Mucha at MSV

 just about an hour away past the tiny town of Paris…Magpie's Nest Virginia wildflowers in Mayis the “city” of Winchester, Virginia

Magpie's Nest downtown Winchesterwe had been wanting to visit the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (MSV)

DSC04319and their special Alphonse Mucha exhibit…Magpie's Nest Mucha Samplerit was really splendid but no photos are permitted on traveling exhibits so I don’t have much more than this to share…

FullSizeRender-97it would certainly be worth a return trip as there are lots of fine exhibits there…

FullSizeRender-95since it was the first sunny day out of almost twelve days of rain we were drawn to the lovely gardens…

Magpie's Nest MSV Pink PavillionI liked the Pink Pavilion and Fountain Courtyard a lot…Mutti JJJ Mothers Day 2016 Winchester t cupas you can see we brought the traveling tea cup along for my Mother’s Day outing…

Magpie's Nest Traveling Tea Cupwe enjoyed our day…

Magpie's Nest what's bloomingI hope you had a lovely weekend too…

Magpie's Nest views from the gardenhere’s wishing you a Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover…

“Today, just take time to smell the roses, enjoy those little things about your life, your family, spouse, friends, job. Forget about the thorns -the pains and problems they cause you – and enjoy life”. -Bernard Kelvin Clive

 

 

34 responses to “Mucha at MSV

  1. What a beautiful day!! Thanks for sharing your outing. 🙂

    Like

  2. How wonderful. I am so impressed with both the photos and the museum. I did a quick internet search for it, and saw your photos were more interesting than those I found on the internet.

    I had NO idea Mucha was considered the inventor of Art Nouveau. Live and learn, and that’s definitely what I love about T day.

    You look lovely, and I see you are not as camera shy as in years past. The photo of you, Mr. M. and the teacup is fantastic.

    Thanks for taking us on this trip to the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley for T this week. It was a wonderful adventure, especially the gardens! And yes, May is here and moving quickly, too.

    Like

  3. I forgot to mention that I have NEVER seen a soy burger in Wichita, KS, fast food restaurant or sit down. There are no vegetarian restaurants and few vegetarian choices out there for those of us who choose to not eat meat. It’s mostly a pick and choose kind of thing, and if I were a vegan, I’d be even more in trouble. Greek food can have some decent choices, as a few Italian choices. But for the most part, it’s either choose a meat dish or eat a side dish or deep fried appetizer!

    Like

  4. Oh you have posters too! Such an interesting visit – thanks for sharing and happy T day.
    Cazzy x

    Like

  5. How lovely and what a delightful way to spend Mother’s day.My that traveling teacup does get around! xoxoxo

    Like

  6. You know, I think I went to this town many years ago. I was traveling north with a friend after visiting Charlottesville and Shenandoah Skyline Parkway. I remember it was a pretty place, and I bet it is really pretty in the spring. Love your photos. Happy T day!

    Like

  7. How very beautiful! I get the impression that you might have been somewhat bohemian in your youth Patty…or. at least, a ‘flower’ child.

    Like

  8. How lovely to visit a Mucha exhibition, I love his work. Thanks again for sharing all the wonderful photos, and for showing us the tea cup again! Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  9. What a lovely day you both had. As always gorgeous photos too xx

    Like

  10. everything Looks so idyllic, i also would consider this a perfect day!
    i remember coming across Mucha when i was in prague in 2010…
    it is nice to see your tea Cup travelling with you… it would have to tell a lot for sure:)
    xo

    Like

  11. Fantastic photos and impressions – wow – a Mucha Exhibition must be super interesting! Thank you for sharing liebePatty!
    ♥♥♥
    hugs
    Susi

    Like

  12. Just haven’t gotten enough Paris yet huh?? 🙂 So glad you were able to spend a wonderful time in nice weather-all that rain-ugh! Would love to have seen that exhibit. I’m sure it has given you even more inspiration for your journal pages. Loving that photo of you with your teacup, along with that Mr. photographing from outside the window.Great shot! Happy T day my friend! Oh, and beautiful quote you ended with.

    Like

  13. Just read about your Burger King comment. I have been to Burger King a lot. I take friends there because I’m not a Mickey D fan. However, there are NO veggie burgers on the menu at any I’ve been to in the midwest. It’s either a local thing, or doesn’t fly in a state where beef reigns king!

    Like

  14. I so enjoyed your photos. Love the striped socks too. I’m a huge fan of fun socks especially when I can show a bit of them thru my Mary Janes. 🙂

    Like

  15. Thanks for introducing me to Mucha. I love Art Deco and his pictures are so beautiful. I see from your link that there is a museum dedicated to him in Prague, I’ve been to Prague many times and didn’t know about the museum. I’ll definitely check it out on my next trip. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  16. You have created such beautiful “collages” here Patty, I love them, and love the photo showing both lovely you, and your husband, – even the very traveling tea-cup have joined the museum tour 🙂
    And it is so beautiful outside, with the pavilion ,the green meadows, and cattle. I see you brought a bouquet with you home, dried maybe ? –
    Thank you for sunny experiences dear friend.
    Hugs, Dorthe

    Like

  17. lovely photos and I love that quote about roses

    Like

  18. Such charming photos of beauty and sunshine…I love Mucha! too bad they didn’t allow photos. Cute pic of you and the traveling tea cup…what a gorgeous fireplace and your hubby in the mirror with garden behind!…and the floor tiles…and the chandelier….and, and, and. love it all. 😉 happy tea day dear, and thanks for sharing your trip with us!

    Like

  19. What lovely pictures Patty… hubby and i haven’t traveled and sightseed in quite some time. Thank you for the reminder that we need to do that again soon. Happy happy Tday! Hugs! deb

    Like

  20. I’ve said this before, Patty, but you and Mr. M. make everything in your photos looks so beautiful, fresh and light. I don’t have enough words to say how much I admire and enjoy your photos and stylish mosaics. Starting from the first photo (the road ahead) through that marvellous photo of you, the mirror, the teacup and Mr. M. (and I love your outfit and shoes) (and Mr. M’s outfit too, of course), past the arched door, the fabulous tiny stone house (shed?) on to the end, it’s been a lovely journey.
    Great quote at the end, we must always remember that.

    Like

  21. Wonderful photos of a very nice place. Such a luck that you also could see the impressive paintings of Mucha, a great Art Nouveau artist which I love since my youth days. I had a look on Paris Virginia and saw that it is also a very nice little town. Like your lavender blouse and the nice photo Jim made of you. Tell him he is a very good photographer. You too.
    Thank you for sharing all this nice memories with us.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  22. Fantastic photos, the museum looks a wonderful place to visit, the gallery and paintings would be a great destination.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  23. Thank you for taking me with you on your outing. I would have loved the Mucha exhibition! I’m just a teensyweensy bit envious.
    The garden looks truly gorgeous. You take very good photographs. I like that round red gate. Very unusual. And the photo of you and Mr M in the mirror is fantastic. You are looking great, it’s a very good photo and it even has the travelling teacup in it. What more can one wish for….
    Thank you for visiting,
    Happy T-day,
    Lisca

    Like

  24. Great photos! I really love the one of you by the mirror ♥ So glad your trip was enjoyable . I want to go to an art exhibit again soon. I would have loved that one 🙂

    Like

  25. It’s a long time since I popped by but I saw the word Winchester and came to have a look. We visited Winchester when we were staying in Virginia mainly because I lived in Winchester, England for a while. It is a charming city and I wish we had had more time to explore it. Your picture with your cup and saucer is very clever. The reflection of not only your husband but the outside too! Thanks for the chance to recall some of my trip.

    Like

  26. What a fabulous outing! I can see I need to come back to catch up when I have a better connection! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  27. What a fun day dear Patty!! I love all of the photos,especially the one with you,Jim and the teacup!! heehee and the one with you by those gorgeous red doors! Oh I would love to have them somewhere-why?I dunno-just love them! heheee
    How lucky and exciting to see that Mucha exhibit- he is one of my all time favorites!!! Were the pieces originals?and where do they hail from? Are the colors exquisite?Oh, someday I shall see them! thanks so much for sharing and i am happy that you and Jim had a fine day!!
    ps…how is Colin doing on his trek? does he still have plenty of Snickers?
    xoxoxo

    Like

  28. I would completely lose control in that gift shop. Just sayin’… what a fabulous exhibit. I love Mucha’s work and oh, his use of color! I wish I was a LOT closer to the Shenandoah Valley!

    Like

  29. As always, wonderful pictures! What an opportunity to see the Mucha exhibit! Love his work!

    Like

  30. Well, these are great! I really love the mirror shot!!!

    Like

  31. pearshapedchris

    Well, what a fantastic place to visit! Virginia does look so beautiful in the Spring! Great photo of you and Jim with the teacup! The museum looks interesting – especially the Alphonse Mucha exhibition – my SIL loves his work! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  32. Great mirror shot Jim! xxx

    Like

  33. Nice to see a picture of you (and Mr. Magpie!). Looks like a perfect spot to spend Mother’s Day!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

