winter white…

the recent blizzard had me in such a state of excitement I could not focus on much other than snow… taking photos… cooking… baking… admiring nature… watching the birds and snow…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Felting ingredients

I did sit down at my felting machine and played with assorted fabrics and fiber scraps along with some used tea bag papers…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz machine felting TAP transferthe step by step photos were taken at night with just the light in my sewing nook so they appear a bit darker than real life…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz TAP Transferthe first piece has a TAP image of a young girl hand stitched as the focal point embellished with flowers from a vintage hat and some extra lace and trims (I felt kind of brave cutting into my old doll’s wedding dress with its soft satin underlining…the doll is long gone)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Machine felted dress formusing the felting machine is really fun and very freeing with no bobbin or thread to worry about…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz White Buttons

I picked through some of my white button collection and decided on a couple of buttons to add to my second felted piece…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Stamped Dress Formwhich includes the dress form rubber stamped onto a piece of tea dyed cotton…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter White

I am joining Art Journal Journey with the digital piece above for their Winter Wonderland challenge and Moo Mania & More “Use Your Scraps” challenge too…

33 responses to “winter white…

  1. They are lovely Patty.I love old lace and buttons,have a big collection.
    Glad you have snow to play in. xoxo

    Like

  2. Oh wow Patty … both is so beautiful – adorable!
    I love what you have made here with your scraps!
    Thank you so much for joining us at Moo Mania & More and Art Journal Journey at once!
    ♥♥♥
    Liebe Grüße
    Susi

    Like

  3. oh how I love your exquisite felted pieces Patty!! It really does make me happy to see someone love the snow as much as you do. I’m wondering if you’re getting any sleep:)

    Like

  4. Ooooh Oooooh Ooooh! LOVE LOV E LOVE!!!! I just want to feel those lovely felted pieces, -GORGEOUS! Thanks so much for joining us at MM&M and at AJJ, Alles Liebe Patty, Valerie

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous felted piece and so many gorgeous details, especially the lace! I love the fab design and great quote. I always enjoy your beautiful work! Mar 🙂 x

    Like

  6. Oh, so very delicate, love that soft touch of your creations. I enjoy this very much ♥

    Like

  7. OMG its magic what you have conjured with felt,lace,paper and fabric.
    Two dreamful artworks made with lot of fantasy. Can’t stop looking at,so nice. To have such an amazing felting machine is very good to simplify felting.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  8. Oooh, so lovely. I must try this felting stuff. Could we do at a Wednestay meeting ?

    Like

  9. Lovely work. Is it me or do you break needles lots too with your machine. Maybe I’m just too rough. Love seeing those buttons and laces and the sweet face. I have some TAP, do you think I’ve used it????? One of these days. xox

    Like

  10. Wow! This is stunning with so much texture and beauty. It must have taken ages to make

    Thank you for your support at Art Journal Journey

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

  11. Beautiful felted pieces. They look like fun to make. I have never used a felting machine before, but what a great way to make felt. My favorite is the one with the dog sled- perfect for all your snow. I have a new student fresh from Baltimore and she was telling me how the streets weren’t all plowed when she moved this week. And I love the idea of calling a pound cake a poundS cake. Think I will adopt that one.

    Like

  12. Really marvellous creation, I adoreyour talented artistic works!
    Big hugs Anja

    Like

  13. Beautiful!!! So delicate and elegant. Love your work 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  14. WOW, both of these projects look gorgeous, wonderful textures and a great romantic look. The felting machine looks like it is fun to use..
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  15. I can just imagine your feelings right before cutting into the doll’s wedding dress, but what a wonderful way to use the material in new and beautiful pieces of art.

    Like

  16. Once again you have blown me away with your talent and skills ♥♥♥♥♥ Both pieces are stunning .

    Like

  17. Be still my heart!!!!!
    How beautiful and inspirational that a snowstorm inspired you in this creative way. Patty, is the felting machine electric, I couldn’t work out if it is handheld or similar to a sewing machine. I am intrigued. I adore both pieces equally, the artwork with TAP image is particularly soothing.
    So glad I managed to visit you even at this late hour.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  18. These are lovely Patty! Very creative idea!

    Like

  19. These are wonderfully romantic typical-Patty-pieces again! You put together these different white in white things so creative! Liebe Grüße von Ulrike

    Like

  20. Oh, so much white goodness! Each of the steps shows a work of art and then the surprise of the finished piece, so delicate and ethereal, almost of another world. I’ve looked and looked at all your “scrap” treasures, a wonderful collection.

    Like

  21. Gorgeous artwork, I love it very much, the textures of the fabrics and embellishments are wonderful. Enjoy the snow! Shirleyxx

    Like

  22. So soft and pretty. Matches the icy look outside.

    Like

  23. your pieces are so beautiful!

    Like

  24. Wow! They are beautiful Patty! You are a very talented lady! xxx

    Like

  25. This is all so delicate and soft, just like fresh snow, how beautiful and dreamy, a wonderful post!

    Like

  26. Oh Patty, you’ve played right into my heart!
    This is what I love more than other form of art work – the collage.
    So feminine with beautiful odds and ends of laces and those faded colours take me back to another era!
    My heart is swooning.
    The lovely collage you sent me still sits on my inspiration board – I love it so much thank you.
    Love
    Shane x

    Like

  27. WOW wow WOW! These are all so gorgeous Patty! I really love the canvas because to me it is so winter like and I can feel the snow just looking at it. Thank you for sharing your lovely work!

    Like

  28. I have always wanted one of those felting machines, ever since I felted by hand using a single felting needle. This entire piece is a gem, and I was really impressed with both the felting and the stamping on the tea bag, This shows how versatile you are, right down to the TAP image.

    Like

  29. Only just found this – you did get out your machine! These are beautiful pieces. I love the soft pinks and whites. Well done, Patty.

    Like

  30. Simply enchanting! Both pieces are so beautiful Patty!!
    Will you come to my house to play? I have a felting machine that was gifted to me and have never even taken it from the box! You could teach me! LOL
    One can dream-right?!
    lots of love and keep warm my friend! xoxo

    Like

  31. What a wonderful effect the snow had on you! I love your use of scraps! I haven’t used my felting machine for a while. ..maybe I need to move things from in front of it! !!! Chrisx

    Like

  32. Hmmm. You may have planted a seed in my brain. I have a bin in our storage room that is awaiting my attention and I’m pretty sure there are a couple of baby dresses I wore (ahem…over 60 years ago) in there. I suspect the fabric is probably rotted by now, but maybe there will be some salvageable bits to use for something like this.

    Like

  33. Hello ma chère Patty, absolument superbe, quel talent.
    Bizzzzz
    MAPY

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

