the silence of growing things

ever since I was a young girl I have had a strong connection to nature…

Magpie's Nest Eastern Black Swallowtail in our garden

there were years when being a full time gardener was my saving grace helping me through difficult times…Magpie's Nest Silence of growing things

I do not garden as much as I used to for various reasons but my Love of nature is still strong…Magpie's Nest Thyme in the garden

these pages were inspired as I came across some get well cards sent to me in 2003 (I know!!! I am working to alter my saving ways with most of the cards now in the recycle bin but the card front which is the centerpiece of my right hand page highlights the natural wonder of herb gardening so I decided to do another spread)…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz AJJ Aug 2016 NATURE's WONDERS

many thanks to Gill for hosting the wonderful theme of NATURE’S WONDERS for Art Journal Journey this month…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Enjoy the Moment

there is boundless creativity and inspiration on the AJJ challenge blog month after month ~♥~ special thanks to Susi and Valerie for keeping the fun going!!!

28 responses to “the silence of growing things

  1. Oh yes, we like to keep the fun going and going and going! Love your new spread, gardening is a very therapeutic thing, as is crafting. Thanks for all your support and lovely pages this month! BIG hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Oh Patty – Thank you for your nice words about AJJ !
    This spread is so beautiful and the photos are beautiful as well!
    Thank you so much for being with us all the time at AJJ!
    You are such a talented and lovely person! So proud to have you as a blog friend!♥♥♥
    Nature is just wonderful – you are so right!

    Happy Wednesday!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  3. Those caterpillars are fabulous! I’m a saver, too. Especially if the card has been made by the sender or particularly beautiful. Well, it certainly looks like you had some wonderful inspiration!

    Like

  4. This is a wonderful collage of all the work you put into this month’s art. I can tell this subject was near and dear to you.

    I’ve started using some of my cards that have been given to me, because I am tired of them just sitting, gathering dust, when they could be put to good use again. I guess that’s what happens when you have a massive clean out. You came up with awesome art as a result. As always, you inspire ME!

    Like

  5. Ever so lovely as always Patty.xoxoxo

    Like

  6. Love the page today and the photos ♥

    Like

  7. I love to garden, too, but the heat and my back sometimes make it hard to do. So, it is great that we have your journal gardening to inspire us. Once again, I will say that your journal pages would make a wonderful printed art book!

    Like

  8. Love your pages and I too garden less than before, but mostly because Florida has strange growing seasons.. Giggling over your “saving ways” … I can relate! 😉

    Like

  9. Hi Patty, I love your photographs and beautiful page. I’ve always been a ‘nature girl’ as well and used to spend all day gardening too. It’s very theraputic as art can be too. I enjoy my small gardens now, but sometimes I miss being in the country. I’m off balance with living so close to neighbours, especially when some of them are very noisy in their pools and have loud dogs etc. Some people only think of themselves unfortunately. Take good care, Shirley xx

    Like

  10. I enjoyed your month of posts also. It was a great theme for August wasn’t it? I could spend another month on this theme I have so many ideas left. Love seeing your photos and beautiful art work. lets see what September brings. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  11. A lovely post Patty. The journal pages and the photos are beautiful. Nature is truly a wonderful thing. You used the card in a special way and I have to admit to the ”hoarding” word. I have a box of saved cards as well.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  12. Hello Patty
    Nature is unique just like your pictures, they really liked me.
    Greetings from Austria
    Saie

    Like

  13. What a beautiful post filled with nature’s wonders, such a treat!

    Like

  14. alteredattic

    What a great post, fabulous photos – caterpillar is my favorite – and inspiration as always! xo

    Like

  15. I was a tomboy growing up and was always outside, usually in bare feet. Now I appreciate all that’s around me even more as I pay attention to every little thing that so many tend to take for granted or not even notice at all. Great way to use an old card. A shame to throw them away or keep them stuck in a drawer, yet that’s what we all do.

    Like

  16. Green!!!!! You’ve surprised me today with your lovely pages. I always expect your beautiful blues.

    Like

  17. aww thanks Patty for creating one last page for August – its amazing!
    So many layers and textures, love the glittery fine mesh and do I see mulberry paper – just brilliant!
    And I would have kept that lovely card too.
    Gosh sometimes its so hard deciding what things to save and what not to when they are all memories, I have a big bulging box of cards I keep putting off sorting out.
    I adore the butterfly which I tried to look up and wonder if it may be some kind of Swallowtail – your post is full of beautiful things again..
    Sorry I’ve gone on a bit and I still haven’t said thank you for the lovely comments on my last AJJ page – so thank you – and once again thank you for all the beautiful pages you created this month.
    Gill xx

    Like

  18. Such amazing photos and lovely pages. Every time a pleasure to visit your Blog.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  19. You are very talented and your photos are pages are gorgeous! I also love nature and have had a strong connection to it ever since I was a little girl. I will be 60 in October. Warm greetings from Montreal, Canada. 🙂

    Like

  20. I’m going to begin with the end of your post- what a glorious rendering of nature and beauty and color in your art! In so many ways nature does heal doesn’t it? It reminds us that life goes on and truly is abundant. Your wonderful collection of art journal pages along with the photos proves the fact. Thank you. XO

    Like

  21. Well where do I start! Beautiful butterflies and you are definitely one with nature the way you create your art work, I love how you bring the various elements together in harmonious joy! The background papers you have selected are very pretty indeed. The ‘Enjoy the moment’ piece is so dreamy that I get lost in it’s magic! Going back for another look :-). Wishing you a very happy Friday and weekend! J 🙂

    Like

  22. Gardening, or just ‘being’, surrounded by nature is indeed healing. I saw a catterpillar (a big, black, hairy one) the other day and I realized it had been years since I saw one… oh the benefits of living in Zeeland again! Have a wonderful weekend dear one! Big hug from Holland

    Like

  23. I LOVE all your botanicals. I find nature very inspirational too. Blessings!

    Like

  24. All your journalpages are so beautiful – I just want to look again and again! And your photos of the caterpillars are great! I also like nature and gardening too. Wish you a wonderful week! Rike

    Like

  25. Love this spread – such gorgeous colours and a great way to use the card! Great life cycle photos! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  26. That’s a beautiful spread, Patty! Lovely shades of green. I’m very often inspired by nature as well.

    Like

  27. Beautiful! Your caterpillars look so healthy. The wasps get all of mine. I’m ready to give my milkweed to my daughter.

    Like

  28. These are such lovely gardening pages. The way you use your cards and ephemera are beyond magical.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

