the past is a foreign country…

inspiration for these pages came from some dotted green paper that I ended up not using and a couple of images torn from an old book…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-foreign-land-beginning-pages

J.P. Hartley’s quote: “The past is a foreign country, they do things differently there” really speaks to me…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-foreign-country-left-pagewe’ve had so many cloudy days this month I kept waiting for a good time to take some photographs…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-ranunculus

it was nice to see a bit of blue sky again…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-kitchen-sunroom-view

I am joining Erika’s “tell me a story” theme over at Art Journal Journey…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-foreign-country-pages

thank you for visiting …magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-human-rights-first

I am sending Peace ♥ Love and Light your way…

31 responses to “the past is a foreign country…

  1. Peace and light are things we all need right now. Love your beautiful pages and the lovely sentiment. The photos are wonderful, nice to see some colour and some sunshine. Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  2. I indeed love your post, Patty… We all need peace and sunshine. oxo

    Like

  3. Great quote Patty! I love seeing snippets of your lovely home. You always keep it filled with flowers, despite the weather.

    Like

  4. Human Rights First!! Dang right! Thank you for this. Artists have always had an obligation to speak their truth – now more than ever in recent history human rights are in jeopardy. ♥

    Like

  5. That’s a great sentiment. I spend a lot of time thinking about how it was, how I was and such. But, in a good way. Not in a bad focus. Yes, things are done differently there.

    Like

  6. It always feels so peaceful here, filled with beauty and poetry, your journal page is special and delicately made.
    Those flowers are a treat, so great to catch up with all you share here!

    Like

  7. such a lovely quote and journal spread Patty. Yes, it has been so dark and grey-just awful for photographing . But you have found a way to brighten things up with the vibrant and pretty flowers and touches of red (which you know I love:) And thank you for giving me a wonderful idea for making a trio of tiny vases for flower sprigs!

    Like

  8. Its a lovely journal spread Patty and the quotes you used today, do for sure make me think. I felt a sense of calm looking at your beautiful photos, you have shared some brightness on the dark gloomy days we seem to be having here in the UK this winter.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  9. Lovely pages and words, and colorful flowers to grace your new kitchen. xox

    Like

  10. Wish I could send you some Florida sunshine! We always have plenty. One of the many reasons I love living here. Your message of human rights first is one that we all need to hear and keep at the forefront of our thoughts and actions.

    Like

  11. Always love your work Patty!!! Beautiful pages. Gorgeous flowers too 🙂 ~Sophia

    Like

  12. Peace , LOVE and LIGHT are the perfect sentiments for the times. Beautiful art as always. ♥

    Like

  13. Amy Schleh Dayton

    Lovely Patty. Wishing for some sun here as well! xoxoxo

    Like

  14. This quote spoke to me, too. I am of the same mind as you with peace, love, light, and human rights FIRST. I’ve got to stop watching the evening news, because it is so depressing with what is going on in DC. Your lovely spread is perfect for these cloudy times and touched me deeply.

    I love the hearts at the end, too. They are beautiful and full of hope! I think HOPE should have been my word for the year, because I’m starting to lose it. That’s why this entire post is so uplifting. Thanks.

    Like

  15. I know what you meant about cloudy days – it’s been dull and miserable here for weeks and we’re beginning to think the sun has forgotten about us. No end in sight either. Good thing there’s pretty things like your creation and your flowers to boost our mood!

    Like

  16. Your pages are just wonderful – I love how you interpreted this fabulous quote on a spread – looks AMAZING!!! And your decoration is always so, so beautiful! A wonderful view from your new kitchen to the renovated porch ! Great!
    Wishing you sunny days liebe Patty! We had lovely sun after a long time yesterday, even though it is still so cold and much snow, .but it’s o.k. in January.
    Thank you very much for joining Erika’s theme again!
    You always make the most beautiful entries!
    ♥♥♥
    Happy belated T-Day as well dear Patty and a lovely weekend ahead for you and Mr. Magpie!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  17. Hello Patty
    wonderful page, green is my favorite color – It`s HOPE:
    Nice day for you.
    Greetings from Austria
    Sadie

    Like

  18. Loving how you made your page feel so map like Patty. Those paper dots-very cool! And your flowers really perked me up. We’ve been so gray and cloudy too…what a winter. Not sure what is worst-all these grey days ad semi warmish winter weather or when it clears out between big storms. Happy FRiday-and thanks for joining in at AJJ. I love seeing your pages. 🙂 Hugs-Erika

    Like

  19. Such beautiful pages, full of hope and simplicity :-). I can see how the green dotted paper inspired your page and love your interpretation of the quote, it has such a lovely serenity and balance about it. The colours are very peaceful and I love the papers and images you have used, it looks so thoughtfully created :-). The flowers are very pretty and made me smile, thank you. Thanks for sending me peace, love and light too and I wish the same for you dear Patty :-). Happy Friday! J 🙂

    Like

  20. I do love your messages Patty! Your journal spread speaks to me.
    Those Ranaculous are beautiful and of my favorite flowers!
    I have to tell you that tile is just gorgeous- love it!
    hugs,love and peace to you,Jackie

    Like

  21. It is wonderful, how the dotted green paper inspired you for this page!
    The photos of the beautiful flowers bring warm red color into our grey winter days!
    Best wishes, Rike

    Liked by 1 person

  22. You are so creative Patty – Wonderful spread – I love the composition.
    What is that little blue box with France on it? I really like looking at your goodies too – it tells me who you are!
    sandy xx

    Like

  23. Thank you dear friend, -here too we need a bit of light, also so grey a sky, and the news coming from your end of the world, does not seem very uplifting, nor filled with love, or peace…. only the opposite , and it only just started !!! Your wonderful spread, of the color of hope: green,- says it so well. The past becomes so quickly and easily, a foreign country !! Thank you for the good wishes, Patty, and for the hearts, we can`t find enough of them, -both the ones felt from inside, and the ones to hold. Hugs to you. xoxo

    Like

  24. Thanks for the good wishes, Patty. I think there is lots of Peace, Love and Light, it’s such a pity that the other side get so much publicity.
    I love the greens and greys and the whole piece has quite a mysterious atmosphere to it.

    Like

  25. As always, I love your page and all it stands for. Sending for peace and light in the world is so important now during very challenging times. And that red in your kitchen just made my heart sing on this gray, gloomy morning!

    Like

  26. beautiful photos and I love your new kitchen, sending peace and love right back to you, dearheart! xox

    Like

  27. Thank you very much Sandy. That “French” box jumped in my shopping cart at Christmastime when we visited a gourmet food shop. It has a candle in a glass holder tucked inside.

    oxo ~*~ Patty Magpie’s Nest Blog *“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” -Mary Oliver*

    Like

  28. Green is the color of hope. We all mustn’t give up the hope of getting Love and Light. Wonderfull pages with all the nice old book images. Your kitchen is a dream and the decoration so nice. I love the flowers we call “Ranunkeln”, we have them in different colors and I like them much.
    The photo with the hearts look so lovely and the words on it are very important.
    Big Hugs
    Sabine

    Like

  29. The soft and gentle colours go well with the beautiful words and pages Patti.
    We certainly need some Peace, Love and Light. I’ve been trying to avoid news programmes as everything is so awful – they never seem to show good things.
    Your kitchen looks a lovely warm and happy place – love the colours of your pretty flowers.
    Have a good week… Gill x

    Like

  30. Beautiful! And I love the glimpses of your new kitchen!!!

    Like

  31. What a fabulous post Patty! Peace, Love and Light sounds just right! We watch the news and then feel so down! Pleased you had some sun, so did we yesterday! I love your journal page! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo

