Le Mont Saint-Michel

the traveling tea cup and I are joining T Stands for Tuesday today with a little trip to Normandy, France…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz the traveling tea cup
built in the 11th century the Mont Saint-Michel Abbey Church has been an important pilgrimage destination…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Mont St Michel it was exciting for me to return to a place that was magical so many years ago when I stayed there as a solo traveler…

Magpie's Nest Lady in the windowback then before the addition of the bridge high tides would completely cut off traffic…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz bridgethere are about 3 million visitors annually (even on a Tuesday in April it was crowded)…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz the mont  there are 900 stairs from the bottom to the landing of the nave at the top along with lots of cobblestone streets…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz spire renovationwe wished we’d had a little more time there…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Mont St Michel with sheepgood reason to return again one day…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Mont Saint Michel journal pgsI created two pages in my French Travel Journal using original text from two old books (the postcard lifts up and is from my nine week trip to Europe long ago… I sent a postcard to my parents almost every day)…Magpie's Nest Promise Everything early pagesI was also inspired to create two pages in one of my gesso journals using a vintage map of the abbey on pages I painted black…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz left and rightthe ‘tell me everything’ image is a moo card enlarged and printed in black and white…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz tell me everythingthis spread is for the Art Journal Journey MAPS challenge

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz LOVE ALWAYSI had been playing with this image days before the horrific Orlando shootings… the French calligraphy was from a friend back when I participated in swaps… a dried rose mirrored the rose on the vintage plate…  the bee is painted tin…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Love Always I wish you

I used Pixlr Express to alter my photo…

~♥ “Je te souchaite” = “I wish you” … LOVE ALWAYS ♥~

 

29 responses to “Le Mont Saint-Michel

  1. Lovely. I find the black and white particularly appealing.

    Like

  2. It really is hard to fathom that something built in the 11th century, surrounded by water and wind, is still standing and beautiful. The history is fascinating – thanks for the link. Your journal pages, tell me everything, makes me think of the confessional, especially with the abbey diagram. Your rose plate image is lovely and meaningful.

    Like

  3. The pictures say so much and 900 stairs,no say my knees! Most of all the lady in the window fascinates me. My imagination could create a story about her. Love always, xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Yes, love always… I cannot wait to show dh these photos. I have never been this far north in France and when my aunt and uncle sent us a postcard and letter about Mont St Michel he said we just have to go there someday. Your journal pages really are conveying the joys of your trip, and I thank you for sharing it all with us. Happy T day . XO

    Like

  5. I can’t believe all the places you went in France, and am so in awe of this trip you and the traveling teacup took. It’s a marvelous journey, a remarkable photographic session, and wonderful art that came out of this leg of the trip. Impressive that you spent time there years ago, too. You were right about the crowds. They were hard to miss in your photos.

    I contemplated saying something about the Orlando shooting on my blog, but I had trouble finding words that were positive from such a horrific act that was the worst mass murder in the US to date. I do like your lovely Love Always remembrance.

    Thanks for sharing these gorgeous photos of Mont St. Michel, your lovely art, the traveling tea cup, and the Love Always with us for T this soon to be Tuesday.

    Like

  6. I have always wanted to visit Mont. St Micheal and so I loved seeing your photos. Both of your journal pages are absolutely gorgeous. Using that vintage map was really smart. I know, when I heard this morning about the shootings in Orlando it not only made me sad but made me mad that it even happened. Why? For what gain? Sometimes its a scary world. Happy T day. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  7. vickiinyourhead.wordpress.com

    I hadn’t realized they’d added a bridge. How did I miss that? Not sure how I feel about it. On another note, I love your journal pages. As one who comes home with a heap of paper souvenirs that all end up in a box (stacked atop other souvenirs from other trips), I do appreciate your swift handling of all that ephemera…and in a truly beautiful way.

    Like

  8. Oh this is such a beautiful post. First off I’ve always wanted to go there and your pictures are amazing. Love the pages you did in your journal and the ending art with it’s lovely message is very touching. Happy T Day my FRIEND! ♥

    Like

  9. It is so dreadful what happened in Orlando, the world is just going crazy. Love the beautiful photos and journal pages about Mont St Michel, you had a great time there. Thanks for making pages for AJJ, too, you have been very busy, and your work is always gorgeous. Happy T Day Liebe Patty! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  10. if only i came around half as much as your tea Cup;) i´ve never been at mont saint Michel, but i always think i should go there. so beautiful! great photos as always!
    well, Orlando… what can words say… i feel so sad that this incredible tragedy even becomes part of the election battle. is there no more shame in the world? and i will never understand the influence of the weapon industry in the USA… when will enough be enough? my heart is crying for the relatives and friends of these victims…

