room for sunshine …

lots of excitement here as we are still in the throws of construction  (one thing definitely leads to another after so many years of not doing much…the guys doing the work are so nice and doing a fabulous job)Magpie's Nest new back doorbefore the carpet installers came I wrote a message in the corner of the porch and snapped a few photos of the paint splatters (we chose some ruff and ready earth colored carpet that I hope grows on me)… 

Magpie's Nest Paint on Cement before carpet

fun to see how a coat of paint can bring new life to an old dark oak dresser that we had rescued years ago (we picked up the top at a yard sale for ten dollars way back when)Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Oak Dresser

our old wicker was in need of paint too and now it will last a long time since it won’t be exposed to the elements like it was when the porch was open on two sidesMagpie's Nest fresh white wicker

there shouldn’t be any more butterflies to rescue from the skylights (we were amazed at how many would get trapped trying to reach the sky when the porch was open)…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Tiger Swallowtail

 one of our passion vines is flourishing in the tropical summer heat… a handful of flowers open each day in the midday sun… Magpie's Nest Passion flower vine

they look and smell so pretty floating in water but only last a day…

Magpie's Nest passion flower roses

it is lovely to have the windows wide open with no worry of being bothered by bugs (we are looking into a ductless wall mounted unit that will heat and cool the porch nicely so it can be used year round)…Magpie's Nest by candlelight

joining everyone over at Elizabeth’s T Stands for TuesdayMagpie's Nest work in progress

~♥~ thank you for visiting with me ~♥~

 

27 responses to “room for sunshine …

  1. I love seeing how the construction and improvements are coming along. We, you’ve been hit by the home improvement bug, haven’t you? it is so exciting though. Once the hubby gets through his transplant and adjustments I have a few projects lined up myself, some kitchen work and redoing my upstairs bathroom. After awhile, it is just time to do it. Hope all is going smoothly and construction keeps moving, Hugs-Erika

    Like

  2. Oh my Patty I love what you are doing! So pretty I wish I sit down and have a cup of tea. I am there in my mind. Love the butterflies and that gorgeous dresser is to die for xoxoxo

    Like

  3. Your newly created and refurbished living space looks wonderful, you will be able to enjoy many happy hours and days there. Thanks for sharing all those beautiful photos. Happy T Day, Liebe Patty, Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  4. A lovely room….it wont be long now and you’ll be enjoying it. Love how you restore your beloved pieces. These days so much is thrown away.

    Like

  5. I love what you did with that dresser. And the wicker looks great! What a cozy spot 🙂

    Happy T Tuesday

    Like

  6. How wonderful to have a screened in porch! Your house looks so inviting. 🙂

    Like

  7. What a beautiful dresser! Glad the construction is going well Patty xxx

    Like

  8. So beautiful, there, dear Patty, a most cozy corner with your wickers, and the dresser looks so wonderful in white. Beautiful is also the passion flower floating in water, with the pink doily and roses. And the gorgeous butterfly is now not trapped anymore. Every thing is special, in your new closed porch, also the the light from the tea lights, on the dresser. Your renovation is going to give you a kind of new life, there.
    Hugs, Dorthe xx0

    Like

  9. oh wow…the dresser is gorgeous! love the white paint and all your accessories. A year-round sun porch sounds heavenly…and an awesome photo of the swallowtail butterfly! happy T day! ♥

    Like

  10. I just love every single detail… so cosy. What a wonderful place where you have many things which, I am sure, your cherish. Thanks for sharing, dear Patty! xo

    Like

  11. Your new room is looking so lovely! I wish you many happy hours enjoying it! A ductless heat/air conditioner would be a great addition ensuring that you could use the room no matter what the temperature!

    Like

  12. Your new porch living space looks a wonderful place for sitting and enjoying the garden. Thank you for sharing the photos. I would so much like to sit and soak up the peace and calm atmosphere you created.
    Happy Tuesday
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  13. I really like the new porch and the bright white wicker, but I am still one who prefers the beauty of oak over paint. And it’s a lovely serpentine, too. It looks like the construction is nearly complete, and you are happy with the job. That can be rare when/if you have more than one sub-contractor.

    Thanks for sharing this new addition and your lovely mug with us for T this Tuesday. I really DO like the porch!

    Like

  14. Your porch looks so peaceful Patty – and there’s another of those questions that I am going to ask you about in an e-mail (be warned – there’s a growing list!) I love how you painted the dresser to give a lighter look! All year round use will be great to watch the changing seasons! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  15. Oh what a lovely place to sit down and relax and watch the garden outside. I would like to visit you for a cup of tea to enjoy this nice new room. Your decoration and the nice old oak dresser look so inviting. A dream of a room for all seasons of a year. The swallowtail is amazing, I never have seen one here in our garden. Your photos look, as ever, so wonderful and inspiring.
    Great pleasure to look at.
    Hugs
    Sabine

    Like

  16. Construction is never fun, but the end results will be worth it. Lovely vignettes of your world as always. Love the dresser redo. xox

    Like

  17. Oh my, your new porch looks spectacular! I love that you wrote a message to discover again at a later date and those paint splatters are lovely, I would have taken photo too! The dresser and wicker chairs look wonderful, it’s such fun to renovate and recycle old furniture. I like to use chalk paint for my furniture projects and earlier this year we up-cycled the second hand furniture we bought for my craft room a gorgeous Provence Blue. All your decor looks so pretty and your special touch gives it such beauty, you certainly have an eye for putting pieces together and your lighting is lovely. I’m glad you have an all singing and dancing cooling and heating system installed too. The passion flowers and butterflies are so amazing. Enjoy your new porch and wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

    Like

  18. Everything is looking great Patty!!!! An ALL SEASON Room would be fantastic … I want one of those !!!!

    Like

  19. Hello Patty
    In this beautifully designed rooms I would feel very well -.
    A wonderful post – thank you
    Sadie

    Like

  20. Once again, beautiful!

    Like

  21. Your alterations are coming along nicely Patty. it all looks so relaxing and tranquil and I love your painted furniture and the message you wrote.
    Thanks for sharing your lovely photos.
    Gill x

    Like

  22. Your photographs are gorgeous again.. I love the look of the painted vintage cupboard and the accents. Your space looks like heaven. Have a great day, Shirleyxx

    Like

  23. Your porch is going to be so wonderful when it’s done. I’m sure you’ll use it even more…esp if you get a heating/cooling unit! That would be fab!
    Happy T day…really late.

    Like

  24. Wonderful pictures – I loved everyone of them. You do have style!
    sandy xx

    Like

  25. Oh Patty!!!
    What a relaxing space you have created! I love the look of the dresser lit up at night- so zen- I’ll be over for tea sometime! heehee xoxo

    Like

  26. The ‘one thing leading to another’ was always known as the ‘galloping ick’ in our household. Your dresser looks amazing and I know you are going to absolutely love your new enclosed porch. I do miss our enclosed sunroom we had at the house.

    Like

  27. Pingback: Helianthus time again … | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

