Winter Dreams…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams 1 time for something different…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams 2

inspired by Diana Trout’s video here

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams 3

I could not resist the chance to play and go a little wild…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams 5

letting go and making marks without censoring…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Sunday rainbow

as I was working away in my upstairs art room I spied a beautiful rainbow just outside the window…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams right

back to my art journal… I doodled the words “Winter Dreams”…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams left

and using my Judikins “Klimt Sisters” (2677H) rubber stamp I stamped twice onto plain paper using two different sized round paper punches making circles to add to my pages…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Winter Dreams

lots of layers and doodling went into my crazy dream pages that I am linking to Art Journal Journey’s Winter Wonderland challenge…

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.” -John Steinbeck

23 responses to “Winter Dreams…

  1. Beautiful journal pages, glad you felt inspired to join us at Art Journal Journey again. The rainbow is beautiful! Have a great day, hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. You really captured the disjointedness of dreams. Loved seeing your process pages. What a terrific shot of the rainbow!

    Like

  3. Amazing arty spread and thank you for sharing how it was created

    Thank you for joining in at Art Journal Journey

    Love Chrissie xx

    Like

  4. I love how your page was created, all the movement and inspiration is like being in a dream and wondering what will happen next.
    Yvonne

    Like

  5. fun fun fun! love it – of course it is calling to me to go try it! Your page and finishing touches were perfect and rewarded by a rainbow! Yes!

    Like

  6. Another fabulous spread in blue and white. the word winter is a winner. xox

    Like

  7. This is fabulous Patty! I love the colours you have used -loved seeing how it progressed! Off to check out the link now! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  8. I need to do this exercise. Sometimes I get so hung up, To just go free is glorious.

    Like

  9. Holy cow, Patty. What started out as an abstract, turned into a fantastic winter wonderland. I was amazed at how you pulled it all together.

    I see you ARE playing around with punches. I don’t have many, but the ones I have I use a lot. And your use of these two show how versatile punches can be. Inspiration everywhere I look at your place.

    Like

  10. A fantastic spread Patty! Thank you very much for sharing with us at Art Journal Journey!
    oxo
    Susi

    Like

  11. Well, wahey, Patty, you really went to town here. A great abstract start turned into a very detailed artwork. The circle pictures and the lettering is outstanding and the little circles and dots spice it up too.
    Very inspiring indeed.
    Thanks for the link to the video which I will now investigate.

    Like

  12. There is real beauty in the winter landscape if one takes time to investigate. And yes we need winter to appreciate all the awesome beauty that God made for us. Love your impression of winter dreams…thanks for sharing.

    Like

  13. Love your something different. It is fun to do something different- I think it helps stir up to creative juices! Enjoy your day!

    Like

  14. Your page turned out beautifully – so free. Love the additions of some structure. Very ‘wintery’. hugs, Donna

    Like

  15. What an amazing and breathtaking journey you’ve showcased. Unbelievable. My family also went to Moab quite a few years ago but we didn’t see half of what you saw through your magical photo lenses!
    Just beautiful. Hope you received my email yesterday. Not sure if I have your correct address! xo
    Happy Tea Day! I will have a cup and cyber cheers with you! xo Jilly

    Like

  16. Oh Patty, like a whirlwind of winter storm , and dreamlike happenings,-wonderfully done with a “free” hand just following your feel to paint without any goal. I love the Klimt girls, they are like ice princesses , whirling round in a fatamorgana . So different and amazing.
    Dorthe, xxooxo

    Like

  17. It’s interesting to see where you begin these lovely pages. You have a great view from your workspace!

    Like

  18. Oh what wild and wonderful winter dreams you created,WOW! A new kind of making Art Journal and I like it much. I think I will try this kind of technique next time too. It looks like having much fun.
    Dearest Greetings
    Sabine

    Like

  19. There is a gorgeous sense of letting go exuding from this page and also you captured a very dreamlike scenario.
    Always inspirational!
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  20. Wonderful pages (of course I love them – blue is my favourite colour!) – and I like your quote for today.

    Like

  21. What wonderful pages! very cool!(pun intended) I like that you went for something different and just let yourself go- this side of your art is just as gorgeous as the rest!
    hugs my friend xo

    Like

  22. Pingback: let the Light guide your way… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  23. Hello Patty. I loved the play on these journal pages. The colors are great, too. It is really made of winter dreams.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo