Lavender Blue…

for years now in our Virginia garden June means it is time for the Lavender to bloom…

Magpie's Nest Lavandula x intermedia Provence it often happens around Father’s Day…Magpie's Nest Atelier de Sage hand painted dishthere is nothing quite like the soothing natural fragrance…

Magpie's Nest Lunaria Forget me not backswhich is right on time as I have been feeling a bit lost…

Magpie's Nest Kim Edwards quote trying hard not to be too discouraged with world events…

Magpie's Nest Resident Rabbitnature always provides a precious respite…

Magpie's Nest snail trailsin the early morning sun the other day I spotted these shiny silver slug trails on slates (try saying that five times quickly) near one of our bird baths… Magpie's Nest morning sunthey were only visible for a short while and I had to tilt my head a certain way and use the real camera as my cell phone would not pick them up at all…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz shades of blueI just came across the plant tag I had tucked away to help remind me of the variety of Lavender that has done so well for us for so long…

Magpie's Nest Lavender over red rock patioLavandula “Provence” (L. x intermedia) Lavandin enjoys the strong afternoon sun and very good drainage…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Lavender bluethank you for visiting… Magpie's Nest Spiderwortas always I am sending very best wishes your way…

“There is nothing but mystery in the world, how it hides behind the fabric of our poor, browbeat days, shining brightly, and we don’t even know it.”-Sue Monk Kidd, The Secret Life of Bees

 

26 responses to “Lavender Blue…

  1. Yes, the world is crazy just now. I hope the sight and perfume of your lovely lavender helps you. I tried that tongue twister, by the fifth time I had shiny silver snugtails on skates….Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. Your Lavender and all of the photos are beautiful. I think it’s a time or season that a lot of us are in a “funk” or “low” of some kind. Even though summer is my favorite time of year and the garden is my true passion this year I seem to running on remote control and not really “living ” it. Hopefully this time will pass and heal for us all and the world we live in. ♥

    Like

  3. Lavender blue,dilly,dilly,lavender green.Ours is about a week behind but it’s coming along.And that bunny was in my yard this morning. They are so cute.I love the pictures Patty and now I’ll be humming that song all day! Hugs

    Like

  4. There have been so many tragedies lately. Your beautiful garden must be a haven that takes you away from all the worries of the world.

    Like

  5. PS… I meant to tell you that Lavandula “Provence” is the best performer for me also. I had a lovely patch of it for 12 years and then the trees grew too big and shaded it too much and the drought of 2013 did it in 😦 I’ve started planting a few more last year and this to hopefully build up the front of the house with more purples as the yellows are taking over .

    Like

  6. A beautiful, soothing post! I hope it soothes your heart too Patty.
    As we in the UK prepare to vote on staying in Europe, today a female politician has been murdered for voicing her view! Disturbing times!
    Alison xxx

    Like

  7. You are quite the romantic and I love it. Some people just have an eye and a knack for creating just the right mood at the right time. Beautiful ceramics – they look like antiques especially the little dutch girl.
    First of all I would expect that you would go through some down time — after all the build up for your trip to France then the trip. You have been on quite a cloud. No doubt the world events are upsetting. From tragic accidents to terrorism it seems like there is no end. I think it is going to take a little while for most of us to get our sea legs back.
    Peace to you my sweet friend.
    sandy xx

    Like

  8. How beautiful. Can almost smell the lavender from here!
    I didn’t know slugs left trails. No slugs here. Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    Like

  9. Oh Patty, I feel your pain, and the way of being lost, the fear, for what can happen, as I have those thoughts and feelings myself. The writing of Kim Edwards, hit me, and my heart skipped a beat, as that is how scare for our lives .can sometimes feel, when in my black moments !!!
    So much more reason to love the most beautiful lavenders, and nature around us, and yours is just gorgeous. Your photos as always stunning ,making me wish I was there, to see for real !!
    Thank you dear. XOXO

    Like

  10. A wonderful post Patty and super photos, your garden must be a haven of rest and tranquility. I can only imagine the lovely calming aroma of the lavender. A place to enjoy and reflect in, in these toublesome times.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  11. what a sweet and fragrant post! My lavande is blooming too and I cut a few blossoms each day to put in a tiny vase on the kitchen table- I guess I should take a pic tho your stunning photos could put me to shame…nature is the perfect remedy to soothe fragile moments isn’t it?

