Have a wonderful weekend

    Like

  15. Love the gold stars and how you stamped on them.

    Like

  16. “Starry starry night “- so beautiful, the woman fits wonderfully with the glittering stars, on the blue sky,- and the song line is wonderful as is the Tolkien quote . It is amazing how much you create, dear Patty . XOxo

    Like

  17. Hope you stitch that hole together and hold on to those dreams! xox Be safe and cozy in the blizzard. xox

    Like

  18. Simply GORGEOUS Patty! Love the whole thing…image and words. Thanks for showing how you did the stars.

    Like

  19. very dream like lovely

    Like

  20. Gorgeous spread, Patty! The “hole in my pocket” really speaks to me! The colors you’ve used are so beautiful and soft. Wonderful stars too.

    Like

  21. Esme was on my lap this morning while I was checking FB. I showed her your pretty stars.Her reply was silly gramma the stars went to bed !But we did agree they were very pretty. xoxo

    Like

  22. These cut-out stamped gold stars are glorious and then further enhanced with the sunburst, just lovely. Your starry spread is beautiful with the turquoise.
    What very special pages you make in your journals.
    Happy PPF.

    Like

  23. I love all of your layers here and such lovely colours too! I came for tea and stayed a while longer! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  24. Your starry pages look awesome, beautiful colours and I do love the words you used.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  25. Love the colours and the background, and those words fit so well on the pages. Beautifully done ….

    Like

  26. It’s always so inspiring to look at work in progress, thanks for the photos, your work is beautiful.

    Like

  27. Beautiful pages Patty! xxx

    Like

  28. Such a beautiful enchanting piece. I adore this Patty. Thanks so much for sharing how it was made too. x

    Like

  29. Absolutely stunning Patty!! You have me all starry eyed!! And i love Brandi Carlile!! You art always leaves me in awe!(I was going to say star struck,but too many puns!) heehee
    xoxo

    Like

  30. I was most intrigued by how you masked the star to get the star burst effect. Really clever way to add so much interest to this spread.

    Like

  31. I forgot to mention that I hope all is well in your world and you have electricity. I haven’t seen a weather report since I got home, but I know there were huge snow forecasts and power outages forecast for your area. I read you were looking forward to it, but I hope it’s only snow, not ice, then snow, then ice, then power outages, as some predicted. PLEASE stay warm and safe.

    Like

  32. I know this will sound very dramatic but I am going to say it anyway.
    I could dive into your art. There is always the most ethereal, dreamy quality which is captivating and you always source the most special images.
    Hope you are staying as safe and cosy as possible at the moment.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  33. Now how many times have I said wonderful spread!! I love it — and I love the sentiment too. If I carried all my daydreams in my pocket and the pocket did not have a hole in it — I couldn’t find me!!!!!
    Hey I agree with what Lynne said — there is a dreamy quality to your work that sucks me right in!!!!
    I guess you are covered in snow right now — I know DC is having a time of it! Hey – take a picture of the snow in your yard with a tea cup and a vase with flowers next to it. If you want to, you could add a biscuit or two!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  34. The stars are very pretty! Love the gold and pale blue colour together

    Like

  35. Wonderful color and layout! Though, I hope the hole in that pocket is just a small one, and fixable! ;D

    Like

  36. Love the layout and the words you chose are perfect ♥ Still laying low here and recharging.

    Like

  37. Cool work!
    Have a good week!

    Like

  38. Beautiful journal spread.
    And I hope you get that pocket mended soon! 🙂

    Like

  39. Abigail Davidson

    This turned out beautifully! Well done and happy PPF!

    Like

  40. This is beautiful! I so admire anyone who does collage as well as you do. It does not come to me naturally. 🙂 xo Silke

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

