music is the universal language…

 

Magpie's Nest Avignon Window lace curtain

in the weeks before our trip to France my mind would wander and I would imagine walking on the streets of Paris hearing accordion music played on a street corner…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Avignon portal and marketas Mr Magpie and I were strolling the narrow cobble stone back streets of Avignon we happened upon a gentleman playing his accordion…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Avignon around townmy heart skipped a beat when I heard him and then we saw him as we turned the corner…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Accordion PlayerI was so excited and did manage to take a short video

 you can see Mr Magpie on the left and you can hear me using my best “Merci Beaucoup” to the nice workmen in the van for not running into me around that sharp turn…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Avignon AccordionI am joining AJJ’s JOURNEYS challenge again with this page in my French Travel Journal capturing a moment we will never ever forget…

 

20 responses to “music is the universal language…

  1. Lovely photos and memories which made a great journal page. We have several men who sit at various spots along the Rhine and by the castle who play accordion or violin on Sundays and holidays, lovely! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Well done Patty….a difficult task with all the passing folk.

    Like

  3. Fantastic is your page Patty and so lovely with this nice little emphasizing video…GREAT!!!!
    Thank you so much for sharing this with us all and thank you for linking another fab entry to the” journeys” theme over at Art Journal Journey!
    I wish you a happy Sunday liebe Patty!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  4. My musician friend Joseph tells people that all the time. Music truly IS the universal language. Pick a melody, add a bit of harmony, and you are starting a dialogue that crosses all boundaries and languages.

    Your little accordion man has brought me much joy today. This is a unique and wonderful spread. I am sure this is truly a lifelong memory for you and Mr. Magpie.

    I hope your Sunday is wonderful, albeit probably wet.

    Like

  5. Great page and such a true sentiment. Lovely photos of your trip again 🙂

    Like

  6. Loved the video when I first saw it,so very French! xoxoxo

    Like

  7. I have visited Avignon and I loved those tight little streets and all the personality every where you turned. Even more so than the bigger cities I think. I love your photos and your page today Patty. I am really enjoying my arm chair trip to France. I hope there is a couple more before the month is over. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  8. fabulous pages…I must be feeling fanciful this morning because I see a face on the corner tower, a knight’s face in armor!

    Like

  9. I never thought about it but–yes! That sounds like Paris to me, too. What a sweet page tribute. 🙂

    Like

  10. What a lovely moment to capture! I enjoyed watching the video and really love the sentiment … both made me remember the time I visited Paris when a Mariachi band boarded the Metro and started playing music. Wonderful memories, thank you so much 🙂

    Like

  11. Like Christie I saw a knights face in that corner tower. Wonderful pictures and the little video is very nice, but the stupid car driver should’nt be there.
    Your Art Collage with the Accordeon player looks great and I like the words on it.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  12. Sweet little video, too bad Mr. Van got in the way. I love accordian music, it’s that old world sound I guess. Fun. xox

    Like

  13. I knew it!! You would come back with the most fabulous images to put in your art journal. I watched the video and Patty your French sounded perfect. Had it not been for the van, I would not have been able to hear your thank you!! Your page is really wonderful and the background is perfect for the image.
    I loved everyone of your pictures. Oh dear, it makes me want to go to France.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  14. Oh Patty, I’m so glad you got to hear this — then to capture it so beautifully on your pages. One thing I wanted to hear was a street accordion playing the musette music. I saw magicians, jugglers, violinists, artists, even a harpist — but no accordion! Now I’ve had my France experience completed in abstentia! Merci!

    Like

  15. Hello my dear Patty,
    Thank you for the lovely music, making memories from my own visits to Paris. Nothing more French than that, I think. The wonderful street ,the man playing ,so much atmosphere.
    Your page ,must be like being there once again, so exatly like seeing him sitting in the street, A wonderful page dear friend !!
    Hugs from Dorthe

    Like

  16. Dear Patty
    Ahh.. Beautiful Avignon!
    My granddaughters and all french children sing the song…
    “Sur le Pont d’Avignon
    On y danse, On y danse
    Sur le Pont d’Avignon
    On y danse tous en rond”
    Did you hear it too?

    I loved your video, you transported me back to France immediately, I loved it and hearing you speaking in french!
    Music is without a doubt the international language!
    I adore your French Journal page – in fact it’s my favourite of all your pages and touches my heart. I even have a tear in my eye!
    Your accordion player is the quintessential frenchman, black beret and all!
    Ç’est bonne!
    Love
    Shane

    Like

  17. pearshapedchris

    Oh Patty! I am so enjoying your trip!! What a wonderful place Avignon looks to be, and to come across the accordion player….I can imagine your delight…good to hear your voice again too! I loVe your journal page! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  18. Oh how I love this whole post with the beautiful scenery, music and journal page! I thoroughly enjoyed it- including hearing the driver speak to you:) Sadly accordion playing is becoming a dying experience. Most younger generations want nothing to do with it. I have only one cousin there out of all the family who was willing to learn to play it-and it is so much a part of the culture. SO glad you were able to capture this special moment.

    Like

  19. Pingback: Avignon … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  20. Hello sweet patty!
    I am here to pick up where i left off!
    Oh what a wonderful memory you have shared with us!!And to think you had daydreams of this ahead of time!
    OOps! So glad,you were not run over!
    hugs,Jackie xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

