forever…

joining in again for Elizabeth’s Art Journal Journey BACK TO SCHOOL challenge with a two page spread in an altered book of mine that surfaced in my recent clean up… magpies-nest-lucilles-memory-book

 Lucille Borschke’s school memory book was given to me by a friend that found it in a thrift shop… 

magpies-nest-lucilles-friends

she thought I could make use of the vintage photos and bits of this and that in it… 
magpies-nest-forever-pgs-in-progress

seems Lucille was a local girl that attended Notre Dame Academy in Washington, D. C. back in the late 1920’s and her favorite subjects were History, Religion, English and French…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-paint-layers

one of the group photos along with an old dictionary page were what got me started and a couple of rubber stamps came in handy too (FOREVER stamp not shown in photo)…magpies-nest-stamps

the ridged paper on the right is from light bulb packaging (I noticed when my pages were finished how nicely it worked with the background in the photograph) and the postage stamps were from a letter front included in Lucille’s memory book…
magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-forever-pages

with my father being in the military we moved quite a bit when I was a young girl at all times of the year which made being the “new” girl in class an added adventure… I was quite chatty and made friends easily… I am grateful for memories of a sweet and colorful childhood…

20 responses to “forever…

  1. Your amazing creativity is put forward through your words and souvenirs… This post is so powerful, and, moving. A special wink to the fact that you are a member of the large family of “military”, I love that, may be you would guess why…… xo

    Like

  2. What a marvelous memory book! And with your additions, its life is extended and enhanced! I’m not sure I knew you were also a “military brat” however, I’m sure the term brat would not have been used with you. I loved moving from place to place as a child. You’d never know that now since I have lived in the same house for the last 30 years!

    Like

  3. This is just stunning dear Patty! I love the spread you made with this nice photo – you brought it to new unique art – in your beautiful style!
    Great that you came up with another idea for Elizabeth’s Back to School theme !
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

    Like

  4. I am in awe of this book your friend found for you. It is perfect for this month’s theme. I like how you used the old light bulb packaging, and sad that this option is no longer available to us, instead of the hard plastic that now encompasses our bulbs. I also love that stamp with the pen nibs. Of course, I was delighted to read your thought process as you worked your way to a completed spread. This is gorgeous, and I’m SO glad you took time to join us again this month for the Back to School theme at AJJ.

    Like

  5. I forgot to mention that I had no idea you moved around so much as a child. I can imagine and believe you never had trouble making friends, because you are always so welcoming and charming on your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ll second that (Elizabeth last comment), it is always a pleasure to come here, I feel welcome.
    Ridged paper from light bulb packaging – who would have thought it …..runs through to check the elderly stash …….yes! found some!
    I always like your photos of your orderly supplies, lined up for action.
    I just love these aged pages with the photo, the pen nibs, the printed paper and everything.

    Like

  7. That book is an absolute treasure, and the journal pages you made are stunning, as always. I met up with Sabine today. Thanks for joining us again at AJJ, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  8. Just read your question about the girl in the yearbook photo. I hate to tell you this, but it’s an image I found in a magazine, so of course, it is no one I know.

    Like

  9. Wat a great find and you have done it proud with your additions.

    Like

  10. What a find! These pages are particularly appealing to me…very nostalgic.

    Like

  11. What a lovely book to be gifted to use. The pages you made look awesome with the old photo. It must have been quite an adventure changing school, not something I think would be as easy if you didn’t find it easy to make new friendships.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  12. Wonderful pages with the nice old school photo and the feather edging below.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  13. Oh what a beautiful book! A complete treasure that you will fondly love for the rest of your days. Such beautiful artwork in it! xox

    Like

  14. That is such a cool old memory book Patty. What a great find. And fantastic gift from a very thoughtful friend. I think that memory book could inspire lots of art. Your latest spread is beautiful. I love how you used the pen nibs stamp. 🙂 Hugs-Erika

    Like

  15. What a fabulous book! And I love the page you made — and the photo of your art table complete with supplies! How you’re finding time to do this with the remodel I’ll never know but I applaud you!

    Like

  16. these pages are layered and blended so beautifully! What a lovely found keepsake to be able to bring new life to. It’s so nice to hear how you were able to deal so well with all the moves at a young age. I think I would have enjoyed it too:)

    Like

  17. What a lovely page! xxx

    Like

  18. What a wonderful gift to receive from your friend – the memory book is so delightful, it’s like stepping back in time :-). I love the dark grey cover and the elegant writing and embossed pattern – it’s gorgeous and looks so tactile. Your journal page is the same – the textures you have created along with the colours, photo and ink pen images, dictionary and beautiful postage stamps are perfect. It captures school memories “forever” and it was lovely to hear about your school days too :-). Wishing you a lovely start to the weekend! J 🙂

    Like

  19. Oh Patty! These are wonderful pages holding your memories! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  20. What a delightful spread !! And what a cool vintage find!! Fab friend for sharing it with you!! I love the pen stamping across the bottom,I must remember that for a page! xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

