a crow perched on a withered tree

This is my first time playing in the Wednesday/Thursday challenge,  Art on the Darkside.  The theme is BIRDS.   My crow (I gave him a human eye) sits by the light of the moon and measures approximately 4 x  4.75 inches.

I am also entering this in the ABAA Something to Crow About challenge.

I painted lots of layers on watercolor paper, added some Distress Inks and finished with watercolor crayons.  The moon and crow are paper images.

crow

One of the things I enjoy about challenges is  the chance to step out of my box a little.  I believe all of us have a dark side, but have become accustomed to keeping it under wraps.   It’s fair to say that society  expects us to act bright and sunny most of the time…..my two cents.

18 responses to “a crow perched on a withered tree

  1. WOw – this is brilliant! It certainly lives up to its title.

    Like

  2. Fantastic image, Patty! I love the background, and the glow around the moon is great..as is the bird. I love it!

    Like

  3. mmmm this is very nice-i think the crow/raven and the full moon go perfectly together
    wonderful job
    enjoy your day patty
    tabby

    Like

  4. ”we all have a dark side”
    thats exactly what i was thinking when i saw this art (before i read your post)

    Like

  5. This is just wonderful…..I especially like his eye.

    Like

  6. wow Patty what a gorgeous work !!!

    Like

  7. Oh well done Patty – quite a dark and brooding piece of work. The human eye gives your crow quite a spooky look. Thanks for taking part in our challenge again.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

    Like

  8. Wow Patty!
    It seems as if a photo would!
    (wrong english, sorry =))
    Tine

    Like

  9. Yes, this must be your dark side, but it is beautiful dark, not scary dark!! LOL Altho I would NOT want to see a crow looking at me with that eye!!That’s scary!!!

    Like

  10. Now thats one gorgeous crow… he looks like a thinker to me.
    Great piece Patty…. glad you joined in with us.
    Linda xx

    Like

  11. Wow this looks fantastic.
    So dark and brilliant.

    Like

  12. love your dark side Patty!! jenxo

    Like

  13. Love your dark side. This is wonderful.

    Like

  14. Patty you star !!!! How Fantastic this one is i adore everything about this one is so eerie and yet very beautiful too
    Thanks for joining in with this challenge
    Hugs June x

    Like

  15. Reminds me of Poe…quoth the raven.
    exceptional piece!

    Like

  16. Great piece. The colors are so deep and rich!

    Like

  17. it turned out wonderful, patty! i love dark and ravens…
    and i love that we can let out our darkness in art (BECAUSE, as you said, we can´t do it in normal life). it has something therapeuthic, i think – maybe it´s the best psychotherapy;)

    Like

  18. nice.. very nice indeed

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo