Le Château de Chenonceau

 after a picnic of crusty bread and delicious Morbier cheese we strolled through the cutting gardens leading up to  Chenonceau castle

Magpie's Nest Tulip time at Chenonceau Castle there were lots of tulips for the stunning arrangements we would discover a little later inside the castle…

Magpie's Nest Traveling Tea Cup in the gardenI was so excited about this visit we only managed to pose the traveling tea cup in one spot in the garden and then back in the box she went…

Magpie's Nest Cutting Garden Traveling T CupMr Magpie had the big camera and I was mostly using my phone camera…

Magpie's Nest Le Chateau de Chenonceauthis fairytale Loire Valley castle was built on the site of an old mill on the River Cher with its first mention in writing in the 11th century….

Magpie's Nest Chenonceau keep and doorit is sometimes called “Château des Dames/the ladies chateau”…Magpie's Nest Chenonceau Castlethroughout its history there were numerous women who influenced its destiny and design…

Magpie's Nest Chenonceau flower arrangementsthe sumptuous  fresh flowers arranged so artfully in the well furnished Renaissance rooms took my breath away…Magpie's Nest Chenonceau flower reflectionsthere is a team of florists that renews the flower arrangements twice weekly… 

Magpie's Nest Chenonceau collagethey looked especially splendid in front of the 16th and 17th century tapestries and other art masterpieces…

Magpie's Nest The Cher Riveradding water elements to the arrangements was brilliant and fitting…Magpie's Nest Chateau lightif I lived nearby I would get a chateau season’s pass so I could visit often…

Magpie's Nest Chenonceaux village windowsthe village of Chenonceaux spelled with an “X” was really charming too…

Magpie's Nest Village of Chenonceau we could not help but snap a photo of this gentleman on his bike with a baguette maybe heading home for lunch…

Magpie's Nest Chenonceaux and Chenonceau CastleI am also sharing a spread in my French journal for Art Journal Journey’s JOURNEYS theme this month…

Magpie's Nest Chenonceau Chateauxhere’s wishing you a Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Journey to Chateau Chenonceaumerci pour votre visite!

31 responses to “Le Château de Chenonceau

  1. What wonderful photos, The chateau is absolutely fantastic, everything is so well kept and then those flowers, inside and out – wow. You really did have a marvelous trip. I would love to visit there. My fave photo is the man on the bike, great shot! Love the journal page too, thanks for joining us again at AJJ, much appreciated. All in all, totally lovely post, I will come again later to look at the pics again! Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. There’s something wrong with blogger. It is NOT updating posts. I would not have known about this post, if it hadn’t been linked. And yesterday, it was a full 7 hours before it updated. I’m having problems with a couple other blogs, too. So I’m surprised I’m here so soon, this time.

    As always your photos are gorgeous. As someone like myself who loves floral arranging, I’m sure you were swooning over the arrangements, as well as the flowers in the garden. But the flower arrangements really made me sit up and take special note. Sumptuous and scrumptious. Mr. M. took some fantastic shots of the arrangements, didn’t he?

    Glad the traveling tea cup made it out because this was a fabulous adventure. I’m definitely impressed with this latest visit. What an amazing place you picked to visit on your French travels. Thanks for taking us with you and thanks for sharing the traveling tea cup with us for T this Tuesday.

    Like

  3. such an eyecandy post! i can´t get enough of your photos… that Castle really is pure fairy-tale like! but i also love the pics of daily life – the man on the bike will never know he gets famous in blogland, haha!
    thanks for sharing your treasures and have a great week! xox

    Like

  4. Great photos Patty! Such a beautiful place! Great spread too! xxx

    Like

  5. What a lovely place inside and outside and the wonderful flower arrangements look so amazing. Really a dream of a castle! The choice of photos you show us is very good to give us a short view on this nice place.
    I have seen a TV report on Chenanceau a few month ago and that impressed me much. Thank you for this wonderful journey with you.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  6. First of all, gorgeous photos today. This palace is amazing. I have never been to the Loire Valley but I think I need to add it to my must go place list. Wow. Those flower arrangements are fabulous. Also your AJJ page is beautiful. I love how you incorporated photos. Thanks for sharing. I am enjoying my, whoops your, journey to France. Happy T Day!

    Like

  7. Wow! What a beautiful castle! The flower arrangements blew me away! Such beauty. I also love the artifacts and the tiles that you showed. I agree I would also get a season ticket if I lived nearer.
    I smiled at me bloke with the bread. Living in a southern European country, a man buying bread is a perfectly normal and everyday thing but i suppose it is not in the US and you probably have different shaped bread….
    Thank you for taking us to this stunning castle and sharing the lovely photos. It made my day!
    Happy T-day,
    Lisca

    Like

  8. Now that is a castle! And the gardens! And the floral arrangements! Oh my, where to look next? I agree, a season pass would be just the thing for trying to absorb and appreciate all that beauty. Too much for just one visit! But you and Mr. Magpie did a marvelous job of capturing its essence. Love your journal pages. Really spectacular!

