anticipation…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Time Mandalathe days just before a trip are a wonderful and exciting time full of anticipation…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Easter tulipseven though Spring is a favorite time of year here in the Washington, D.C. area the thought of April in Paris delights me no end…Lilacs starting to bloom

Mr Magpie and I will be celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary in France which is a dream come true for me for several reasons…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Dish mandalaever since I took a wonderful solo nine week trip to Europe as a young woman many many years ago I thought how lovely it would be to return to Paris with someone special

Patty Szymkowicz slides from Paris long agorecently I came across a box of slides from my trip and am sharing a handful that were taken in France (the ones of me thanks to strangers)…Patty Mahoney Szymkowicz Chartres, France I believeI pretty much lived in that yellow waterproof coat (funny because yellow is not a favorite color of mine to wear now at all…oooh the memories and the things I realize I had forgotten after looking at some photos)…

Patty Szymkowicz UK to Franceconsidering my camera was surely nothing fancy (no clue what it was) and certainly not digital I did get a few nice shots (thanks to Mr Magpie for scanning the slides to view as photos… hopefully we can digitize all of my slides one day)… Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Viola Muscari2

we have a couple of extra special treats in store for us this trip as we are getting to meet up with two blog friends: Chris from the UK (Metro strike willing) who is in Paris right now and Sabine who will be traveling by train from Germany to spend our last day in Paris with us (SO exciting!!!)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Souvenir of Parisa few more sleeps and off we go with our traveling tea cup…

Patty Szymkowica Taking TIme to TravelI am joining everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover to wish you a very Happy T Day and a lovely April too…

“I am not the same, having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.” – Mary Anne Radmacher

 

37 responses to “anticipation…

  1. pearshapedchris

    Not quite there yet Patty! Off to bed now and an early start tomorrow – should arrive in Paris around 5 pm! We will definitely work something out! I love your photos! Hugs, Chrisxx

    Like

  2. YES I sure hope so Chris. I got excited and pushed PUBLISH a little earlier than I had planned LOL. Bon voyage and Merci oxo

    oxo ~*~ Patty Magpie’s Nest Blog *“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” -Mary Oliver*

    Like

  3. What a wonderful trip Patty. Of course you will take many more photo’s for all of us ?? Hope, Hope!! I wish you delightful memories,safe journey and don’t forget to come home. xoxoxo

    Like

  4. How fun to see your young self with all that hair! Love the flower mandalas and all your travel photos. What an adventure that must have been! And how much sweeter to return with Mr. Magpie this time. Have a safe journey and enjoy every minute! I look forward to seeing photos and hearing all about it when you return.

    Like

  5. Have a wonderful trip Patty and I know you will bring home some great things to show us.

    Like

  6. Congratulations on your 35th anniversary!! Great post….I love the way you have presented all the pictures..so different and beautiful

    Like

  7. Love those old photos of you, and what a wonderful way to celebrate T day and celebrate Paris. Enjoy your upcoming trip. And take lots of photos-minus the yellow coat. Can’t wait to see some when you get home.

    Like

  8. amazing photo collages and memories. I’m always awed by how something so special as this can transport one in time with the scents, the feelings and love of your surroundings in those moments. You really haven’t changed. Wishing you and Mr. Magpie des bons, bons temps et beaucoup des heureuses souvenirs. Mwah!

    Like

  9. Ah…such sweet anticipation. Have a wonderful time…accompanied by your VERY ‘special’ person.

    Like

  10. Beautiful photos and I’m so excited for you and your trip 🙂 Love the flower mandalas you did ♥

    Like

  11. I love your flower mandalas!

    Like

  12. I’m as excited for you as you are. Well, almost, anyway. Gosh, how I enjoyed seeing the young you in your yellow rain coat. What a fun thing to look back on.

    I also look forward to photos from both you and Chris. I told her she might even get to see the traveling tea cup, which is looking very Paris-y in the photo.

    I know it’s almost thyme to go, so I’ll just wish you a great thyme in Paris and hope you and Mr. M. have 35 more of these anniversaries.

    Thanks for sharing your Paris photos AND your traveling tea cup with us for T this Tuesday.

    Like

  13. Lovely post, have fun in Paris, and may the trip be a memorable one for you. Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  14. oh the memories, touching my heart (well, the old slides, always thought of digitalizing, too… who? when?…) i´m sure you will have such a great trip to paris and i´m already looking for your photos, they will be even better than the old ones.
    love your “pouty” tulips, which were in the end good for a wonderful Mandala.
    i hope you will have a super duper anniversary travel!! big hugs!

    Like

  15. Enjoy and have fun! Will be thinking of you specially when you will be in my neighbourhood… Bon voyage. Happy T Day, xo.

