John Mayer Battle Studies Winter Tour

two tickets 

live

in Charlottesville Virginia 16 March 2010


the opening band … Michael Franti and Spearhead had everyone on their feet


Franti interacted with the crowd coming out into the audience … a warm hearted barefoot guy

And when the rain falls down
You know the flower’s gonna bloom
And when the hard times come
You know the teacher’s in the room
And when the sun comes up
You know I’ll be there for you.

–“Have A Little Faith” by Michael Franti

… a short break and it was time for the main attraction

two more hours of  WOW

John Mayer doing what he does best … playing guitar and singing

a fantastic performance

my favorite photo of many we took that evening … he happened to still have his jacket on in this one

still thinking about it all …  trying to imagine going out on stage night after night … one city to the next … putting yourself out there … giving it your all … and trying to have a life too

he talked about hoping that the evening met everyone’s expectations

YES indeed … it was memorable … didn’t want it to end!

Setlist:

Heartbreak Warfare
Good Love is On the Way
Vultures
Why Georgia > Message in a Bottle
Perfectly Lonely
Assassin
Neon
War Of My Life
Ain’t No Sunshine
Half of My Heart
Crossroads
Gravity

Encore:

Who Says
No Such Thing

“I like giving people something they don’t want to miss the next time. It’s a show with little twists and turns and curves. It has me being silly and stupid and compassionate and completely deep.” ~John Mayer

12 responses to “John Mayer Battle Studies Winter Tour

  1. Pingback: C’ville « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  2. GREAT photos!!!!! I love C’ville- might have to make a trip back there!!

    Like

  3. The pictures you took were amazing! Much better than mine!!

    Like

  4. OMG! Your pictures are awesome! I’d hoped you had a good time in my comment on your other post. I think you just answered that question splendidly!!! BTW – Happy Birthday to your Mutti!!!! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  5. AMAZING PHOTOS! Like you were a roady on stage with him! ha!

    Like

  6. OMG!!!!! I am so envious, I would love to see him live, I listen to him on my ipod almost every day, and it was my hubby who introduced him to me.

    Happy Birthday to your Mutti 🙂 Oh, wait, I think I am a day late, but still 🙂

    Like

  7. Oh how cool! You must have had great seats! Thank you for sharing your awesome experience.
    🙂

    Like

  8. Oh, I too Love C’ville and I just Loved all your pictures. And, now I feel as though I were there at the concert with you, great seats I might add! I’ll be returning here tomorrow morning to look and listen one more time, at least!

    Like

  9. Great pics, Patty! What a wonderful little trip you had.

    Like

  10. thanks for sharing your photos of the mosaic sofa, virginia, spring, birds and now am going to listen to John Mayer on Spotify..I love it when people blog about where they live..thankyou

    Like

  11. I’m a big fan of Michael Franti and Spearhead, but have never seen them live.
    I’m so glad you had an excellent evening. Did you have to wear earplugs?

    Like

  12. Pingback: John Mayer back in Virginia * 31 July 2010 * « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo