birthday getaway Anne Hathaway style…

at the end of November we took a little break from home improvements and drove about 2.5 hours southwest toward the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia…
magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-near-staunton-va

we booked three nights at the beautiful Inn of Old Virginia and stayed in a lovely room in the renovated barn where some of the exposed beams date back to Civil War times…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-inn-at-old-virginia

there were some beautiful sunrise views from our balcony…magpies-nest-jim-szymkowicz-sunrise-over-blue-ridge-mtns

breakfasts at the inn were delicious with such great attention to detail…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-inn-of-old-virginia-breakfast

it had a relaxing atmosphere with very gracious hosts…

magpies-nest-inn-at-old-virginia-restored-barnthe nearby town of Staunton (pronounced STAN-ten) is known for being the birthplace of Woodrow Wilson who was the 28th president of the U.S… magpies-nest-staunton-va-xoxo-doorsit is home to the American Shakespeare Center with a replica of Shakespeare’s Blackfriars Theatre… magpies-nest-staunton-shops

we enjoyed a performance of The 12 Dates of Christmas which was thoroughly entertaining and captivating in the beautiful wooden theatre…magpies-nest-giant-watering-can-and-garden-pots

one of the main reasons we chose Staunton was because of a special tea room…magpies-nest-streets-of-stauntonwe even brought our Traveling Tea Cup along…magpies-nest-anne-hathaway-cottage-tea-room-with-the-traveling-t-cup
I could hardly believe there was a REAL thatched cottage in Virginia which reminded us of the thatched cottages in the UK when we visited back in 2013 (photo below)…magpies-nest-stratford-upon-avon-uk-tour-2013

that is us standing in front of Anne Hathaway’s real cottage in Stratford-upon-Avon and we stumbled upon Hathaway TEA Rooms there and enjoyed a huge tea for two out in the garden…magpies-nest-anne-hathaway-birthday-tea-dec-2016 back to Virginia where we celebrated my 5 December birthday at Anne Hathaway’s Cottage Tea Room (tea for one and Mr Magpie had the Plowman’s Lunch…we shared a pot of Earl Grey)…magpies-nest-jim-szymkowicz-1600s-english-farm

such a fun time and I didn’t even get to tell you about our visit to the Frontier Culture Museummagpies-nest-1700s-irish-farmbut I’ve kept you so long already…magpies-nest-frontier-museum-reflections

wishing you a very Happy T Day along with everyone over at Elizabeth’s Altered Book Lover…

30 responses to “birthday getaway Anne Hathaway style…

  1. Wow- this looks like a gorgeous place to visit. What a fantastic break from all the home construction and a wonderful way to spend your birthday! I really enjoyed your photos, and think I’d love a cup of tea at Anne Hathaway’s cottage too. 🙂 Happy T Day. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  2. Oh, but Patty. I felt like we were just getting started, even though I clicked on each and every photo to get a closer view. I was truly impressed with seeing both Anne Hathaway’s Tea Rooms, and was impressed that the one in VA was as lovely as the one in Stratford-on-Avon. These were some incredible shots, and of course, loved seeing the thatched roofs and the traveling tea cup which has been suspiciously silent these last few months.

    Thanks for sharing these awesome vignettes with us for T this soon-to-be Tuesday. So glad you joined us. I’ve really missed having tea with you.

    Like

  3. This looks like the perfect place for a vacation. I know I’d love it and did so enjoyed your photos. They made me feel like I was actually there 🙂

    Happy T Tuesday!

    Like

  4. What a beautiful place. Looks like you had a lovely time. I enjoy your travels as I learn a lot about the USA.

    Like

  5. Happy belated birthday wishes. Wow! What a picturesque town. So many beautiful photos. Definitely looks like a place I would love to visit. Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. Hello Patty
    What beautiful photos, I can not see enough.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Best wishes
    Sadie

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing the wonderful photos of the places you have visited. I would so much like to visit England again, too, I miss it a lot. And thanks for showing your lovely food, too Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie.

    Like

  8. Your photos are amazing – what an interesting town and fabulous landscape!
    I am in love with the Anne Hathaway’s cottage .
    Happy belated Birthday Patty!
    A wonderful post!
    Happy TSFT!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  9. i want to go there!! your photos are mouth watering (is this term apt for eye candy?)… i clicked each and every Mosaik and really enjoyed them! and a good idea to reward yourself inbetween all the renovation work.
    happy belated birthday wishes from me, too! have a good t-day and REST OF THE YEAR!!! xoxox

    Like

  10. It sounds like you’ve had a lovely time! I wish I could visit the places you have visited.

    Like

  11. I am ready to move into that B&B! What a gorgeous place! It looks so relaxing and inviting. I totally missed the Tea Room on my previous visits to Crozet (near Staunton). I will have to check it out the next time I’m in the area.

