Opéra National de Paris – Palais Garnier

Erika’s great theme of “Journeys” for Art Journal Journey this month is the perfect kick in the pants to do what I always “think” about doing after a trip…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Opera House Belle Epoque stylejournaling on vacation doesn’t seem to work for me because I am always so excited to be traveling and busy taking photos and having a good time…

Magpie's Nest Opera Garnier 1875the Palais Garnier was one of our favorite places in Paris dazzling both inside and out…

Magpie's Nest Opera Garnier insideever since seeing some of blog friend Jeanie’s photos from the Marc Chagall ceiling several years ago I have dreamed of visiting and feasting my eyes on it…

Magpie's Nest Paris Opera Garnier seats 2000his gift to the French people as thanks for the many creative years he had in his adopted country truly is glorious and not easy to capture on camera…

Magpie's Nest Opera Chagall's ceilingif/when we return to Paris someday we would take the guided tour rather than just float through enjoying things on our own…

Magpie's Nest Patty Jim Opera Mirror Selfiestill in the pinch me I’m in Paris mode after meeting with Chris and Tony a bit earlier in the day we were enjoying each moment…

Magpie's Nest French Ephemerainspired by the Opera I got busy on my first pages in a moleskin journal I’ve had for many years using bits I brought home and assorted things I already had on hand…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz 1968 Paris Opera envelopeI used part of this envelope piece that I had in my stash to make a lift up flap on the left hand page…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Opera pages (2)each page is perforated so I will be gluing something in the center to help keep the pages from pulling out…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Opera pages (1)the pages are quite thin so I’ll be adding layers to give them strength…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Opera pages“The dignity of the artist lies in his duty of keeping awake the sense of wonder in the world.” -Marc Chagall

 

23 responses to “Opéra National de Paris – Palais Garnier

  1. Your pages are beautiful, my fave photo today has to be the Chagall ceiling. Glad you had such a great time, and collecting all your mementos and journaling them will keep you busy for some time to come. Thanks for joining us again at Art Journal Journey, Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. Gorgeous photos of your Paris visit, the ceilings look spectacular. Its a fantastic journal spread,. look forward to seeing more from your holiday.
    Yvonne x

    Like

  3. FABulous photos of the Opera – Hopefully next time we go to Paris we will get to the opera before the last tour goes! Great journal page – thinking back to our very special time together makes me feel happy! Big hugs to you both! Chrisxx (and Tony )

    Like

  4. My what wonderful treasures and many more I bet. Not to mention the amazing memories as well. So happy you are sharing with all of us. xoxo

    Like

  5. Gorgeous page in your journal. That envelope is fantastic. What a great piece you had in your stash. And I know what you mean about being busy and not really getting to journaling while traveling. Sometimes I find time, and sometimes I don’t. I have been to Paris once but never to the Palais Garnier Opera. I didn’t know there was that gorgeous Marc Chagall ceiling. Now I must add that to my bucket list. For next time I make it to Paris. Thanks for sharing. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  6. Such a beautiful building ! Thanks do much for sharing as I’m sure this will be as close as I ever get to Paris. Your journaling is going well so far.

    Like

  7. My eyes are tingling with pleasure at the pictures of the Opera, inside and out! I can only imagine how you must have felt seeing it all in person!

    Like

  8. One of the Paris’s treasures… I really appreciated your “reportage” :), xoxo
    Louise

    Like

  9. I’m like you. I would never be able to create art while traveling from place to place, but I always send a postcard home every day I travel. That way I have a visual and written memory of the journey. I do this while drinking my first cup(s) of coffee for the day.

    I’d be in pinch me mode anywhere I went in Paris. It’s such a beautiful city. I really appreciated the photos you shared of the Marc Chagall ceiling. It is overwhelming and so beautiful. I could look at the photos you took of it (and the Opera House) all day. I can see how it would be difficult to capture.

    What an impressive spread you created in your new to you art journal. So glad to see you put some of those items you brought home with you to artful use. Beautiful entry and wonderful, wonderful photos.

    Like

  10. Wonderful impressions Patty and a wonderful idea to put this pages together with gatherings from the trip .. amazing!
    Thank you for joining Art Journal Journey liebe Patty!
    ♥♥♥
    hugs
    Susi

    Like

  11. Gorgeous photo collages and the journal pages are amazing. Take care, Shirleyxx

    Like

  12. SO much to love here! Your spread is fabulous — you really capture it (and that envelope is a gem!). And your photos! Oh, it brings back such memories — I’m so glad you were able to see the theatre and that wonderful ceiling. Your photos are simply beautiful! Isn’t it an incredible place? I’d love to see the ballet or opera here. I really believe that should be a key spot on most people’s visit to Paris (unless they hate amazing architecture or astounding beauty!)

    I’m like you — I can’t seem to journal on vacation. I am taking an online “travel journal” sketching class. I like it but wonder — would I ever do it when I was on the road? Probably not!

    Like

  13. Dear Patty ,The Opera must have been a spectacular place to visit, you know, even being in Paris with my x-husband he never showed this to me , it was more family, and friends …. I can see this is a magical place, on the wishlist ,if ever coming there again.
    Love the pages in your moleskin journal. They say Paris and elegance , and you had the great envelope and page from there ,too-such a beautiful print from the place .
    Thank you again, Patti for showing !!
    oxox

    Like

  14. How many ways can I spell wonderful – great pictures and great journal pages. What better way to capture some fantastic memories. I especially like the idea of using the envelope as a flap. It just seems like yesterday when you left. Loving your post Patty!!
    sandy xx

    Like

  15. Oh my! That ceiling is stunning!!!
    Beautiful collage pages Patty! xxx

    Like

  16. ha! One look at your gorgeous photos and I am still taken back to “pinch mode”! I too really hope to be able to explore that Opera house at length sometime-it really is such a magical and stunning place. Love the journal pages you have created to capture your memories of such a special time.

    Like

  17. Oh what amazing photos from the wonderful opera in Paris. If I will visit Paris next I will also have a look inside, so wonderful the Chagall paintings on the cupola. Maybe we meet there next year? Your journal pages with the nice engraving and post stamp looks very good too. The idea with the writing under the flap is good. Everything as nice as ever.
    Have a nice weekend.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  18. Pretty amazing indoor photographs this time and astonishing top of building statues. I’m enjoying your holiday photos and memories very much.

    Like

  19. WOW WOW WOW and WOW!!!
    I had no idea of such beauty and splendor there in France! Thank you dear friend for taking us along and sharing with us!!
    What a beautiful beginning of your journal!!
    I understand what you say about too excited to see and photograph along the way- there will always be time for journaling-so not to miss the sites in real time!!
    hugs,Jackie

    Like

  20. Fantastic photographs and wonderful journal spread

    Love Chriissie xx

    Like

  21. What a great idea to make a journal of memories and mementos of your trip! Nice to do it right away too, before the memories begin to fade.

    Like

  22. Wow stunning pics we never got there when we were in France a few years ago.Love your page and like the sound of your journal. x

    Like

  23. They know how to do a ceiling over there, don’t they!!! Your journal is going to be awesome!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

