Avignon …

Avignon sits in the heart of Provence, France…

Magpie's Nest Papal Palace Avignonin the early 1300’s it was the seat of the Catholic Church for about 70+ years…and home to the Palace of the Popes with a beautiful castle and cathedral surrounded by lovely gardens…

Magpie's Nest Liberte French Flags Avignonlots of towns in France have a carousel…Magpie's Nest Avignon Carousel Belle Epoquethis two story one in the main square in Avignon was lovely…

Magpie's Nest around Avignon the Palais des Papes was the largest Gothic palace ever built by Pope Clement V, who abandoned Rome in 1309…

Magpie's Nest Avignon Statuarysuch rich history…Magpie's Nest Avignon BridgeAvignon was immortalized in a song you may have heard about the famous medieval bridge which has been classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site...

Magpie's Nest Le Cafe du Rocher Avignonwe hiked up the hill for a great view of the Rhône River and recharged our batteries at le Cafe du Rocher while we watched a mother duck and her ducklings play in the fountain…

Magpie's Nest Avignon France ProvenceI was not much of a shopper on our trip concentrating more on collecting memories and photos…

Magpie's Nest Provence Rest Stop Gift ShopBUT there were temptations (Linda the poppy mug made me think of you!)…

Magpie's Nest Avignon Rest Stop Ladies Bathroomin the Provence region Lavender is a big attraction and I just had to snap a quick photo of these full length bathroom stall doors at a rest stop (designed with privacy in mind…they are not uncommon throughout Europe)…Magpie's Nest Paper Napkins back at home after coming across three different napkins in my stash I got busy peeling away several layers and tearing and pasting pieces of napkin for quite a long time…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz pressed LavenderI added several sprigs of Lavender that I had pressed from our garden hoping that “fleurs partout” translates to “flowers everywhere” (French Lavender fields won’t be blooming until around late June – July I believe) …

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Flowers Everywherejoining Elizabeth’s T Stands for Tuesday and Art Journal Journey today for the last day of Erika’s lovely JOURNEYS challenge…Magpie's Nest Avignon angel on Tpot(Avignon angel photo layered with Diana iphone app onto my teapot/cup photo)

~♥ thank you for visiting ♥~

 

26 responses to “Avignon …

  1. And did you dance ‘sur le Pont d’Avignon’? The Saint-Bénézet Bridge is really wonderful. Thanks for sharing the great photos, and for the magically changed teapot and cup – so beautiful! And of course thanks for sharing those great journal pages. I still have the lavender you sent hanging over my bed. Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. So many beautiful colors – a true feast for the eyes. Love the idea of the lavender images on the bathroom doors – was there lavender air freshener, too? Your journal pages really capture the essence of Provence. And your angel imaged teapot is so sweet!

    Like

  3. So many great photo’s Patty. Love Lavender and those doors are gorgeous! Because of the many Wineries in the area here they are also planting fields of Lavender.Quite lovely and some very good wine. Thank you for sharing as always xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Oh what glorious photos of Avignon!!! That is one area I have not visited but on the top of my bucket list. And that poppy mug drew me in immediately – I would definitely have bought it:) Those are the prettiest restroom doors I have ever seen-wow! And of course I just adore your journal pages -truly Provence in imagery and colors. Happy T day and thanks for sharing more wonderful photos !
    PS you are doing quite well with your French, mon amie:)

    Like

  5. Oh the memories, I visited the area years ago and your photo’s make me want to go back. I like the artwork in your journal, very “Provence”

    Like

  6. What I want to know is – WHO cut off your head!!!! You know what I am talking about Patty. You really have me wanting to go on this tour in France. REALLY! REALLY! I love all the pictures and you are helping me remember some of my art history classes.
    Oh my word – your journal spread is fantastic — I haven’t tried this technique yet but really would like to. I have started collecting some napkins.
    I am enjoying these posts so much Patty!
    sandy xx

    Like

  7. Oh My! A beautiful collection of photos again. The little song of the bridge is adorable and I do so love the bathroom doors too. I think the cup would have come home with me for sure!!! Your page is amazing as always , you have such a creative touch with your journals. Love everything you’ve shown us of your trip!!!

    Like

  8. I’m singing that song in my head now 🙂 Thanks for these wonderful photos. I enjoyed the virtual trip 🙂 Happy T Tuesday!