    Like

  11. Your ‘traveling tea cup’ is a delight! Would be a great book. Your photos are exquisite – I do miss the oldness and depth of history. Canada is so very young. Yes, Orlando is just plain tragic — the world is becoming so very harsh. hugs, Donna

    Like

  12. What an amazing journey… I love to see your photos and both spreads are just fantastic dear Patty!
    Thanks a lot for joining us again at AJJ –
    Happy T-Day liebe Patty!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  13. What a stunning church! really gorgeous journal pages you’ve made…and I had to do a double take at the rose on the rose plate!! so lovely. happy t day! ♥

    Like

  14. What a gorgeous place. Love your journal pages…i can’t decide which I like more.
    Happy T day!

    Like

  15. I found your blog via Marit’s Paper World and I’ll be following along from now on. I’m looking forward to reading your posts.

    Like

  16. It’s a fascinating place with so very much history! I really loved it when I was there and your photos bring back memories. I love the spreads. They capture the mood so very well!

    Like

  17. Awesome photos Patti and more memories for me to think of as well when I saw them. Even thought of a meal we had eaten in one of the restaurants there.
    Your journal pages are fantastic.
    Happy Tuesday.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  18. You definitely had the best of France on your recent trip. I have ALWAYS wanted to visit Mont Saint-Michel. The stone work is gorgeous – I will have to look at these pictures several more times. And weren’t you lucky to have been able to stay there!! Wow!
    I almost think that is cheating to be able to make your art journal with wonderful stuff from your trip as well as other things you collected. Your tea cup has been to more places than I have!!! By the way – who is that in the window. I would love to be able to look out that window. Do they still allow people to stay there?
    Sandy xx

    Like

  19. What stunning pages Patty! How wonderful that you have been able to incorporate the postcard from your travels so long ago to combine memories past and present. I love the rose plate image you have created, it is very meaningful and heart felt, thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  20. Thank you for sharing photos of mt St Michael. Did you know there is a replica Saint Michaels Mount in Cornwall England? That is the one I know. Same scenario. When the tide is out you can walk across the sand and at high tide it is isolated by the sea. It is an exact copy. I don’t know when it was built… I have visited it as a child.
    I hadn’t heard about the Orlando massacre until you mentioned it and I have just spent some time reading about the horrors of that mass murder. How horrible.
    I love your journal pages though. With all the evil in the world, I still believe love will conquer all.
    Happy T-Day,
    Blessings,
    Lisca

    Like

  21. Beautiful!!! Looks like my kinda place Patty – I love a bit of history! xxx

    Like

  22. This is such a lovely post! I have only driven past St Michel – years ago when we were trying to get to a campsite before dark! Your photos make me want to visit! It’s so good to see the travelling teacup again! I love the journal pages! The shootings in Orlando were so horrific – there was a vigil yesterday in the gay village here – your tribute is very touching ! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  23. Hello dear Patty,
    I hope your new visit to this magic place, was all as wonderful as the one, many years ago 🙂 It looks so amazing with the church there, on top og the mountain, wow so many steps, I believe I would have lost my breath .
    Your pages are so lovely showing the old amazing buildings, and with the old postcard you once wrote your parents. so many precious memories , on the same pages !!
    The black and white are really striking pages, dear, the and your :
    ” ~♥ “Je te souchaite” = “I wish you” … LOVE ALWAYS ♥~” so very beautifully created on the Pixlr.
    Hugs to you my friend !!
    Dorthe XXX

    Like

  24. marycnasser

    I love your achromatic map pages! What a delightful composition! So fun and wonderful!

    Like

  25. Hello Patty, and here are your photos which are always magical, your world is coloured in these wonderful blues. I was entranced by the huge stone wall with the lady captured in the window, what a lucky chance (or maybe you waited for days until she appeared?). Will her Prince come to rescue her?
    You have turned the plate into an ancient blue painting, with timeless and true words.

    Like

  26. Love your pages. What a romantic place, always seemed like a mysterious wonder to me and you’ve been twice!!! xox

    Like

  27. 900 stairs? Oh my goodness – might as well cart me off to the emergency department at the closest hospital!!

    Like

  28. I’m late getting around to my T friends but so glad I didn’t miss this post. The Abby is gorgeous. Imagine it standing there all these years. Your journal looks like a real treasure.

    Like

  29. The church/cathedral is absolutely Ah-Ma-Zing!!! Wow and WOW!
    A beautiful post,Patty~ xo

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

