rabbit tea …

Mutti's Rabbits

 my Mutti was a very talented artist and seamstress and she was the master of making miniature dolls, bears, rabbits, fairies and more…

Mutti's Rabbits (3)

she was inspired years ago to make some 2.5 inch (6.35 cm) tall Peter Rabbits with bendable arms and legs after seeing a life size Peter at a Smithsonian Museum Beatrix Potter Exhibit…

Mutti's Rabbits (4)The Tales of Peter Rabbit was a favorite bedtime story for our eldest son when he was young, he would always get a bit teary eyed when it came to this part…

“An old mouse was running in and out over the stone doorstep, carrying peas and beans to her family in the wood. Peter asked her the way to the gate, but she had such a large pea in her mouth that she could not answer. She only shook her head at him. Peter began to cry.”

Egg tuxpi

I have been playing with natural dyes and can’t wait to share my fun with you very soon…

what a difference a day makes…

yesterday we woke up to almost five inches of heavy wet snow lining every tree branch and today there are hardly any traces of snow to be seen…

Mutti's Rabbits (2)

 “Once upon a time there were four little Rabbits, and their names were — Flopsy, Mopsy, Cotton-tail, and Peter. They lived with their Mother in a sand-bank, underneath the root of a very big tree. ” ~The Tale of Peter Rabbit

30 responses to “rabbit tea …

  1. Another wonderful post Patsy. Such lovely memories and lovely display Dxx

    Like

  2. For once I’m not running late, which is a tale worthy of a hare!

    I love the beauty of this post, from the darling rabbits made by your mother, to the teacup they are held in.
    Like you, we also got over 5 inches of snow, ours on Sunday. But unlike you, it is still frigid here, with snow still covering the ground.

    I am always up for some natural dyeing, so look forward to whatever you are working on.

    Have a super, super Tea today.

    Like

  3. So , your creative side comes from your mom. She was very talented, I love her miniatures and just love Peter rabbit. Have you seen the movie Ms Potter? Have a lovely day, enjoy your tea 🙂

    Like

  4. This post really moves me and I’m so happy you have those darling little bunnies and fairies to keep the loving memories of your Mutti. I also love your beautiful displays here. Love, Marilyn xxoo

    Like

  5. Dear Patty…I have some of your Mom’s beautiful little creations & enjoy them each spring…some were my Mom’s & some are ones I purchased from your Mom. Brings back memories of both of them & you.
    Love your beautiful post….thanks!

    Like

  6. what treasures to have from your dear mutti! and I too love Peter Rabbit. This time of year is always a good time to revisit those stories.
    Come on Spring, I am rolling the dice and betting big that it arrives in full regalia soon!!
    Happy T day!
    ~Dawn

    Like

  7. Beautiful post, Patty, on so many different levels. Those precious memories and mementos of both your Mutti and raising your own children are so special. Your creative eye in these displays are just the best. Oh, that adorable teacup with the robin…. xo

    Like

  8. oh so very sweet and a welcome harbinger of spring…your mutti was a very special lady…xo

    Like

  9. Seeing this bunny in that cute chair reminds me that I have a cute chair like that in the basement that really should make an appearance this Easter — so thanks for that. I suspect it couldn’t possibly look as cute, though! This is adorable! Are these your sweet Mutti’s dolls in the cups? They are exquisite — she was so talented. I can see that apple didn’t fall far from the tree!

    Like

  10. Your beloved Mutti’s rabbits are such adorable treasures! Can’t wait to see what you are doing with the natural dyes…. Have a wonderful day! xoxo

    Like

  11. darling tea post and the buns are so adorable… and did you play those lucky numbers? xoxo

    Like

  12. I love your little scenes Patty! Thank you for sharing your precious memories with us.
    Looking forward to seeing your latest creations.
    Alison oxo

    Like

  13. a wonderful scene full with heartwarming memories, thank you for sharing

    Like

  14. Our favorite childhood stories! Your vignettes are precious and harbingers of Spring, not matter what lies outside! xoxo Easter Blessings to you and your family, dear Patty.

