darkness to Light…

I have missed art journaling and playing along with my favorite challenge blog friends over at Art Journal Journeymagpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-progress-1

Valerie’s brilliant theme this month is “Light and Darkness” which is something I think about quite a bit having experienced a fair bit of darkness in my life (mostly in the form of loss)…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-progress-2

we all have to face it at some point (I used a fine tip black Sharpie marker for highlights around the gold)…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-dark-to-light-closeup

I have also been blessed with so much beautiful Light (couldn’t help but notice the difference in the Light in my photos)…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-progress-3

this journal page began with what was left from a sheet of Christmas stamps (those little snippets always seem too nice to throw away)…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-darkness-to-light

“Maybe you have to know the darkness before you can appreciate the light.” -Madeline L’Engle

24 responses to “darkness to Light…

  1. A gorgeous page, dearest Patty, showing the streaming light from above , which is always ,there for us, in some way or the other. I`m happy you feel and see it, also with the sorrow, you are carrying in your life.
    Dear friend I wish you all the very best for 2017 , a healthy, happy and crafty New Year! New wonderful tours to do, with your husband, new things to experience, and filled with more than many happy and lightfilled hours.
    Love and hugs from Dorthe

    Like

  2. Just AMAZING dear Patty! This is utterly beautiful!!
    So glad to see that you have time again to play and create in your journals! Thank you so much for sharing with us at Art Journal Journey! Always wonderful to have you with us!
    Happy New Year to you and Mr. Magpie!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  3. How beautiful Patty. I am glad to see you back – you were missed.

    Happy New Year to you both.

    Like

  4. A great start to the coming year of creativity. Well done Patty, and a happy New Year.

    Like

  5. Your beautiful post brought to mind this quote, “The sun is a daily reminder that we, too, can rise again from the darkness, that we, too, can shine our own light.” Thank you for sharing your light with us. Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. Liebe Patty, you have made me very happy with this beautiful entry for ‘light and darkness’. Our lives are really made up of both, and so hard it is to get through a dark phase, it is wonderful to be in the light. Happy New Year, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  7. Always a joy to see your work. Welcome back. 🙂 My blog is ignored, my workshop lies fallow, my mind can’t stay focused on any project – the darkness indeed. Thank you for a boost in morale and a kick in the butt. Taking baby steps back towards the light. ♥

    Like

  8. Beautiful page Patty! xxx

    Like

  9. Nice art work and merry 2017!

    Like

  10. I love the words you added to your beautiful journal page Patty.
    I really feel there is light if we wish to find it even if its just a small flicker in the dark.
    As this year is drawing to its close. , I send you and your family my best wishes for the coming year and hope it will be a good one for you all.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  11. Wishing you light dear Patty! Your journal page is gorgeous, you have definitely captured the beauty of light! The blue and gold sings to me and the light shines down from above caressing the world – magical! All the best for 2017, may it bring you and yours joy, love, peace and light! J 🙂 xx

    Like

  12. What a beautiful post, Patty. I know just what you mean about darkness and light and what a simple but profound quote. Today I visited the Caravaggio exhibition at London’s National Gallery with my husband and brother-in-law and what a master of darkness and light Caravaggio was! Your journal page reminds me of the beautiful blue and gold altar pieces I saw in the gallery today too. Have a wonderful New year, my dear friend, full of light and hope. xxx

    Like

  13. A wonderful page Patty. And I love that quote – how true it is. All the very best wishes for joy and happiness to you and your family in 2017!

    Like

  14. Its good to have you back. I missed your art work. Its always so inspiring to me Patty. This piece is no exception. 🙂 Happy New Years celebrations-whatever you are up to! Hugs-Erika

    Like

  15. Stunning page Patty! The design is so beautiful and inspiring as always.
    Happy New Year!
    Mar 🙂

    Like

  16. Your journal page is gorgeous, as always, liebe Patty.

    Happy New Year to you and yours

    Like

  17. Beautiful art, Patty.
    Love, joy and peace for a new year to you and yours ♥

    Like

  18. I missed you artwork! So glad to see you creating in that wonderful and unique style of yours.
    Happy New Year!

    Like

  19. The little snippet looks great on your nice page. I always like the color combination of blue and gold.
    Hugs
    Sabine

    Like

  20. Yay! Patty is back! And so is the beauty!

    Like

  21. gorgeous page and such beautiful symbolism of the light coming out from the dark.

    Like

  22. Such a beautiful page! and yes, i agree, those snippets are so lovely- and way tooo nice to throw away!
    I think of you always,dear Patty, and keep you and your family in my prayers.
    Thank you for always being such a beautiful light force in my life! xoxo

    Like

  23. Beautifully done Patty — I really have missed you but your new kitchen was well worth it!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  24. Wow Patty! This is wonderful! Glad you are able to have some playtime now! Hugs, Chrisx ps I will get around to sending you an e-mail soon!!!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

