pulled by the stars…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-simplicity-backgroundmy pages were inspired by Tamara Laporte and her first lesson on Life Book 2017magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-simplicity-colored-pages

this is my first time joining in this popular online course and it is already wonderful (when I saw that one of my favorite artists and teachers, Misty Mawn , was teaching that sealed the deal for me)…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-simplicity-gesso-layer

using colors I don’t often use was a good exercise but my background pages sat for awhile until the other bits presented themselves…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-girls-with-stars-in-her-hair

then the girl sat waiting on the left hand page without stars or words until the perfect quote found me (forgot to get a photo of her unadorned)…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-simplicity-heart

I knew I wanted to use my word for the year on the right hand page along with the Paper Parachute stars that I stamped on tissue paper…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-star-punch

I spent a good bit of time gluing the tiny stars down with Matte Medium which was fiddly but fun…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-left-hand-page

I am joining Erika’s “Tell me a Story” challenge again over at Art Journal Journey and the “Love” theme at Moo-Mania & More…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-pulled-by-the-stars

“I’m restless …Things are calling me away … My hair is being pulled by the stars again” -Anais Nin

21 responses to “pulled by the stars…

  1. Hello Patty
    I love your work – fantastic.
    Thanks for the mail 😉
    Greetings and a nice week for you.
    Sadie

    Like

  2. Glad you are enjoying your course, and your journal spread is wonderful, and very Patty-like, as always. Love those pretty little stars. Have a fun day, take care, hugs, Valerie
    And thanks for joining us…..etc!

    Like

  3. What a gorgeous page Patty. The background colours and textures are exquisite.. and what patience you have sticking on those tiny stars…. ahhh but it was well worth it 🙂 Looks a wonderful course too.
    Gill xx

    Like

  4. I love seeing your creations – your spread is beautiful and very feminine as are you!
    Sandy xx

    Like

  5. This is a wonderful spread, Patty. I am not fond of pink, but it seems I use it a LOT in my art. Your background is fantastic, and it shows what you can do with a few scraps of colored paper, too.

    I can’t believe how long it must have taken you to get those stars in place. And so perfectly positioned, too. They are beautiful and I simply adore the entire piece. Looks like you will have fun in this online class.

    Like

  6. Wow I love what you have created, your version is amazing ! Hugs xxx

    Like

  7. Lovely! Using all those stars was so cool even if it was fiddly to deal with…really cool effect. Love that you included your WOTY as well. 🙂

    Like

  8. Oh my gosh! This is so amazing dear Patty!
    I love that Ananis Nin quote and how you interpreted it is just WONDERFUL!
    I am totally in love with your spread – yes!
    Oh.. great that you join this event – it seems really good always –
    Have fun and enjoy and I am looking forward to the life book 2017 inpired Patty art!
    Thank you very much for linking to Art Journal Journey and Moo Mania & More again dear Patty!
    Always so fab to see your name on the link-ups!
    oxo Susi

    Like

  9. Well, it certainly is surprising to see pink pages from you….but they are as lovely as your blue ones. Love the texture and the heart trailing stars.

    Like

  10. Love the idea of my hair being pulled by the stars!

    Like

  11. I’ve wondered about life book and thought about joining it, but I a very good at starting online classes and never finishing them. But your page has inspired me. The quote made me smile and I think it was really clever to use those little stars everywhere. They made the page. I really also like how you used them on the tail of the heart. Thanks for joining at AJJ. I love your support this month. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  12. This is a gorgeous spread and a wonderful quote to add. The stars must have taken ages to place, but they are perfect with the lovely sweet girl. I think you seem to be really enjoying this course.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  13. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your different art (I think this is a bit different, but still you). Love that your attached all the tiny stars, how effective that is.
    Terrific words on the left and a marvellous word for year on the right.

    Like

  14. what a stunning journal spread!! You have surprised me with your background color choice for sure:):) Darling vintage image, and I LOVE that star punch-I’ve never seen anything like it. I’ve been hearing so many good things already about the new LifeBook class and thought of you when I saw that Misty was in the artist lineup. Looking forward to seeing all the lovely things you create!

    Like

  15. love your journal spread. I’ll always love a page with stars 🙂 Love the texture too. I took Life Book for a couple of years, but just couldn’t keep up. Much as I loved the line up this year, I had to talk myself out of it – for now!! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  16. Hello my dear, I`m behind, I see…..
    Those pages are so very lovely, Patty, the papers you used speaks to my heart , and the layers, of paint, distress and stenciling makes it looks so beautiful. I love your background colors, -and I, too could use to get more “safe” in using stronger and other colors..I wonder if it will happen, lol.
    Hugs from Dorthe

    Like

  17. Just gorgeous, liebe Patty, I really love your artwork.

    Thank you for joining again at MOO MANIA & MORE

    Like

  18. Glad you are enjoying your course, it looks like it’s inspiring you to try new things and get wonderfully creative! You have interpreted the sentiment so beautifully. I bet the stars took ages to stick down in those perfect lines and spacing – well worth the time and effort though, they look stunning! Wishing you a happy and enjoyable week! J 🙂

    Like

  19. I LOVE that quote. It really resonates with me — I’m feeling very “pulled by the stars” these days! And your word is quite perfect. I’d love to be able to actualize simplicity — I think it will take a lifetime!

    Like

  20. Red is not your favourite color, but you softened it whith white and made a very nice artwork. But a little bit blue must be and so you put these nice little stars around the head,very lovely. I also like the stenciltexture. Again a very special Patty Artwork which I like much.
    Big Hugs
    Sabine

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

