Giverny in April…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Giverny Reflectionsgetting to visit Monet’s Garden was one of the reasons we decided on Trafalgar’s BEST OF FRANCE tour (we can not speak highly enough of our brilliant tour director Krista Taylor and great coach driver Francis and thank them so very much for a memorable journey through France)…

Magpie's Nest Magpie's in Monet's Gardenwe visited on a Wednesday and there were quite a few people there…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Monet's Housesuch a beautiful place both inside and out…

Magpie's Nest Monet's Dining Roomwe can only imagine how crowded the gardens would be later in the season with the parade of flowers that never ends…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz in Monet's Gardenstanding on the Japanese bridge even without water lilies blooming was a dream come true (I wanted to bring my paper parasol but it didn’t fit in the suitcase so my fold up Monet’s Garden umbrella had to do)…Magpie's Nest Room with a viewwe lingered a little longer and then had a bite of lunch in the village under a bright red sunbrella where we also visited a cute boutique for some cards and a slice of berry tarte…

Magpie's Nest Giverny Tea Room La Capucinewe were delighted by the precious rabbit hopping freely around the garden…

Magpie's Nest Giverny Monet Quoteleaving the village of Giverny and walking back to our coach I spotted a great bird refuge sign that inspired me to create a page in my French Travel Journey linking it to Art Journal Journey for their JOURNEYS themeMagpie's Nest Giverny beginning pagesErika couldn’t have picked a more inspiring theme this month as it has really helped me keep busy working in my travel journal trying to preserve some memoriesMagpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Bird Refuge Giverny(French text, heavy gesso, pan pastels, French bird refuge sign photo, used tea bag, pressed Virginia flowers)

24 responses to “Giverny in April…

  1. This is a wonderful journal page, those photos are gorgeous, I swear I could smell the flowers. What a memorable trip you had. And Erika’a theme really couldn’t have been better, could it?! Thanks for joining us again at AJJ! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Those beautiful pictures say it all Patty. I feel like I’m walking through all those flowers beside you two. Such beautiful memories and I love the journal page. xoxo

    Like

  3. Another nice place to visit with you. So sweet the little rabbit hopping around there and a nice Lady in black in that yellow dining room. 😉
    Wonderful choice of photos, thank you.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  4. Your photos are so beautiful!!!! So happy you shared this part of your trip 🙂 it’s on my list of favorite places I would love to go!!! Great journal page too 🙂

    Like

  5. We were in Giverny three years ago, and you’ve just transported me back. Thank you.

    Like

  6. rcscreations

    Oh Patty…I am just so thrilled that you were able to do this awesome trip with Mr. Magpie! I am living vicariously through your adventures! I’ve been to Paris, but not Giverny, and it is on my list of “must see” places! I am loving all the blog posts and all the photos of the villages too. I love to see how they all inspire your art.

    Like

  7. Wow! It really does look like Monet’s paintings! Love the rabbit.
    What a wonderful visit. 🙂

    Like

  8. I’ve always wanted to visit Giverny. It looks beautiful in your photos, and I am jealous to got to stand on the bridge, even without the water lilies. I think your journal page is perfect for your travel journal pages. Adding this bits of dried flowers is perfect! Happy weekend! Hugs-Erika

    Like

  9. Wow gorgeous photos and photo collages. Your journal page is beautiful, I can see that you are going to have so much fun with your treasures from the trip and your photographs. xx

    Like

  10. So many wondrous photos! But, my favorite is the one of the lace curtains and the cast shadow!

    Like

  11. What a lovely treat to be able to see your photographs, they really draw you in to the scene….so nice!!! Thank you Patty.

    Like

  12. I love this post- what amazing impressions and the page is just beautiful !!!
    So glad that we can see all the impressions of the amazing journey and that you share your pages with us at Art Journal Journey liebe Patty! Thank you!
    Happy weekend!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  13. Dear Patty, I love your page, with the bits of French tex,t turned upside down here and there, the beautiful pressed flowers, and the refuge bird.
    The Monet garden must have been spectacular in its own way, and I love all the beautiful colors used in his house, and in the village. You are so sweet looking in the green room .
    Happy Friday dear friend.

    Like

  14. Thanks for taking me with you to the Monet garden… never been there… it’s beautiful! Have a great weekend dear one, je t’embrasse! Marit

    Like

  15. Erika certainly knew what theme to pick because it certainly played well into your REAL journeys. The spread is incredible, and I was really impressed.

    Of course, the trip to Giverny must have been another wonderful highlight of your trip. I’m sure you have many, many more photos of the gardens and Monet’s studio. I remember when Cat was there and what beautiful photos she shared. I can only imagine how beautiful it must be, even in spring before the waterlilies are in bloom.

    I’m so glad you shared these latest memories, and more of your incredibly wonderful photos,

    Have a fabulous weekend, even though it looks like it might end up being rainy in your area, I know it’s cold and rainy here!

    Like

  16. Dear Patty,
    Thank you for taking us with you to the Monet garden. Your photos are just beautiful. My dream is to visit Giverny sometime… ❤

    Like

  17. This was a perfect topic for the challenge! And the best possible timing for you. I loved seeing Giverny again. I went in June — still not too crowded but probably more than April. Oh, that beautiful pink house and lacy curtains bring back memories (I loved the kitchen!) It really is a remarkable place and they do such a wonderful job with its maintenance. You must have been in seventh heaven!

    Like

  18. Hello Patty, your photos knock me sideways, they really do. You always seem to have perfect weather and all the flowers are perfect too. Love the photo of the net curtain (for some reason – maybe reminds me of something?), the photo of you and Mr. M. and the free rabbit.

    Like

  19. What a precious place Patty!Thanks for sharing your photos, my friend!

    Like

  20. Thank you for this wonderful pictures – I enjoyed much! And a very beautiful journal-page you have created! Rike

    Like

  21. Thanks for sharing all the wonderful inspiring photos. I wish you a nice weekend,
    hugs Anja

    Like

  22. Such a fabulous post!!! This has been my favorite visit so far Patty!!! Oh, what it must have felt like to be in Monet’s gardens and on that bridge!! Shame,that Monet never got to paint you with your parasol on the bridge “)
    What a delightful post with such gorgeous photos!! I love the quote from Monet you added to the one photo-wonderful words!!
    Tuesday we embark on our journey,but I won’t be posting about it, wanted to give you the heads up as i will have limited internet.I will check in when I can”)
    hugs&love,Jackie xoxo

    Like

  23. pearshapedchris

    Oh wow! Definitely another for ‘the list’! Your photos really are wonderful – I suppose the gardens are always going to be busy! Love the place you found to eat too! Your journal page is fabulous of course – such a fantastic textured background for your photo and beautiful pressed flowers. Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  24. You are creating amazing pages with your French theme – but how could you not when you consider the amazing things you saw on your trip.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