    Like

  9. Oh dear Patty, your Provence spread is just like seeing their wonderful fabrics ,-you mixed the napkins, perfectly, to recreate a true feeling of this beautiful town, and their well knows fabrics. And the photos from there, with the amazing Catholic Church , …what a building, what a richness and beauty. I love the doors to the toilets Patty ,how wonderful , I must say I have seen nothing the like here 🙂
    Thank you for another joyful afternoon with you .
    Dorthe, oxoxox

    Like

  10. This is incredible. I adore each and every photo, and couldn’t help clicking each one for a better view. It is amazing all the places you went, and I loved seeing you on the Rhone, or at least the Rhone river and bridge.

    Those mugs were wonderful, and I think I would have taken at least ONE tea bag holder as a souvenir.

    I have seen other people share restrooms in France, and have always been amazed at how different they are than here in the US.

    Thanks for sharing your lovely meal, the absolutely INCREDIBLE AJJ art, and the mugs with us for T this Tuesday. Now I’m off to see the post I missed from yesterday.

    Like

  11. What a post! I love it … just amazing ..the photos the digital playing and those coffee makes everybody happy…so yummie – I can nearly feel the noisette taste of the coffee on my tongue and for these treats I would give my soul!
    Happy T_day dear liebe Patty!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  12. So beautiful. I love taking a vacation with you, virtually of course. 🙂 Your journal page is lovely. I’ve stopped by your blog several times but on my dang iPad and commenting on there is such a pain in the you know what.
    Happy T day!

    Like

  13. Gosh that lavender napkin is incredible as are those bathroom stalls! I’m a sucker for a carousel ride. Hubby thinks i’m crazy for loving such a sedate ride but i love it… And you know i never noticed architecture very much before i started doodling and zentangling .. now i notice it everywhere. Thanks so much for all your photos….love coming along for the ride. Hugs! deb

    Like

  14. you always find the best places and nooks… and of course you brought an Ohrwurm to me;) will hum or sing it all day Long…
    thanks for sharing your photos, i really enjoyed it!
    xox

    Like

  15. Love all the photos you are sharing of your trip!! I adore the architecture and sculptures and reliefs on the buildings, narrow streets and just how the history and times are reflected in the buildings. I wish Americans weren’t so good at tearing down the old to put up the new. New is definitely not always better. Great lavender bathroom doors!…made me smile. Beautiful journal pages you’ve created too! happy T day!

    Like

  16. I am so enjoying your photos of France, they evoke so many memories for me as well. I will be catching up on all your posts when i get home. Happy T day,
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  17. Great pictures as always. You are such a good blogger.

    Like

  18. Oh my goodness what a fantastic page! The carousel looks wonderful, hope you had a ride? Thank you for sharing your lovely photos and memories, they are very inspiring! 🙂

    Like

  19. Hope you did a little dancing sur le pont. Looks like a beautiful place.

    Like

  20. Wonderful memories. The toilet doors are a dream. Your napkin pages look so very nice, a good idea to combine different motifs. Such nice fabrics in yellow and blue also lie in a box in my cellar waiting to get used. I bought them many years ago in South France. Looking at your photo it remembered me. I should do something with the fabric. 😉
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  21. The layered photo is so clever, for a second I was fooled into believing it was the image on the actual teapot!
    Your pages, although I haven’t visited this area of France, they definitely conjure up all I imagine it to be.
    Those toilet doors are beautiful!
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  22. I have been to Avignon so I really enjoyed seeing it through your eyes. And your page is fabulous. Using that napkin as a background gave you a great colored background. have a Happy T day, and thanks for joining in again at AJJ before the month is over. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  23. What a stunning place! I’ve never seen a two story carousal before, interesting.

    Beautiful toilet doors, here they would have graffiti all over them ( so sad). I would love to have my bathroom door painted like these.

    I adore your journal pages, the napkins made a fabulous layout.
    Belated T-day wishes.

    Like

  24. Patty, thank you for taking me thorough the beautiful south of France with all those wonderful Provencal colors! I would have bought the same napkins — they look wonderful on your page! All the history and beauty — and perfect weather, too!

    Like

  25. pearshapedchris

    I am pleased to see I am not the only ‘nut’ to take photographs of rest rooms!! I am wondering about your comment about full-length doors for privacy – what do you have in USA? Love ALL of your photos – will we get to Avignon – not sure…Apologies for arriving late for T! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  26. The statuary is amazing!! And i just love the bathroom doors!! xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

