Little Free Library…

walking is something I really enjoy and always mean to do more of…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz right of way path

I do find that getting out early in the day is my best plan before I sit down at the computer and time evaporates…

 Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz take a walk

we have some nice bike paths joining several neighborhoods that cross little creeks and meander through the woods and open spaces…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz approach

have you heard about the Little Free Library literacy program with book exchanges in 50 U.S. states and 70 countries around the globe (as of Jan 2016 there were 36,000 registered)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz LittleFreeLibrary

one was installed along a favorite walk of ours a couple of years ago…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz LittleFreeLibrary Info

as I have been in clearing out mode on and off for awhile now I try to grab a handful of books to leave there when I think of it…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz departure

there is also a Little Free Library at our favorite supermarket…

Mom's Little Free Library Herndon VA

MOM’s Organic Market in Herndon…

Mom's Little Free Library Builder

after a trip to the market the other day I just had to pull over on the way home to buy a couple of packs of pretty violas…

Patty Szymkowicz Violas

I popped them into assorted chipped cups and containers so I could enjoy some inside and outside too…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Spring Whispers

then I had a little fun playing with them on my iPhone using assorted apps (Diana, DistressedFX and PixlrExpress are my favorites)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Becca Lee quote

here’s wishing you a Happy T Day

“And as she fell apart her shattered pieces began to bloom – blossoming until she became herself exactly as she was meant to be…” -Becca Lee

36 responses to “Little Free Library…

  1. Thanks for letting us take a walk with you…it was nice to see your part of the world. They say that getting up and taking in sunshine is also good for the brain first thing in the morning. It truly does help us think better. I miss being able to walk like you are, but am learning to walk the best I can in the new me. In fact, today my son is supposed to pick me up and take me and the Grandpup down to my favorite path…the Lakeland Trails.

    Like

  2. What beautiful territory, Patty. I can see why you enjoy walking there — and a library along the way is a treat! I see few of those here and I think they’re so cute! And useful, too!

    Love the violas and especially what you did with them photo-wise. Very nice!

    Like

  3. Love taking your walk with you. 🙂 And those libraries are a wonderful idea. Hmm… i think i need some violas…Did you know they are also called Johnny Jump Ups??The Pansy was developed from them by Texas A and M i think… Happy Tday! Hugs! deb

    Like

  4. alteredattic

    Wish I could walk in spaces like that – beautiful!! Thanks, as always for sharing sweet friend xoxoxo

    Like

  5. Beautiful…thanks for taking us on your walk it was wonderful! Off to discover a glimpse of spring right now! I feel like I am hatching out and in seek of the warm sun!

    Like

  6. What a wonderful idea! I have not seen one of these boxes not have I heard of the program.
    You arrangement always so romantic – so you! The pictures you took with your cell phone are really beautiful. I am going to get my husband to look into these programs. I am also sending your post to my daughter who is a 5th grade teacher and really stresses the importance of reading. I wonder if she has seen one of these boxes.
    Thanks Patty,
    Sandy xx

    Like

  7. I love taking walks 🙂 We have Little Free Libraries here, too, and I always enjoy seeing them. Happy T Tuesday!

    Like

  8. That looks like such a lovely walking path. Not sure if we have any of those boxes in our area. I usually donate our books and DVDs to our local library for their fundraising sales. Always love your arrangements Patty, just so pleasing to the eye. And of course I love your digital play along with that beautiful quote at the end. Wishing you warm walks and a happy T day!

    Like

  9. We have two free libraries in my neighborhood. The next time I’m out walking I’ll try to remember to take my camera and photograph at least one. I don’t usually take my camera because it’s heavy.

    Those violas are gorgeous. I thought they were pansies when I first saw them. You managed to get a lot of mileage out of two packs. All your containers were great and the vignettes you chose were awesome.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely walk, your free library in your neighborhood, and your beautiful violas in cups with us for T this Tuesday.

