all roads lead home…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Plaster Journala TAP swan transfer that I ironed directly onto a book page was the inspiration for my latest journal spread…Magpie's Nest home beginning pgsalong with a bit of local Virginia map and stamping on peeled tissue paper with heavy gesso highlights…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz postcard ladya favorite lady from my vintage postcard collection also made the page…

Magpie's Nest TAP transfer map nestsome shredded map paper sticking off the page made a nest for my swan…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz all roads lead homeI am joining the fun MAPS challenge over at Art Journal Journey

“As you walk and eat and travel, be where you are. Otherwise you will miss most of your life.” -Gautama Buddha

25 responses to “all roads lead home…

  1. I loved the swan “nest”. Very creative.

    Like

  2. I always love your journal pages – what do you mean by TAP transfer? I wish you could do some videos of your techniques or at least write a book!
    sandy xx

    Like

  3. A beautiful spread liebe Patty!
    Thank you so much for joining us again at Art Journal Journey!
    Happy weekend !
    oxo Susi

    Like

  4. Absolutely wonderful, thanks so much for joining us again at Art Journal Journey with your lovely pages. Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  5. Wonderful composition of the pieces of maps, stamped motifs with the nice Lady and swan. All in harmony. I love it. We say “All roads lead to Rome” but also to home or any other target. 😉
    Have a nice weekend dear friend.
    Sabine xox

    Like

  6. Hello Patty,
    your collage is fantastic,
    I will visit you again soon
    Greetings from Austria

    Like

  7. wonderful quotes and i am loving all the map inspired journal pages you are creating-beautiful imagery!

    Like

  8. The layering is great. I managed to get some TAP but have not made good use of it yet. Your swan is lovely.

    Like

  9. As much as I love to travel and see new places, I’m always happy to return home. Your pages capture that feeling perfectly. And the quote is wonderful – BE where you are. Yes, indeed.

    Like

  10. Lovely, Patty. I know how much you love swans — this is a good one, and so, too, is your lady image. And of course my fave colors! Do have a glorious weekend, my friend!

    Like

  11. That swan is gorgeous and I see what you mean about those lovely MS scissors. I didn’t even know she made scissors, but I DO like her punches. They never fail, which is something I can’t say about other punches I own.

    I LOVE the use of the shredded map for the bird’s nest. It is a clever way to introduce yet another map element into the mix. This is a beautiful spread, and I love how you show the book you are working on because it shows how these altered books will never lie flat again once you start working in them.

    Like

  12. A wonderful swans nest on your beautiful journal spread. The quote you added is so true.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  13. Yet another beautiful page Patty! The swan image would definitely inspire me too! I love the world stamp you have used and the intensity of the Salty Ocean Distress Ink! Sending you Happy Weekend wishes 🙂

    Like

  14. So much beautiful detail to take in – an exquisite page. Great backgound stamp isn’t it! Thanks so much for dropping by my blog. hugs, Donna

    Like

  15. What a beautiful TAP transfer , of the swan Patty, and love its nest . ( we have a swan on nest not far away from the house,- on the upper beach, we hope there will not be high water )
    Your pages are wonderful with the stamped napkins, and beautiful lady, with her stunning flowers in her hair. Also so beautiful is the letter written to her, from Germany with the two lovely stamps, 🙂
    Hope your weekend is happy !!!
    Dorthe, oxox

    Like

  16. Another great page full of unique and fun details ♥ Thanks foe sharing 🙂

    Like

  17. Gorgeous mixed media pages, I hope you are enjoying the weekend, xx

    Like

  18. Beautiful pages, Patty! The transfer came out so well!

    Like

  19. This is gorgeous Patty. I love the swan on those map images. The stamped image and the paper work so well together. It has an old book look to it. Just perfect. Hope you are having a great weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  20. I’m making an extra visit. I just keep forgetting to tell you how much I adore your header. It’s fabulous! hugs, Donna

    Like

  21. LOVE your page and the vintage look to it! I would love to play with that world rubber stamp, too! 🙂 The incorporation of the portrait and stamps adds even more layers of narrative! Wonderful!

    Like

  22. I always love to see you art supplies – like your sweet little blue stamp pad.
    Your collage paintings are ethereal – here with the vintage lady and the swan and the lovely words.

    Like

  23. Beautiful pages!!! One day I will try TAP 🙂 xxx

    Like

  24. This page is so beautiful! I love the nest! I have some TAP but haven’t used it for ages! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  25. Absolutely beautiful!! how can I ever pick a favorite journal spread when I soooo love all of them! You are so talented,my sweet friend! xo

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

