in the gloaming…

Misty Mawn's collage paper gifts
inspired by some collage papers that I received as a gift several years ago I got busy on two pages where I used white gesso and blue paint for the background… Gloaming definition Blue Gesso page
almost too nice to cover up I forged ahead adding collage bits…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Pink flower girl
 sparkly netting… rhinestones…
Magpie's Nest in the gloaming left page
a bit of rubber stamping…
Magpie's Nest twilight suppliespressed flowers and leaves…
“The French called this time of day ‘l’heure bleue’.  To the English it was ‘the gloaming.’ The very word ‘gloaming’ reverberates, echoes – the gloaming, the glimmer, the glitter, the glisten, the glamour – carrying in its consonants the images of houses shuttering, gardens darkening, grass-lined rivers slipping through the shadows…..” –Joan Didion

30 responses to “in the gloaming…

  1. Another W*O*N*D*E*R*F*U*L page, LOVE it! Thanks for joining us at AJJ and MM&M. Ales Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. Such beautiful found poetry on these pages….’l’heure bleue’ is a time for reminiscing and perhaps feeling a little blue…your pensive lady seems to sense it too.

    Like

  3. Freda Butler

    Love the way you did the girl, net, rhinestones, etc.

    Like

  4. I have to say that gloaming is a word I had forgotten about. That alone was fun. Lovely pages, too. 🙂

    Like

  5. Absolutely gorgeous dear liebe Patty!
    “die blaue Stunde” is it called in German .
    So happy you linked to AJJ and Moo Mania & More!
    THANK YOU ♥♥♥
    I wish you an early “Happy weekend”!!!

    oxo Susi

    Like

  6. A gorgeous spread Patty. The word gloaming itself makes it magical for me it says, misty mornings over the valley and dusky evenings in the country side with the mists on the fields. Thank you for jogging my memories with your beautiful page.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  7. Beautiful, beautiful, reale great !
    I like your blue works.,extremely creative
    Greetings from Germany

    Like

  8. such a lovely journal spread. I have heard of l’heure bleue but have never heard the word “gloaming”. So thank you for expanding my vocabulary:)

    Like

  9. I love your Vintage Look pages so much, the thin tulle with glitter on the Lady’s eyes and head looks so romantic. The stamp ornaments look also nice to this style. Dreamlike Artwork!
    Dear greetings
    Sabine xox

    Like

  10. This sent me off to google the lyrics to ‘In The Gloaming’ – actually surprised myself that I even remembered there was such a song. Wonderful work as always Patty!

    Like

  11. Pretty pages. I like the gloaming time, it’s restful and she looks restful. xox

    Like

  12. Love how the text adds visually to this spread 😊

    Like

  13. What a stunning entry. Beautiful bits of glitz and glitter, too. I had never heard the French term “l’heure bleue” but am quite familiar with the word “gloaming.” Guess it’s the British in me. Regardless, as we head into the gloaming, I will say how much I love this beautiful art today.

    Like

  14. I think you created a beautiful page- better than original papers. And love both the French phrase, which is really very accurate, and the gloaming. Its also very descriptive. I love how you used the Joan Didion quote to as your obvious inspiration. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  15. I love the soft color palette you used, as well as the romantic feel of the composition as a whole. Blessings!

    Like

  16. Dear Patty, here we also call it ” The blue hour ” and your blue hour, is adorable. So filled with poesy and beauty. I love how you used the glittery netting, and your lovely pressed flowers. Also such lovely papers, you found use for. I love it and the feeling of quiet mornings, I get seeing the wonderful spread.
    Dorthe, xoxo

    Like

  17. Patty your work is always full of poetry, so delicate and beautiful. Gorgeous works as always here and so much for the eye to relish, a treat!

    Like

  18. I never know where you are going to go Patty but your spread is beautiful – full of interest and using several pieces you made a coherent whole. Wow!
    sandy xx

    Like

  19. Great art work Patty!

    Like

  20. I Love your interpretation of ‘in the gloaming’ and ‘l’heure bleue’! The sparkly netting and rhinestones certainly capture the glimmer and glitter of twilight! The images and words are very touching and your pressed flowers and leaves certainly add a magical touch. Beautiful! J 🙂

    Like

  21. Dear Patty
    Have missed my visits to you.
    Your title captured my imagination immediately, gloaming is a word used in Scotland. I love that band of net fabric across her eyes and the use of the swirly stamps, bringing a beautiful flow.
    I hope life is being kind to you and Mr Magpie.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  22. I absolutely LOVE the 2-page work of art you made! Everything about it is gorgeous and mystical! Love the word GLOAMING, too! HUGS!

    Like

  23. Another beauty…I’m working my way backward through your latest posts…I’m way behind.

    Like

  24. Your July’s incredibly productive and creative!
    You’ve been working so much beautiful bookpages, all are a delight! … And in this beautiful gardenpage I see even a text in German. Such a surprise!
    Have a good week, dear Patty – Ulrike

    Like

  25. A wonderful journal page! I like the design and colors very much!

    Like

  26. What an amazing spread! How you put elements together-always leaves me in awe,they marry so perfectly!! Beautiful! xoxo

    Like

  27. Pingback: garden of dreams… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  28. Wow, great artwork as always, liebe Patty

    Thank you so much for joining us at MOO MANIA & MORE

    Like

  29. How beautiful this is Patty! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

