Arles…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Arles impressionsArles is rich in history that goes back thousands of years…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Arles ruinswith the houses mingled in with the Roman ruins…

Patty Szymkowicz Bleu Blanc et Rouge in Arles France on our walking tour I got distracted by some clothes hanging on the line which I thought was a perfect salute to France’s bleu… blanc et rouge flag…

Magpie's Nest Arles France 1944 text book pagethe well preserved Amphitheaters are ancient…Magpie's Nest Arles Van Goghwe got to walk in the footsteps of one of Arles favorite sons…

Magpie's Nest Van Gogh garden inspirationinspired by the setting and light Van Gogh produced nearly 300 paintings and drawings in the 15 months he lived in Arles (he spent some of that time with another favorite son Paul Gauguin)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Arles Doors Windowsthis UNESCO world heritage site had so much to offer…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Arles street art samplerin the short time we visited we saw some interesting street art too…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Arles Francewhich inspired two more pages using several of my photos cut and collaged for AJJ’s JOURNEYS theme (I wanted to give better credit to the artist but I could not read the name or find a link even after a good bit of searching)...

 

19 responses to “Arles…

  1. Wow, what a beautiful trip to Arles you had, I must confess to being rather envious this time! Love all the photo, thanks for sharing, and thanks for the gorgeous collage you made for AJJ. Enjoy your Sunday, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. I do love all those doors and the street art is amazing! I think I’m your best armchair traveler Patty , I love every photo and follow all the places you offer to learn more. Thank you for sharing. xoxo

    Like

  3. First I have to say that the pages are fantastic! Thank you once more liebe Patty for linking to AJJ and the photos from Arles are just wonderful – I was there as I was just 12 years old.. we visited all the old buildings – for me it was a bit boring I remember — but my parents wanted to see all that – we spent 6 weeks with the tent at the seaside in Valras Plage and I was even allowed to ride on Camargue horses there.. one of the best memories of my whole life were this holidays.
    You bring my nice memories back!
    Happy Sunday dear Patty!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  4. Your photos of Arles are very beautiful. We recently spent a week there, touring both the city and the surrounding marshes and towns. Did you see Les Alyscamps, another Roman part of the city? There’s so much there, as you illustrated.
    I enjoyed your posts about Paris also.
    best… mae

    Like

  5. OMGosh! All fascinating and beautiful!! 🙂

    Like

  6. pearshapedchris

    Arles does look fascinating – I wonder if we might get there when we go down that way next year! T will have to investigate! We have both been enjoying seeing photos of your trip! I seem to have got behind again with your travels so I have had a massive catch up today! Hugs to you both, Chris and Tonyx

    Like

  7. Now THAT’s a place that’s on my bucket list. Lucky you….and the photos give a real sense of the place. LOVE your pages. You make wonderful choices for your art.

    Like

  8. Wow, a fabulous collage of your travels! I love how you have created this page it looks 3D, so much so I can almost hear those columns creaking under the weight. I love the little girl and flowers image, it reminds me of Banksy, a famous graffiti artist here in England 🙂

    Like

  9. As ever again great photos dear friend, but your journal pages are a breathtaking composition with the nice street art piece. WOW! I love it.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  10. vickiinyourhead.wordpress.com

    Love seeing your travel images, Patty, and even more, I love seeing the creative ways that you are using them. I’ve experienced Arles first hand and had “a moment” while reflecting on my father having been there during WWII. I agree with “Let’s Art Journal”…..that does look like a Banksy.

    Like

  11. Pure magic everywhere you went and the clothes line, just perfect! xox

    Like

  12. Another wonderful page Patty. Arles looks gorgeous too. What a fantastic trip you had. I hope you have lots more pages to show us from your journal as I am loving these a lot. Enjoy what is left of your long weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  13. To think you visited the cafe where Van Gogh spent time, and saw some of the scenes he actually painted. Such an incredible memory that must have been. I simply can’t believe all the places you traveled on your trip to France. It must have been an amazing journey of a lifetime. I keep thinking it couldn’t get any better, but each new spot seems to just get better and better.

    Your lovely journal spread caps it off today. It’s a lovely entry. Of course, I think my favorite is the photo of the clothes on a line.

    Like

  14. This post brought back great memories of my hiking trip in Provence years ago. We stayed in Arles. I don’t think I have ever seen such a beautiful blue as the sky is there.

    Like

  15. Wonderful Van Gogh paintings, and the Amphitheaters are so very beautiful in this print, did you see them ? Ther e must be so many pictures now inside your head, from all, what this travel offered for you to experience, So many fantastic things, although I believe you also saw things to disapprove with , like everywhere on earth we live or visit !!
    Your page with the Roman columns ,and the street art brings it all together, from so long ago, till now. A wonderful idea, dear Patty.
    Dorthe. oxoxox

    Like

  16. OH those windows and doors ♥♥♥♥♥ THe ancient architect is fantastic too.. THANK YOU so much for sharing your travels with us ♥

    Like

  17. Oh Arles must be very lovely, I’m looking forward to going there soon too, there is a school for graphical art animation my son is very interested in, so we should be visiting there some time soon.
    I love the photos of those French flag clothes, that’s a funny one!

    Like

  18. So beautiful! Great to see all of this through your eyes. These are places I will never go.

    Like

  19. Another fab spread!!
    At first I look,I thought that was your shadow!! “)
    Love those windows!! xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