    Like

  12. What a fabulous place to stay! I love where you celebrated your birthday too! (Elizabeth mentioned that your birthday was in December too – I have made a note of the date his time!)That tea looks huge! It’s lovely to see your photos again! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  13. That cottage is wonderful and so like the original. I was bowled over by the interior! So English! Beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing the photos from Staunton. I love the watering can. (I love street art).
    Happy New Year and happy T-Day,
    Hugs.
    Lisca

    Like

  14. what a beautiful place to enjoy some special relaxing time away!! Would LOVE to go there myself.It all looks so warm and inviting. And it sure does look like a place in the UK. Nice to find such a gem not too far from where you live. Thank you for sharing this lovely spot, and happy T day!

    Like

  15. Wonderful to see what you’ve been up to. It looks like you found a get away that was both relaxing and interesting. I enjoy going along on your travels through your photos.

    Like

  16. Wonderful photos Patty! It looks like an amazing trip! My kinda place! 🙂
    A Happy new year to you both!
    Alison xxx

    Like

  17. What a delightful birthday holiday Patty!! Thank you for sharing it with us!
    In case I did not say it then, happy belated birthday my dear!
    Tell Mr. Magpie, my fav photo was the on of he with the gnome! heehee
    Have a beautiful day! xo

    Like

  18. You visited a wonderful place for your last trip. It was good to see all the great photos you added to the post. Seeing the ones you took in the UK made me remember visiting that area a number of years ago, My husband calls the thatched cottages, Chocolate Box houses as they have often used to decorated boxes and tins.
    Happy T day and New Year
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  19. Oh my Patty, what a wonderful post of your and Mr. Magpie’s birthday getaway! Not sure whose Birthday it was but Happy belated Birthday :-). I will be singing “The Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia …” all day now as it looks such a beautiful place to visit. I love the beautiful Inn, it looks so comfy cosy and there are so many special touches like those pretty oranges with cloves in on the sideboard :-). There is so much to see and that old truck has a great paint job, doesn’t it … lol! How wonderful to explore the town and watch a play in the old wooden theatre, and fancy finding a thatched cottage like the ones here in the UK too! It looks amazing just like Anne Hathaway’s cottage, the tearooms look fantastic and I adore the lovely teacup and saucer on the wall by the front door it is so precious! Your post brings back such happy memories of the time we visited Stratford-upon-Avon and toured Anne’s cottage with our friends from Maine when they came to stay with us for vacation :-). As always it looks like you had so much fun on your travels, your travelling teacup has seen some marvelous places in its time and I so enjoyed visiting Virginia too :-). Wishing you a very Happy T Day dear Patty! J 🙂 x

    Like

  20. Wonderful pictures, from your two tours / vacations, dearest Patty!
    The houses are so lovely, -here we also have many thatched houses , and they are still getting the roof renewed when the thatching is getting too old . The little pink house is beautiful in all its imperfection, and the area around so idyllic and lovely. The theater play must have been wonderful, and your tea and lunch, UHMMMM . Such wonderful old tea and dinnerware, also !!!
    Patty you always manages, to make me feel almost there, with the amazing photos. Thank you my dear, for inviting me to this beautiful tour, in Virginia .
    Loving hugs, from Dorthe

    Like

  21. Like I said before – your tea cup has been more places in the last five years than I have been! Loved your pictures Patty – they are always wonderful. Now I expect to see a fabulous journal spread of this special get away!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  22. Eileen the Artful Crafter

    Lovely travelogue of your trip (or should I say trips since you also shared some photos from 2013).

    How cool to find a REAL thatched cottage in Virginia – and especialy that it shares the Hathaway name of the one you visited in the UK. It looks like a magical place. Your photo collages are beautifull!

    Belated happy birthday from another December baby 😉 Plus, Happy T Day and Happy New Year, Patty!

    Like

  23. What a great idea for a birthday celebration! This looks just lovely — especially the tea room! And what a sweet memory of England. I’m sure after/during the reno you were eager to get a break. I can’t think of a better one!

    Happy Belated, Patty!

    Like

  24. Such a great getaway!

    Like

  25. Belated birthday greetings and New Years greetings Patty.
    What a fabulous post this was…and a lovely break for you in such a beautiful place..
    I thoroughly enjoyed your photos and didn’t want them to end..
    Chocolate box thatched cottages always look so romantic but I’d hate
    all the upkeep and worry looking after the thatched roof.
    Have a great week… Gill xx

    Like

  26. Patty .. such wonderful pictures! Its been forever since i’ve been to the Blue Ridge Mountains… and i’ve never been to them in Virginia only NC.. they do speak to you and i miss them… It is one place i would love to live.. Happy happy first T day of 2017!! Hugs! deb

    Like

  27. Just gorgeous and quaint all at the same time, looks like you had a great birthday and that’s the way it should be! Cheers to a happy new year! Xoxo

    Like

  28. Breathtaking photos…love the beautiful scenery, and the cows make me smile! so much to enjoy here, looks like you had a lovely birthday trip! Happy T Day, and Happy New Year!

    Like

  29. What a lot of wonderful photos of all the nice locations you visited with Jim. I think that was a great Birthday journey to all that nice places. It was a journey to another century with the old cottages and the lovely oldfashioned things inside there. I would have liked it too.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Like

  30. Beautiful post and lovely picutes. Thank you for sharing this. I love hearing about pretty unique places.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