    Like

  9. absolutely gorgeous photos of this magical chateau Patty! One of my very favorites. I don’t miss visiting whenever I am in that area so yes I would definitely have a season pass too:) Loving all the village shots. I just adore all the old buildings…
    your journal spread is a such a beautiful representation of Chenonceau. Well done all around! Happy T day too!

    Like

  10. The fresh flower arrangements are breathtaking, you captured them beautifully (especially if you used your phone) :-). Your journal page really does Le Chateau justice, I love that you have used the tile and castle images and using the Fleur-de-lis is genius especially as it means flower. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  11. Oh my Patty what beautiful pictures and memories.I believe I would find it hard to come home! The flowers are just gorgeous and the Castle makes my imagination run wild. What interesting history is in those walls. Thank you for sharing. xoxo

    Like

  12. An amazing spread liebe Patty and this castle is adorable – reminds me a little bit of “Schloß Neuschwanstein” in Bavaria – AMAZING impression of this wonderful trip ! Thank you for sharing and thank you so much for another fantastic entry for Art Journal Joureny!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  13. arianezuber

    Wonderful…I read a book about this chateau and your photographs and the gorgeous page you crated are a beautifil personal illustration to the written words to me…thanks so much for sharing…

    Like

  14. Stunningly beautiful photos…quite a fairy tale castle to be sure! and your journal pages are truly gorgeous. I had spotted the ‘Mary’? bust in one of the photo collages…love it! happy T day dear…!

    Like

  15. I have been transported back in years again, seeing your post today, this was another destination we loved. The photos are fabulous, love seeing your teacup in different settings. The journal pages are awesome as well.
    Happy Tuesday
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  16. Gorgeous photos! Love the journal page as well!!
    Happy T day!

    Like

  17. Beautiful pictures Patty. That castle is fabulous. It does look like something from a fairy tale. Love your journal page too.
    Happy T day
    Hugs

    Like

  18. Oh dear Patty – this is a most special post. And you say “Le Chateau de Chenonceau as if French was your mother tongue! You also have my mouth watering for Morbier cheese with some crusty bread of course. The Chenonceau castel is take my breath away beautiful! If I lived there I would have a season pass too. I am sure Miss Tea Cup is enjoying her trip. The sculpture where the tea cup is sitting, looks like it is made from some old parts of the mill. Most beautiful and interesting. The window overlooking the river is one of my favorite photos. What a charming village.

    Your journal spread is glorious and I am sure will always hold a special place in your heart. I was sure you could find bits and pieces to be a part of your art world – what better or romantic place than France! Love your spread Patty!!
    sandy xx

    Like

  19. Patty, it is fabulous! I can see why they have those large gardens — I suspect they’re close to picked bare by the end of the season! I love the idea of the picnic with the cheese, too. What a glorious spot. I can see why it’s the prettiest ever. Your page does it justice!

    Like

  20. Wow! What a stunning place! I would want to visit often, too, if I lived nearby. 🙂

    Like

  21. OH MY! What beautiful flowers and such an elegant castle to show them off in. I think I would have a season pass too if I lived nearby! . You know I’ve always wanted to live in a castle with a beautiful garden 🙂

    Like

  22. How absolutely glorious Patty! That place has to go on my bucket list.

    Like

  23. fantastic photos and I love your pages too

    Like

  24. There is something about French chateaux that make me feel as though fairy tale castles are real! Your photos are fabulous! Happy T day! Chrisx

    Like

  25. Patty dear, this is like a fairy tale chateau , so very beautiful both out-and inside.And the flower decorations inside ,also looks like something magical ,
    just happened. Everything is amazing here,-walls, ceilings , and windows. All so lovely romantic to view.
    I understand your poor cup, had to mostly, stay in the box, with so much to see,lol. Such wonderful photos from around the castle, too ,showing everyday life ,there !!
    Dorthe oxox

    Like

  26. Oh almost forgot your gorgeous spread, which I so love, with your beautiful illustration of the name, with the madonna and the flowers. Gorgeous colors, and so wonderful with the “tiles” on the edge.
    Hugs, Dorthe

    Like

  27. Every one of your photos is sublime, the nine patch of the flowers (swoon), the architecture, grand to everyday, and how nice that men cycle past or walk along with baguettes so that you can have yet another wonderful photo.
    And your journal page is grand too.

    Like

  28. France is a magical place, isn’t it? It is unforgettable!Love your photos and love your kind words on my blog. Thanks so much, my friend.

    Like

  29. WOW and WOW!! What a glorious castle!! You must have been oooing and aaaing all the while you were there! A season’s pass indeed to take in all of the deliciousness here!
    Beautiful photos Patty- thank Mr. Magpie as well!!
    xoxo

    Like

  30. Oh my! I never said thank you to you!! heehee Thank you for sharing!
    And your journal spread is gorgeous! Perfect photos to represent!! xx

    Like

  31. OH my goodness – how I would LOVE to see this castle for myself! Not only for the castle itself, but for those spectacular floral arrangements.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