    Like

  10. Love the free library idea, great photos, too. Happy T Day, sorry I’m late today, I was at Rehab/Boot camp all day! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  11. Fab idea with this cute free libraries!
    Beautiful area – wonderful photos liebe Patty!
    Happy T-Day!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  12. I’ve heard of this wonderful project but haven’t come across one in our area. Love how you have arranged t h e flowers. Great photos Patty
    Happy Tuesday
    Hugs

    Like

  13. Walking each morning is a great way to set up the day. R & I go before breakfast, while the neighbourhood is quiet, and relatively traffic-free. It’s a joy to greet all the birds, and see everything afresh. The concept of a free library is wonderful. Will have to talk to our local council.

    Like

  14. What great places to wander! Love the little free libraries. We have a free library room here in our senior building where I can leave books–or borrow them. Always nice! Pretty flowers!! Happy T-Day! 🙂

    Like

  15. Take a walk in the morning is a good idea to stay healthy and to get fresh air for the brain to be creative later. The tiny book houses look so nice. We have a little bit bigger boxes for Free Libraries here in Germany. Sunday I saw such Library in an old telphone box in a small village, great idea and place for so many books. Thank you for sharing your nice photos.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  16. What a most beautiful area, to enjoy nature walks, or rides, dear Patty. You live so beautiful, and with so many different places to experience, so cozy it looks. The little free libraries , area wonderful idea. I haven`t seen any on my island , but near where my daughter live, there is a big round glass cabinet , with 4 shelves ,filled with books of all kinds, ready to be yours, if you wish. Or like you do ,to add more books from our shelves at home. Such a lovely idea, and we all have found great books to take home, in this glass cabinet. Love your amazing photos as usual, and oh the violas,.I need to find some next time I`m in the city. So sweet to put each one in its own cup. Also love your play, with your photos, dear friend.
    Dorthe xoxoxo

    Like

  17. Proud of you for walking! And glad to see there’s no snow on the ground today! The violas are so pretty! Things are budding out here. We saw a lot of bluebonnets on our trip to the Texas hill country last week. They will be this far east soon! Happy T Day!

    Like

  18. That was a ;lovely walk. Thank you for taking us with you.
    I hadn’t heard of the little free library, but I have participated in ‘Bookcrossing’ which is a similar thing. People leave books in prior arranged places, like some pubs would have a bookshelf. Or you leave a book in a waiting room. Each book has a code and you are requested to put the code on the website so the book’s travels can be followed.
    I love the idea of using chipped china for violas. I must remember that and not throw old cups away like I have been doing.
    Elizabeth’s computer freezes every time she visits my blog and gets a message ‘Mozilla Firefox not responding’.I have never heard of Mozilla Firefox and am not conscious of using it… Do you get the same problem?
    Have a good week,
    Lisca

    Like

  19. Patty, You continually open my eyes!
    I have not heard of the Little Free Library, this is the most astonishing of ideas, how wonderful. Books are so important to my life and there was a time, not so long ago when I would hold onto every book, if it was a less than satisfactory read, I would not part with the book but I couldn’t continue with this habit so once I’ve read a book and usually passed on to my Mum to read, the books are then saved to be donated to a charity. I much prefer this idea but I have never heard of this scheme, certainly not locally.
    Your beautiful flowers definitely speak of Springtime as do the small bunch of daffodils I managed to buy locally for my Mum this week.
    wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  20. I love this walk with the Little Free Library! The violas are beautiful and I love the way you changed the photos! Happy T day! Chrisx

    Like

  21. You have such beautiful places to walk and I love looking the photos you shared of them. i need to start walking again too. I enjoy it and it so good for you. We have a book exchange bookcase in the break room where I work. I have loved being able to donate some books there and have read a few off the shelf too.

    Like

  22. Love your spring pansy and tea cup. And what a beautiful walk. I’ve never heard of those little book boxes, but what an excellent idea. Have you ever grabbed a book to read? happy T Day.

