fireflies on a summer night…

lightening bugs… glow worms… whatever you call them if you’ve seen them on a warm summer’s night blinking in the darkness you know they are full of magic…Magpie's Nest Firefly supplies

I have several lasting memories of lightening bugs (none of them involve pulling off their lights to make jewelry as a kid!) and when I read a recent article about their decline I was inspired to make a page…

Magpie's Nest bee rubber stamps

shhh don’t tell the precious bees that I used them as a “model” in my collage…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Fireflies

another page for Yvonne’s IN MY GARDEN there is challenge for Art Journal Journey (as an aside I could not believe how long this simple page took me) …

“Ask me about my childhood, and I will tell you to walk to the edge of the woods with a choir of crickets chirping from every direction, a hot, humid breeze brushing through your hair, your feet, bare and callused. Stand there, unmoving, and watch the dance of ten thousand fireflies blinking on and off in the darkness. Inhale the scent of cured tobacco, freshly plowed southern soil, burning leaves, and honeysuckle. Swallow the taste of blackberries, picked straight from the bushes, and lick your teeth, the after-taste still sweet in your mouth. Now, stretch out on the ground and relax all your muscles. Watch nature’s festival of flickering lights.” -Brenda Sutton Rose

 

23 responses to “fireflies on a summer night…

  1. This is beautiful, I always love seeing glowworms on warm summer evenings, they are so magical! Thanks for another lovely entry for AJJ, and have a great Sunday, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. A stunning page, with the colors of a night in the south, and the cicadas singing loud. I love your beautiful bees, and the fireflies lightening up the amazing night ! The colors of blue changing over the page looks gorgeous, dear Patty!
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Like

  3. I have some nice memories of lightning bugs, too. Lovely spread. Sad to hear of their decline.

    Like

  4. I love lightening bugs, and I do think they are declining as I never see as many of them as I remember before. They are so much fun to watch on a summer night. Your page is great. It reminds me of sitting out on a summer night and watching those flashers. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  5. Beautiful page for AJJ.
    What a wonderful sight that must be to see the lightning bugs.
    I hope they manage to increase their numbers soon.
    Gill x

    Like

  6. Freda Butler

    We were outside the other night at dusk and the fireflies were lgihting up the night. I remembered when our children used to try and catch them in jars in summers past.

    Like

  7. Beautiful page full of childhood memories and good times with my children and grandkids.

    Like

  8. Lovely page. I saw some fireflies in the backyard just the other night. 🙂

    Like

  9. It must be a beautiful sight to see the fireflies in your garden. i don’t think we get many here in the UK, well certainly not up here in the North. Your page looks fabulous,and magical.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  10. Wonderful Patty – in the mountains of Western North Carolina we still have plenty of lightning bugs. I remember catching them as a child, putting them in a jar with some grass and punching a few holes in the jar for air. But they all seemed to parish anyway. There must be a lesson in there somewhere. They looked wonderful as I went to sleep that night.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  11. Oh Patty, I love the thought of fireflies on a summer night, they must look so magical just like your page! I have never seen them and we don’t have them in the UK, so thanks for including the link. It really made me smile when I read “Fireflies are Mother Nature’s fairy lights. Get your garden twinkling”. Thanks so much for sharing this enchanting post! J 🙂
    p.s. I’m sure the bees won’t mind 🙂

    Like

  12. I so enjoyed this, but was mortified to read that people would actually make jewelry out of the lightening bugs. I’ve actually seen more this year than last, so was glad you brought this decline to my attention. They truly twinkle up the night, don’t they?

    Like

  13. What a beautiful and magical page liebe Patty! Awesome!!!
    I say thank you for another fantastic entry to Yvonne’s super theme and wish you a good start of the new week!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  14. We used to collect fireflies in a jar of course and pretend they were lighting us to the shoreline of Lake Huron when I was a kid. Then we would swim out in the path of the moonlight until we knew we were allowed no further.Thank you for the memories. xoxoxo

    Like

  15. What a really delightful quote at the end of another beautiful journal page sprinkled with light! To see the fireflies appear-another happy welcome to summer.
    PS i know what you mean about “simple” pages taking such time:)

    Like

  16. I can remember being absolutely fascinated by fireflies when I was a child and I haven’t lost that fascination as an adult. One of nature’s miracles!

    Like

  17. I love “Glühwürmchen” so much and your glimmer bees look very good too. Nice idea and page dear friend. A night with these little fireflies is always magical.
    Hugs
    Sabine

    Like

  18. Ah, fireflies! So many happy memories of seeing and chasing them as a child. Unfortunately, I have not seen them in Florida. A few years ago, while at John Campbell Folk School in NC, I was treated to their dancing antics each evening. Loved it!

    Like

  19. Your bees make wonderful fireflies!!
    That verse is delightful and brought me right back to my youth ,Patty.
    Thank you for the sweet memories~ xoxo

    Like

  20. ps… what was the comment about of making jewelry out of the bugs bodies? sounds cruel…

    Like

  21. Ahhhh, fireflies..nice choice. Oh my, another insect I no longer see, like bees and monarchs they are part of the magic of summer.

    Like

  22. We don’t get fireflies this far North! I have seen them though when we went on holidays in the South(or was it in France?) Anyway, I love your page ! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  23. I wish I knew how to type hearts! I heart this!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

