Paris is always a good idea…

we treasured the extra days we got to spend in the city of lights both before and after our Best of France tour…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Paris lightsLa Flamme de la Liberté above is a replica of the new flame at the upper end of the torch carried in the hand of the Statue of Liberty in New York … it became an unofficial memorial for Diana, Princess of Wales, after her death in 1997 in the nearby tunnel beneath the Pont de l’Alma…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Jeanne d'Arc Parisit would not be hard to fill a journal with just Paris…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz around townin going through a couple of goodie drawers here at home I found some great French bits and bobs which led to a few more art journal pages…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz City of LightsI made a tiny postcard to slide into a French velum envelope addressed to all of you lovely blog friends out there…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Jeanne d'Arcusing some original French ledger and book pages felt good… (the first rip is always the hardest)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz L'Ile de la CiteI have confessed in the past that I sometimes use copies of vintage ephemera but I am doing much better at using the real thing…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz PARIS City of Lightseven though Erika’s JOURNEYS challenge is winding down for the month over at Art Journal Journey I have a second set of pages to share today…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Chris and Sabinegetting to meet Chris and Tony from the UK and Sabine from Germany  helped make some extra special Paris memories for us…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Chris and Sabine and Patty MeetChris enjoys coffee so she has a bit of used coffee filter by her and Sabine likes tea so I used the muslin tea bag from the tea we shared in a Paris cafe near Notre Dame (yup dried them out and took them home) … I enjoy both tea and coffee which is represented on the left hand page (after carefully opening the tea bags and putting the tea leaves in a special dish garden I noticed shimmery flakes on the inside of the tea bag fabric which for me symbolized just how magical our time in Paris was… thanks to The Graphics Fairy for the lovely ladies and cherubs … the Eiffel Tower is from a peeled tissue)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Paris ici la revolution Notre Dame(snapped a photo of the interesting ironwork by Notre Dame and noticed what was written on the marble on the left hand side when I got home: ICI LA REVOLUTION)

“Paris is always a good idea.” -Audrey Hepburn from the movie Sabrina

21 responses to “Paris is always a good idea…

  1. Indeed, Paris IS ALWAYS a good idea! Thank you for taking me there once again with your beautiful photos. And, your journal pages, truly exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pearshapedchris

    Absolutely my dear Patty! Your photos are once again fabulous! Your pages though, are more than fabulous – you have such brilliant ideas! Like you, I used to make copies of stuff, but just think that at my age how long will I go on thinking I will keep them for something in the future – I am getting much better at actually using what I have! Thank you for the reminders of the lovely time we had on that sunny morning and for showing more of your visit! Hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, you are really addicted to making Paris pages, good for you – that is a very positive addiction! Love them both to bits, really beautiful and always absolutely you! Thanks for joining us again at AJJ with so much goodness over 2 journal spreads! Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You always have such wonderful ideas for these pages.I think you have a very good imagination. I love the tea bag and coffee filter,it’s all just perfect.
    xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gorgeous Paris Journal page. You photo collages are so beautiful… have a great day, Shirley xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just so agree, Patty, :” Paris is always a good idea ” , and visiting with you, have been wonderful. Mostly because you and your husband are both such amazing photographers ,and creates the most magic picture, like here, the bubbles through which Jim took the fabulous photo.
    And your pages are so wonderful, too. I love your French finds, and the real stuff you added to your journal, it gives a total other feeling to everything we create, when using the old real thing…….BUT I`m just like, trying to learn starting ripping and using ,lol.
    The page where you remember the days with your friends, is so beautiful Patty, I love your new self, 🙂 and your friends, I know you would love to try wearing a hat like the one, on ” your picture ” here, ( me too ) lol.
    The sweet paper, with the images, and your lovely stenciling is just to fall in love with , and also that you saves teabags and took them home !!
    Smiles from Denmark- Dorthe oxox

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amazing pages! I am so glad you got them made and were able to join us. I think you use different materials and textures so fabulously. Each spread has its own feel which I really like. And your photos with reflections and the best too. happy Memorial Day! Enjoy yours. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  8. DOn’t stop now!!!! Your pages are so beautiful and the photos are the best. It’s been a thrill to travel on this journey with your memories!!! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can see where you would be inspired to make those pretty pages.
    Lovely! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh my gosh — beautiful and unique pages to commemorate your fantastic Paris trip.
    You never cease to amaze me with your unique style! I am glad you liked the May theme so much and we had so many fantastic pages to see at AJJ and thank you for sharing all the fabulous photos !!
    Have a great day dear liebe Patty!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beautiful as usual. Using the good things in a collage means someday future generations will look at them and admire them whereas the originals if not used will just be in a box somewhere. I am now using all my vintage laces in works for this reason.

    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Would dearly love to see your journal in real life. It is gorgeous in the photos so I know It has to be absolutely wonderful for real. Loved your use of the coffee filter and tea bags. Your journal looks quite tactile which is something I really adore. Thanks Patty for all the pleasure you have given us all with your pictures as well as your art work!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  13. MANY years ago I played ‘Sabrina’ in an amateur theatre production, and that line has stayed with me. Our last visit to Paris we rented an apartment overlooking the Seine, for a week. It was a magical trip, brought back to me by your post. Many thanks dear Patty.

    Like

  14. Wonderful thoughts and photos. Greetings!

    Like

  15. Beautiful pages Patty, ooh la la! 🙂

    Like

  16. What an incredible way to end your tour of France by returning to the city of lights. I read about that Liberty Flame becoming a memorial for Diana. A fitting tribute to a wonderful person who was often so misunderstood.

    Creating an AJJ tribute to both Chris and Sabine was a fantastic gesture. And to think, even the tea leaves in the bag held special meaning and sparkly memories of the trip. I’m sure you will be living this trip for months to come.

    I have always believed in using originals, because I don’t have anything I’d not be wiling to give up. In fact, I have more “stuff” than I’ll use in my life time, so there’s no sense in leaving it for someone else to rifle through after I’m gone. I’m glad you are finally using what you have, too.

    Like

  17. Lovely in deed!!!! And I’m so happy you are using your originals! I agree we need to use it up!!!

    Like

  18. Oh what wonderful views from Paris, very good the reflection photos.
    The journal pages look fantastic with the old engravings and yes I love my hat. 😉 Well done that all.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  19. Sigh. Patty, you know Paris is one of my favorite places in the world and you have captured it gloriously! I love your pages. I don’t know if you read Karla Nathan’s blog but she is VERY bent on using the good stuff, but you are right — that first rip is the hardest and I’m inclined to use the copies, too. But you can tell — when you use the good stuff, you know you absolutely must make your idea worthy of it! And boy, did you ever! Lovely!

    Like

  20. Love this journal. It is a treasure!

    Like

  21. Absolutely! Maybe someday as I now have included Paris into my dream list- thanks to your shares! Lovely photos and neat journal spread- love that you saved those teabags- how special! xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