    Like

  15. I love your post Patty.. I adore Beatrix Potter.. I recently became acquainted with her books as I was 18 and started my qualification as a bookseller in a big bookstore in the heart of vienna. A bought the complete edition for me..lol… my daughter ( she is now 12 didn´t want to hear about Peter …she wanted to hear modern themes to read to here in her early days..lol!
    Your mummy was very talented Patty.. my both grandmother were als seamstresses..I think my creativity came from this two wonderful women.
    May mother also can do all sorts of crafts.. wonderful knitting and so on…

    I wish a very happy easter to you and Mr. Magpie! And I really look forward to see your natural dyed items!!!

    xxx
    Susi…
    so much snow and so cold here again.. bäääh!

    Like

  16. Okay, I am on my way now to read Peter Rabbit again….you are so inspiring with your beautiful tales and posts. Your mutti’s rabbits are amazing, you are so fortunate and blessed.

    Like

  17. A wonderful post, thanks for sharing the photos.

    Like

  18. Beautiful photos Patty!!! I love all the rabbits especially the mini Peter Rabbit. He’s adorable. Your mutti was so very talented. Thank you for sharing with us! ~Sophia

    Like

  19. Such a lovely little Peter Rabbit! I love what you’ve been doing with the natural dyes and eggs.

    Like

  20. I just loved Flopsy, Mopsy, Cottontail, and Peter when I was young…still do actually. Thanks for reminding me Patty.

    Like

  21. this is so sweet. Love the flowers in the bucket too, so spingy (even with snow as a backdrop)

    Like

  22. springy not spingy 🙂

    Like

  23. Dear Patty, your mother have made you the most beautiful little Peter`s -I love them, what a wonderful work,they all looks different and so cute.
    I too love Peter Rabbit, and Beatrix Potter-and her tales, with the sweet drawings.
    Here we still have snow, all over, not mucg melting away yet…..but hopefully soon.
    A warming hug from me to you.
    Dorthe

    Like

  24. look at that snow outside the window still… if it helps it is still like the middle of summer here and we are all waiting impatiently for a break from the humidity and mind numbing heat … love the photos… you have such a great eye for composition and make the most interesting collections… love it…xx

    Like

  25. This post is tugging at my heartstrings as it is brimming with sweetness.
    I am quite in awe of those adorable little creatures created by your dear Mutti, the detail on them. As a child I was always carrying a soft toy favouring them over dolls.
    A dear, sweet post.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  26. Sweet little rabbits. Sorry I missed tea with you today…

    Like

  27. What a woman she was, I see where you get your talent from, I love her little miniatures… I want to read that book, I never have, but will get it at the library and give it a good read, thanks for all the warm and fuzzy feeling you make me feel. Hope you and Mr Magpie have a wonderful loving weekend, big hug my Friend..

    Like

  28. You know I adore those little miniatures and all the other dolls your sweet Mutti made!!! Precious!!! Sweet post…… and I still can’t believe you had snow again!

    Like

  29. Patty this is such a heart warming post. Your mother’s creative abilities have certainly overflowed in you sweet woman! Her rabbits with bendable arms and floppy ears are the very best I’ve seen and I just adore them. I’m so very fond of the Tales of Petter Rabit and still have at least one of Beatrix Potter’s original books in our library.
    A very special post!
    Happy Happy Easter hugs to you,
    Suzy xox

    Like

  30. your mutti was an extraordinary talented woman! i love all your photos full of memories… what a wonderful post!
    i´m sitting here with my morning coffee, reading the newspaper and learning, that in this unusual long, cold and snowy winter many of the young hares in the field will die… how sad!
    and talking of beatrix potter… just look at my last post *smiles*…
    have a wonderful easter time, with or without snow!! (i wished for better weather, as i will spend next week in amsterdam and staying inside in my vacations is not my dream. but then… we can´t change it…)

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo