Appalachian Trail Update …

just as Mr Magpie and I were getting ready for our French adventures back in April our son was preparing for his thru hike on the Appalachian Trail…

Colin Szymkowicz enjoying the walksince some of you have asked how Colin is doing I thought I would give an update (a little over a month down the trail he is slathering the Snickers bars with peanut butter to add some extra calories)…

Colin Szymkowicz Hiker manhe is having the time of his life and has said: “rain or shine I’m doing fine”…

Colin Szymkowicz Blooms along ATthe photos I am sharing here are in no particular order and I combined some in mosaics…

Colin Szymkowicz heading to Mainewe are really grateful to have Facebook so we can see some of his journey…Colin S NC GA lineColin posts when he can but is really enjoying being unplugged and out in nature (crossing the Georgia/North Carolina line above with all of his belongings and approximately a weeks worth of food on his back)… Colin Szymkowicz along the Appalachian TrailI used Pixlr Express to add his name to photos he has shared on his FB page…

Colin Szymkowicz Snow in May on the ATstill some miles to go to get closer to us here in northern Virginia…

Many more miles to go till NOVAwe hope to meet for a couple days before he continues on his trek north…

Colin S Grayson Highlands State Park Wilburn Ridge VAproud of our boy for weathering storms along the trail while he keeps putting one foot in front of the other (500+ miles and counting)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Appalachian Trail Collage 2inspired by our son’s journey I am joining Erika’s JOURNEYS challenge over at Art Journal Journey with a digital collage I created using one of Colin’s photos and an Appalachian Trail map and bits of this and that…

*Monday update*

16 May 2016 quarter way point

 

25 responses to “Appalachian Trail Update …

  1. Colin looks happy and relaxed -who wouldn’t be with such beautiful sights! Hope the weather gets better for him. I love your AJJ page! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  2. What a fabulous journey Colin is on. He’ll remember this for his entire life, because when he finishes what an accomplishment. They say the part up here in New Hampshire and even more so Maine is the toughest and I will be curious to see if he thinks that once he gets here. I hope you show us more of his journey, and I am really glad you showed us this. Happy new week. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  3. Your son is very adventurous, his photos are fabulous. Your collage is beautiful. Take care, Shirleyxx

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for sharing his progress with us! I’ve wondered how it was going. That’s a lot of miles to be walking 🙂

    Like

  5. These photos are lovely, he seems to be having a great time and looks well and happy. Great that he can be all alone in the wilds but still keep in touch. Fantastic collage for AJJ, thanks so much for joining us again! Have a nicece day, Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  6. Absolutely, incredibly amazing! Kudos to your son! What an adventure and an accomplishment.

    Like

  7. I had planned to ask if you had heard from Colin and here you read my mind. I take it you are sending him food along the way, because you noted he had about one week of food with him in that photo.

    I love the AJJ journey you created to honor your son. I know you must be proud of him. And of course, I love the phrase “leave no trace.” It was perfect.

    Like

  8. What fantastic photos and I love the digital collage you created, what a wonderful way to capture your sons journey and be part of his experience :-). Love it!

    Like

  9. He looks happy and it seems he enjoys this very much. Amazing photos and I love that you made such a nice digital collage about his adventure trail!
    Thank you for sharing Colin’s adventure with us and thank you for joining us at Art Journal Joureny ! Happy Day liebe Patty!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  10. What an amazing journey. I daughter of a friend did that a couple years ago,loved every minute. For me I think that’s the most beautiful area of the country. We’ve spent a lot of time over the years in Tn.& NC. Always eager to return. Good luck Colin. xoxo

    Like

  11. Its a fabulous page for AJJ. Your son looks like he is having the most amazing time, what stories he will have to share in the future.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  12. WOW what a lot of marvellous photos, it seams a fabulous journey and your son enjoyed it very much.
    Great digital collage I’ve created!
    Good luck for the rest of the adventurous journey!
    Big hugs Anja

    Like

  13. Thank you and thanks to Colin for sharing this amazing adventure. Super photos!! Love his motto too:) Beautiful digital collage! Continued safe and fun travels Colin.

    Like

  14. Thanks for this, Patty, how impressive. And how great for you that although he is walking in remote areas he can still keep in touch through the modern wonders of communication. That’s a great photo of the path through the woods.

    Like

  15. Wow! What a journey he is on! A trip of a lifetime!! 🙂

    Like

  16. Truly amazing! What a fabulous adventure he is having. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Like

  17. What a great journey! Thanks for keeping us updated and sharing the wonderful photos.

    Like

  18. Great photos from Colin’s amazing journey, he has had even a bit of snow.
    It must be wonderful to walk through mother nature’s wonderland only with the sound of birds and bees. I wish him all the best for the rest of his trip.
    I think he will bring back home a lot of fantastic photos .
    Your digital journal page looks very good.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  19. What a wonderful life experience. He looks truly joyful. xox

    Like

  20. Wow! Looks fantastic! Colin looks like he’s having a fab time! xxx

    Like

  21. Patty!
    I am so happy you have shared this post!! Way to Go Colin!!! He looks like he is having the time of his life!I can feel how proud you and Mr.must be raising such a happy,healthy,adventurous,free spirited son! phew, that was a mouthful!! I am so happy you have shared Colin’s adventure with us, as this is something i would never embark on myself!!heehee I love his posing!”)
    hugs,Jackie xx

    Like

  22. Pingback: Art Journal Journey May Wrap up plus one more… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  23. What an exciting adventure! I once read a book about the Appalachian Trail and can imagine how awesome it must be to walk this trail.
    I really love the collage you created!
    Hugs, Dagmar

    Like

  24. Seeing this makes me want to re-read Bill Bryson’s book. This has to be the adventure of a lifetime – you have to be so proud of him, but worried too. At least I know I would be!

    Like

  25. Pingback: Hospitality In The Valley… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