    Like

  23. Freda Butler

    I just love the idea of the Little Free Library. I am a library person, always have been and always will be no matter what technology comes along.
    I have a kindle but have never read a book on it. bought it to use for email when on the road.

    Our library is one of the only free things we have left. Our library here in Florida has wonderful programs going on. Currently they have been offering beg. med. and advanced classes for new I phone and I pad users.
    I am in the beginning.

    Use your libraries or you will eventually lose them.

    Like

  24. you have an awesome Walking route there, and the Little library is a wonderful Institution. i like your Play with the Smartphone apps (can you believe i don´t even have a Smartphone – still refusing, though i know it can have Advantages). These digital Bloom collages go together so well with the Quote!
    happy belated t-day and rest of the week, dear patty!

    Like

  25. what charming paths to walk! I have heard of the little libraries, but don’t know of any near me. I do seem to accumulate a lot of books that really could be shared…the color provided by your sweet violas is a wonderful idea! great way to speed up the arrival of Spring. Happy belated T day!

    Like

  26. Looks like a beautiful place to walk. I haven’t stumbled across a free library yet, but did read just recently that someplace was banning them (can’t remember where now). Why would they feel the need to do that? What harm is it doing? There’s another similar thing called ‘Book Crossing’ – you register online and then you leave books randomly in public areas with a little note inside to explain what Book Crossing is all about. I did it for awhile but haven’t recently. Must get back to it! (bookcrossing.com if anyone is interested).

    Like

  27. I would love to follow that path Patty!
    Love the idea of Little Free Libraries, maybe we have some here too , I’ll check it out.
    Pansies are one of life’s joys and I usually have some in pots as well as in the garden!
    I can’t wait to try your iPhone apps, in fact if I wasn’t working I would love to sit at my art table and play today!…. one day I will.
    You always inspire me sweet Patty, thank you!
    Love
    Shane x

    Like

  28. What a lovely walk we took! I do wish we had bike paths or trails around us “(
    Have you been out walking often Patty? As i see you also have no more snow!(secretly she cheers,even though she knows her dear friend Patty loves the snow!) heehee
    I love those little libraries- what a super idea! Don’t think we have any of those either “(
    Good to see you blog again,I have been missing you. Been a bit busy myself as of late,so my social networking has lacked.
    Hoping all is well and beautiful in your world!
    huge hugs my friend! xoxo

    Like

  29. This idea is brilliant isn’t it! You do indeed have beautiful places to walk. Love the photos — so very creative. Always enjoy your posts, Patty. big hugs, Donna

    Like

  30. I love those little free library kiosks. So perfect. Looks like some nice walks in your neck of the woods. We have a few, but it’s always nice to walk the beaches here. I like finding good bits thrown up by the tides. xox

    Like

  31. Lovely places you walk. I’ve seen several of those little free libraries popping up around here too. I’ve exchanged a few books with the one outside our local red center when I go to workout.

    Like

  32. A lovely post Patty!
    Love your plant pots! I can never throw chipped cups and mugs, they usually become pencil or brush pots! 🙂
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Alison xxx

    Like

  33. I’d love to walk down these paths and the book idea sounds amazing and so friendly. How nice to have a bench next to the books where you can sit and browse.
    Your photographs and set-ups of the flowers are very pretty and I just love what you have made with them using photo-editing and especially like the green viola with the words, that is a beauty.

    Like

  34. I love this idea. I haven’t seen any mom’s little free library boxes in our area although we do have something similar where boxes are placed on buses for the free exchange of books. Anything that gets people to read is a good thing!

    Like

  35. I was just about to comment on the post above and say I’d not heard of ‘little free library’ when I noticed the title of this blog post – well, what a fabulous idea that is Patty..sadly as far as I can see. England isn’t one of the countries that have these – but it looks great!
    Loved your photos – what a lovely and peaceful looking place you have to enjoy your walks 🙂
    Gill x

    Like

  36. ooooops I just noticed this is from 2016 – I’ve lost my way clicking on things … I guess it was probably a link in your current post to explain these 🙂

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