    Like

  16. How exciting! And thanks for the showing us the slides. I bet they bring back memories. I have been to Paris a few times and I too have good memories. Living in Rotterdam we could take a cheap coach leaving at 5 in the morning and arriving in time for coffee, or should I say café. A day’s sightseeing and/or shopping and home at 1 in the morning. It was cheap and cheerful. I have done it many times.
    I remember once my friend from the States flew over to see me. She said she couldn’t flights to Amsterdam, so she was arriving in Paris, which to her looked quite close. I had to get on the train and book into a hotel to collect her from the airport. (I didn’t have a car). But I took my grandmother with me for company and we got a nice day out in Paris out of it!
    Happy T-Day, (sorry for rabitting on about Paris)
    Lisca

    Like

  17. Hi Patty, gorgeous photographs, I love the top creation that you made for the photos. Your upcoming trip sounds very exciting, enjoy ! Hugs xx

    Like

  18. Hope you have a wonderful trip and bring us back many of your great photos. Getting to meet 2 blogger friends sounds like the frosting on the cake. Happy Anniversary too!

    Like

  19. You’re looking forward to the trip in real life, and I’m looking forward to vicarious travel as you post photos 😉 Have a great time!

    Like

  20. Dear Patty, I hope you both will have the time of your life, in Paris, and France,- making your 35 years together, as married couple, a most beautiful and happy experience, with many,many memories to bring home ,with you. I am in fact a little jealous , lol- would love to take a tour like that. I love the slides you show, from all the wonderful and lovely buildings and places you have been, so many years ago. What a beautiful young woman you was ( and still is, just not that young, lol ) . I also would not wear yellow, but in fact it looks so very good to you, and your long gorgeous dark hair.
    Dear friend, two more days to go, if I remember right, – so maybe : your bags are packed, and your ready to go,-leaving on a jetplain ….:-) I wish you a wonderful and happy tour , take care, and see you soon again.
    Hugs from me.

    Like

  21. I think your old slides are great, especially since they were taken awhile ago and we all know how old film/slides degraded over time. I’m so excited for your trip, Patty — and to be honest, a wee bit envious, too! You’ll have the most wonderful time and I’ll certainly agree with you that seeing Paris with someone you love is really extra special! Bon Voyage and as you count down, savor the anticipation!

    Like

  22. Scanning the slides to view as photos…how DO you DO that??? Oh i hope you have a fabulous time in Paris.. I visited there many moons ago too. Just a whirlwind little trip but memories i treasure.Happy T day! Hugs! deb

    Like

  23. beautiful photos as ever I especially like the thyme display dont forget to eat frogs legs n snails in Paris as we did on our trip..ha ha enjoy

    Like

  24. Have a wonderful trip Patty. Your first Paris trip’s pictures look wonderful. May you both have a fabulous anniversary.
    Happy T day
    Hugs

    Like

  25. Hello Patty, I’ll join the others in wishing you and Mr. Magpie the very best of holidays.
    Your floral set-ups here are, as always, sublime and lift the heart.
    It is so lovely to see your old photographs, especially the one of you in the yellow raincoat on the boat.
    “See” you later!

    Like

  26. Dear Patty
    Wishing you Bon Voyage and a happy celebration dear for your 35 years of wedded love. You are well blessed!
    Many hugs,

    Suzy

    Like

  27. Just popped back to say journey was without incident – there have been rallies in the city today (with lots of arrests according to the French news ) but Eurostar got in early and metro was running ok – phew! Looks promising for Saturday! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  28. Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary. I hope you have a wonderful trip to Paris. Super photos and look forward to seeing more.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  29. A very happy anniversary wish to you and your dear Mr. Magpie! Have a wonderful (and safe) trip. Will be waiting to hear all about it!!

    Like

  30. Oh Dear Heart – I am so excited for you – Paris! The pictures you posted today are wonderful and I am sure bring back such special memories for you. Are you meeting up with Chris Dark by any chance? She is one of my favorites. Have fun Sugar – oh I know you will, why am I even saying that!!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  31. Wonderful old photos and the yellow coat looks good to your long brown hair. But I can understand that you don’t like the coat, yellow is also not my favourite color for clothes. 😉 Your old Paris look so nice and I hope it will be now nice too. I like also your lovely flower photos, nice as ever.
    Dear greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  32. Happy Anniversary wishes as well as wishes for a most wonderful adventure! Looking forward to hearing all about it as well as photo of the traveling tea cup!
    Happy Spring in Paris!
    much love,Jackie

    Like

  33. Wishing you a wonderful trip Patty ! Enjoy! How exciting that you will meet with such nice blogfriends!!! GREAT! Hope you take a photo from the meetings – so I can see you together! Would be lovely!

    oxo Susi

    Like

  34. How exciting! Those slides are really fun. Looking forward to travelling vicariously through you. 🙂

    Like

  35. Have a wonderful, romantic trip with Mr. M! xxx

    Like

  36. Your trip will be magical. Love the old photos — wonderful memories. Can’t wait to see this trip in pictures. Have a wonderful time and enjoy every moment. big hugs, Donna

    Like

  37. I cannot believe how behind I am in reading your blog! Oh my goodness! I have gotten so I just rely on Facebook for all my Patty Info!!!! I love, love, love these old pictures of you in France! So glad I didn’t miss this post! Great stuff!!!!!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