    Like

  12. The garden is looking gorgeous Patty. I love lavender. Was it blooming when you went to France? That is one thing I really want to see, those fields of purple lavender. I know, the world is a tough place but try to find joy in the simple everyday beauties-like your garden! Hugs-Erika

    Like

  13. Your blog and photos are always a lovely respite. Thanks Patty 🙂

    Like

  14. I love lavender – ours needs replacing as it is a bit woody but I’ll give it another year! There isn’t a lot I can say to lift your spirits dear Patty! A young female MP was shot and stabbed in her own constituency today! Yet another pointless killing! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  15. I’ve felt the pressure of recent events, too, Patty. When I visited my friend Sally, she told me she had hallucinations all night the night after the shooting in Orlando. She explained it all so vividly and told me it took a glass of wine to calm her down. And Sally is NOT a drinker. She said the events hit her so hard, she could barely move the next day (which is when I went to her house and helped calm her down). I remember feeling a bit like that after 9/11, where the images of the buildings (twin towers) collapsing kept playing 24/7.

    Nature can heal, too, though. I try to find something beautiful and positive in each thing, and I was so thrilled to see that even though we had a bad setback due to a terrorist, people pulled together to show their love and respect.

    I wish my lavender had lived. It was just starting to get lovely blooms on it last year, but sadly, this year it didn’t survive the winter. And this was a warm winter, too. I was SO looking forward to making some of those lavender bundles you make every year, which always make me smile.

    Your incredible photos today made this a beautiful post. And of course, I thought of the song, that I now keep humming as I type. Thank you for these beautiful memories and gorgeous photos that made everything look so much better today!

    Like

  16. It is a crazy world but thank goodness for people like you who can still find the beauty in nature and share it with others thereby uplifting all of us. I have my sweet little lady with a basket on my writing desk. Today she is holding tiny messages of kindness. I don’t have any lavender but maybe tomorrow she will hold some of the bleeding heart currently blooming in my yard.

    Like

  17. Yes tragedies always and it’s hard to find peace … your wonderful post makes peace and brings joy and happiness Patty!
    Thanks a lot fpr sharing!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  18. Hi Patty, your photographs are gorgeous, the lavender theme is beautiful and calming…. take care, xxx.

    Like

  19. Such gorgeous photos dear Patty. I too am so in love with lavender .. How can you not be! A great shot of the little rabbit — they are so special. Your figurines – I’m sure they have a story – fit in with this lovely theme. Always so enjoy your posts. Have a wonderful day. World events these days are difficult to accept and hard on our souls — creating gives us peace within and I do adore your creations. hugs, Donna

    Like

  20. Love lavender X

    Like

  21. Looking at your nice lavender photos I can forget a while all the crazy politicians and their ill games. So nice the slug trails shimmering like silver.
    Wonderful also the words of Sue Monk Kidd. I have read two books from her, “Secret life of bees” and “pomegranate years” the book she wrote with her daughter. she is a wonderful authoress.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  22. I’ve been paging back and forward through all these photographs. I love the mosaic with the blue bird and the Dutch girl with her pretty basket of lobelias. Your photographic mosaics and arrangements of plants and things show us a good world.

    Like

  23. Just gorgeous. All your lavender photos make me want to take in the scent. xox

    Like

  24. Your garden is beautiful Patty! I love your photos, the silver lavender with their purple flowers always look so stunning, I am sure the fragrance is wonderful too! Have a great week! 🙂

    Like

  25. How I love lavender! Your bushes are further ahead from mine — it’s like a sneak preview, though I’m not sure mine will be so lovely! I can smell it through here!

    Oh, the mosaic and the wonderful bunny…. biggest sigh!

    Like

  26. Gorgeous !! Your photos are beyond beautiful and i am glad you have this nature to bring you peace-~ xo

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

