swan song…

finally the red rosin paper art journal I started back in October of 2013 is complete (more about how my gesso and monoprint pages began when you click the link above) …Magpie's Nest Red Rosin Monoprint cover

I made a TAP transfer ironing it on cotton using a German swan image (swans are a favorite of mine for lots of reasons)…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Red Rosin Journal Cover

adding bits of tea dyed lace and part of a flimmerstern along with a sweet spray of vintage flowers (some of those blooms also appear on a few pages inside the journal)…Magpie's Nest Swan book cover finishing touches

I got out one of my button jars to have a lookie look and found a button with hanging threads that seemed perfect…Magpie's Nest book binding

after deciding on the smaller poking tool I did a simple in and out tied binding… if you are interested in what’s inside the journal I have links to each of the spreads here

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Swan Song art journal

sharing this for Gill’s wonderful NATURE’S WONDERS theme at Art Journal Journey…

22 responses to “swan song…

  1. Your red rosin journal is beautiful ♥♥♥♥ I just love the swan cover you did 🙂 Your journal work is always so pretty ♥

    Like

  2. What a fab journal you have made, so special and so Patty – this is really an heirloom. Thanks for another fantastic entry for AJJ. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday. Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  3. It is so beautiful Patty. I admire all the time and thought you’ve put into this piece. xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Oh Patty! (big sigh!) This really is wonderful – a real treasure! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  5. Patty this is so beautiful, a wonderful cover for your journal book. It may have taken a while to be completed, but I’m sure it will be treasured for many years.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  6. Patty, this is gorgeous! Your artwork always is! We are having a lot of swans where I live, you would love it here 😉
    Dagmar

    Like

  7. Beautiful Patty. The little swan charm is just perfect.

    Like

  8. Freda Butler

    I am having a fast look but am saving the email for when I have more time to go back and look at all of it. I must take a trip to World Market soon.
    Amazing what we find in different places.
    Hugs

    Like

  9. So many wonderful elements – buttons, lace, charms, flimmerstern, vintage flowers, swan!!! All put together in your special Patty style – fabulous!

    Like

  10. This is gorgeous Patty. I love the details you added, all the “bling” not being glitzy but very romantic instead. And I adore the swan. Feels a little French too. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  11. Hello Patty
    As a magical journal, the many details, just fantastic.
    I wish you much continued creative hours.
    Nice week for you.
    Sadie

    Like

  12. Beautiful Patty – now I have to go back to your “look here” and “look there” to actually look here and look there!
    sandy xx

    Like

  13. What a wonderful journal you have made dear Patty ! Gorgeous!
    Thanks a lot for linking another fantastic post and page to Art Journal Journe!
    oxo Susi
    Happy new week to you♥♥♥

    Like

  14. Gosh Patty your journal with its beautiful Swan cover is so classy and elegant.
    There was a lot of oohing and ahhing again as I looked at todays post and all your other pages again – my favourite of the others I think is ‘The present moment is a powerful goddess’.
    I looked at so many of your links I nearly forgot to come back here and comment but I have learnt what Flimmersternes are and Red Rosin paper (wondering if we have similar in UK) and learnt that you have such an eye for detail and gift of knowing the perfect colours, textures and items to use together 🙂
    Thank you again for all the lovely comments … Gill xx

    Like

  15. a gorgeous little book celebrating nature and art. Of course you have a swan image on the cover along with the perfect charm :):)

    Like

  16. As you know, I also have real love of red rosin paper. I use mine to cover my table in my craft room. When it gets too grungy even I can’t stand looking at it, I cut it up, or make gift envelopes out of it.

    I was enthralled with this entry, but went back to the beginning to see how you cut the paper. It looks like you originally cut the pieces, but then said you tore the pages. I want my pages to look like yours with that raw edge look. Maybe you’ll have some tips for me.

    This is a fantastic end to a beautiful beginning. I was especially fond of that beautiful swan charm.

    Like

  17. A beautiful page Patty! And, I love your button collection! 🙂 xxx

    Like

  18. Patty, it has been such fun to watch this evolve! I love the swan page and seeing a finished project. What great joy it must bring you! Bravo. (And I have a wee bit of button envy!)

    Like

  19. I love the pages of your journal and the cover is stunning and perfect in every way! Truly a thing of beauty! J 🙂

    Like

  20. What an absolutely beautiful swan page!! I sooo love how you know what exactly pieces will work together so well!! Gorgeous Patty!!
    My I ask you, what is it about red rosin paper that you love so much? I have some and have not yet played with it- but you inspire me to do so!
    Have a beautiful weekend ! xoxo

    Like

  21. I love this. I may have already commented…. can’t keep up. You’ve GOT TO BE almost out of that flimmerstern!

    Like

  22. Absolutely beautiful! =) and impressive!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

