Cairns

On a recent vacation to the west coast, we saw several interesting rock formations or cairns as they are also called.

We took a ferry from San Francisco to Sausalito, a pretty town on the water just across the Golden Gate Bridge.  This artist was working feverishly balancing rocks on the rocky shore.  Truly amazing to watch…..how did he do it!!!  He was working on several…

…….one masterpiece completed……..

Click for larger view.

From San Francisco we flew to Vancouver, British Columbia.  Such a gorgeous place….water, mountains and so much more!  Along English Bay we spotted this landmark, called an Inukshuk.  This particular Inukshuk (Inuit for “likeness of a person”) represents friendship and will be welcoming the world to the 2010 Winter Olympics being held in Vancouver.

someone’s mini version

and a little further down the sea wall, looking out onto English Bay, there was another cairn…..

It was all I could do to stop myself from loading our suitcase with rocks……I Love rocks and stones!

“A word and a stone let go cannot be recalled” ~Spanish Proverb



6 responses to “Cairns

  1. Will have to try that with some of the rocks left over from larry building my garden rock wall!!! I could just see a cairn at the driveway entrance!!

    Like

  2. I love to make little cairns in my garden with the rocks I bring home from Lake Superior!

    Like

  3. Just popped over to see what you’ve been up to lately Patty. The cairns are wonderful, don’t know how that artist managed to balance all the different rocks! I see you’ve been busy with lots of Halloween creations – not my thing, but your artwork is lovely anyway!
    Happy crafting,
    Alison xx

    Like

  4. hi patty
    wonderful cairns!!
    hey stop by my blog-i am giving away some candy 🙂
    enjoy your day
    tabby

    Like

  5. Oh it’s lovely to share where your trip took you, it looks fabulous and the photos make me feel I could almost have been there with you. TFS 😀
    hugs
    Chris xx

    Like

  6. Those are wonderful cairns, actually fantastic! I have one that keeps reminding me to make one that will be special. Lots of rocks at Smith Mountain Lake so I’ll have to make one with some of those.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo