days like these…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Passion Flower #1 25 Julythe combination of heat and humidity the other day here in Virginia of 112F/44.4444C was NOT my idea of a nice summer day at all…Magpie's Nest Praying Mantis

a low humidity day in the high 70’s low 80’s is much more in my comfort zone…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz DILL in the gardenwe do have central air conditioning as many people here in the states have so I cannot complain… 

Magpie's Nest Honeybee on Thymeit just means staying inside kind of like on a winter day…

Magpie's Nest Queen Anne's Lace in the gardenI created two more pages for Yvonne’s great theme of IN MY GARDEN there is over at Art Journal Journey…
Magpie's Nest remembering
I could have taken a ‘before’ photo of the newspaper image of the lady that I painted over but all you see here is my altered version along with a couple of Isle of Man postage stamps that I picked up in an OXFAM charity shop in Oxford, England…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz like theseit was fun using layers of paint to help the swan image melt into the page…

Magpies Nest Patty Szymkowicz days like thesemy “Life is but a dream” art journal is filling up nicely and soon it will be time to decorate the cover…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Life is but a Dream Journal“You know that place between sleep and awake, that place where you still remember dreaming?  That’s where I’ll always love you.  That’s where I’ll be waiting.”  -J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

 

24 responses to “days like these…

  1. So beautiful Patty – I love that lady – she comes somewhere from my past – I just know it!
    Sandy

    Like

  2. Oooh, what lovely pages, I think you have been hiding out in a nice, cool studio to make these. Your pages radiate peace, something we all need so badly just now. Here it’s still hot, at the moment hotter inside than out! Thanks for joining us again at AJJ, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  3. I love this post. Some of my favorite things. Queen Anne lace and Swans.We have many of each in our area.Very hot here as well. We have been over 90 many times and the humidity is awful. We do have AC thankfully. But summers are short in Michigan and I miss being outside more. xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Beautiful photos and matching journal pages ♥ I love Queen Ann’s Lace!!! I used to have some and then someone else sprayed them with Round Up thinking they were weeds… that person now only uses round up on the gravel driveway and never on a breezy day. He’s learning 🙂

    Like

  5. Amazing pages Patty and wonderful photos! Glad to hear that your aircondition holds you cool !
    Thank you very much for another beautiful entry to the garden theme at Art Journal Journey!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  6. I like to visit you post more than once if I can — this time was to study the Passion Flower. I have never seen anything like it – never!
    I love Queen Anne’s Lace – a weed that I have transplanted to my garden as many times as I could.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  7. Lovely pages, as usual. I hate being closed up in the summer when we are closed up all 6 months of winter, too–LOL!

    Like

  8. So beautiful, Patty. Your garden photos are lovely and nostalgic, Queen Anne’s Lace being one of my all time favorites. Love how you integrated the swan image into the background on your journal page. Thank you for sharing your joyous vision of the world.

    Like

  9. Oh Patty I would not like that temperature at all! Pleased to know that you are keeping cool – I am more of a low 70s kinda gal!! Your pages are just so beautiful – a true reflection of someone keeping their cool!! I love the quotes here today and of course the little walk among your flowers was a real treat once again! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  10. Beautiful photos, lovely colors and so gracious flowers! xo

    Like

  11. such beautiful, delicate flowers Patty. Super photography! Gorgeous pages and of course I LOVE your swan painting! I agree with you- when it gets this hot and humid it’s nice to have AC. The heat is not good for so many health issues:(

    Like

  12. What a wonderful quote to accompany your lovely pages! Very hot and humid here as well, but having a storm right now so maybe it will cool off a bit.

    Like

  13. Beautiful pages Patty, so calming to look at, I love the swan and those lovely words, I can almost imagine the lady speaking to the swan. Loved the flower photos. Its hot here now, but nowhere near the temperatures you must be having.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  14. More beautiful pages and a great pastime while you’re trying to stay cool.

    Like

  15. That was our temperatures several days last week, too. Not the heat index, but the actual temperature. And night time temps were in the 80s, too.

    I love how green and beautiful everything was that you photographed. The dill looks so much better than mine. But the star of the post is that lovely spread for AJJ.

    We are truly blessed to have AC, aren’t we? Not sure what I would do without it.

    Like

  16. We had temperatures just as you describe too here in Holland last week… and NO air conditioning… ohmy, that’s a disaster to middle aged ladies like me… it felt like I had one huge heatflash that took days… I’m glad temperatures dropped a bit this week. I can type a comment without dripping sweat all over my keyboard now. Hope your days are nice and easy. Big hug from Middelburg 😉

    Like

  17. beautiful journal pages, love that lady!!
    And that Passion flower is spectacular!! Does it smell as beautiful as it looks? xoxo

    Like

  18. WOW WOW WOW. your photographs and pages are stunning…. 🙂 xxx

    Like

  19. This is a fabulous spread, so beautiful, oh you made that sun shine, so amazing, Patty, and your over painted lady is wonderful, with the Isle of Man postage stamps on her side. Your colors are blending magically ,on both pages, and I love the quote you added!!
    Sending hugs to you . xx

    Like

  20. Oh I was so in love with your spread, that I forgot to mention the stunning nature photos, but they are all so beautiful, and the dill one is to sigh over, Patty . xoxoxo

    Like

  21. Such beautiful photos! I just adore that pic of the passion flower!!!! So breathtaking! And your precious journal pages ♥

    Like

  22. How I love that quote from Peter Pan. The flowers are fabulous — your dill is great! And the interpretation of the garden in your journal matches that fabulous — piece by piece, layer by layer.

    Like

  23. Oh that passion flower is heavenly, so beautiful in all it’s detail! I’ve never seen one like it before. I guess the praying mantis took cover under your porch away from the heat of the sun too :-). Your pages are stunning, I love the gold paint, it glimmers and shines wonderfully and the swan looks cool in the water even though that sun is shining down with all it’s intensity :-). Very dreamy pages! Wishing you a lovely Friday and weekend! J 🙂

    Like

  24. Another beauty! Love the photos as well. Esp the dill…not sure why but it totally made me smile!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

