Tea and REnewal

Ostrich … Emu … Duck Eggs … OH My

this display at our Whole Foods market stopped me in my tracks

eggs have long been a symbol of rebirth … renewal … the cycle of life … just right for the new spring season bursting all around us here in Virginia

this was my first time seeing an Emu egg … isn’t it gorgeous … looks like fine ceramic

with no Easter Bunny duties to perform on Easter morning … Mr Magpie hung the Tibetan Prayer flags we picked up last month


Prayer Flags traditionally come in sets of five representing the elements …blue for space (sky), white air (clouds), red fire, green water and gold symbolizing earth … each has woodblock images and symbols on them

“… prayer flags  used to promote peace, compassion, strength, and wisdom. The flags do not carry prayers to ‘gods,’ a common misconception; rather, the Tibetans believe the prayers and mantras will be blown by the wind to spread the good will and compassion into all pervading space. Therefore, prayer flags are thought to bring benefit to all.” ~Wikipedia

sitting out on our freshly washed back porch watching the prayer flags flutter in the breeze I am enjoying … new to me Kombucha Tea (pronounced kom-BOO-cha)… a handmade Chinese tea that is delicately cultured for 30 days … so much to tell about its healing and health properties … people have been drinking it for hundreds of years … it has a bit of zing since it is fermented and comes in lots of flavors

I went with the “Original” flavor for my first taste test … very refreshing and with words on the label like rejuvenate … restore … revitalize … recharge … rebuild … regenerate … replenish … regain … rebalance …. renew … Golly Jeepers … re re re 🙂

those little blue eggs are chocolate … we ate the pink and yellow ones … the blue ones are so pretty and look like they could be ‘real’ birdie eggs


our Rabbit’s Foot Fern has been in its tea cup holder (jumbo ceramic tea cup that is) for many years and seems amazingly happy there

thank you for stopping by for tea … it got a bit long today … to visit all of the T Tuesday participants just click here for Kimmie’s Art in Red Wagons


25 responses to “Tea and REnewal

  1. Marilyn Rock

    Oh the eggs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Gorgeous and the Emu one is amazing; so textural! Thank you for the history of the Tibetan Prayer Flags and their symbolism. I really enjoyed reading about them. Wonderful post! xxoo

    Like

  2. Super post Patty, I love the first two egg pictures so much, especially the close-up, what an amazing colour and texture! Mxx

    Like

  3. ooh that Emu egg ! my favourite shade of blue/ green- beautiful.
    The prayer flags are lovely too. I hav never seen a fern like that !

    Like

  4. What a wonderful post. That Emu egg is beyond beautiful. The prayer flags look so lovely and I know you’ll have fun watching them weather and finally begin to disintegrate over time.

    I’ve had some of that Kombucha fermented tea. At first I resisted, but it is actually (and surprisingly) quite good. And since I’m not a drinker, I thought (although it could have been in my head) I got a slight “buzz” from the tea.

    Happy T on Tuesday, dear friend. What a wonderful and informative post.

    Like

  5. I do believe I would NEVER eat that Emu egg and just hold on to it forEVER. Wow… I don’t think I have ever seen one. Don’t got that at Shoppers…. hmmmm. When I saw the prayer flags it reminded me of shows I have seen about Mt. Everest. At the summit you see all the prayer flags blowing in the wind. Very moving. Happy Tea Tuesday to you. You tea sounds very intersesting just not ready to go and buy a bottle just yet. Did you get it at Whole Foods? Hugs on this beautiful Tuesday!

    Like

  6. wow, your wf is waaaaay cooler than mine!! would love to see a display like this! and your rabbits foot is wonderful …did I tell you that mrs kravitz is a fern collector? xoxox

    Like

  7. So, my dear, you have warm enough weather to sit ouside??? You lucky lady you! Today, the sun is shining overhere but I had too much other things to do. Instead of sitting in my yard, I hang the laundry there to dry. First time this year… don’t you just love the smell of fresh-dried-in-the-wind sheets? Have a happy week my friend! Enjoy the fluttering flags!

    Like

  8. Wow what a great display! Love it! I would definitely be buying some of those.

    Like

  9. Lovely post as always! Wow I am popping over to the market to look at the display, pretty cool, and I agree with Marilyn I wouldn’t eat the eggs either! Happy REnewal T to you my friend! hugs Christen

    Like

  10. Those prayer flags are gorgeous, especially floating in the wind. And I LOVE the emu egg! That’s a serious egg display — someday we’ll have a Whole Foods, Trader Joe and Ikea closer than an hour away!

    Like

  11. LOVE all those eggs, what great colors in nature everywhere you look, amazing. Also love that Granddaddy Rabbit’s Foot Fern.

    Like

  12. I’ve never seen an emu egg, and it’s gorgeous! Your store has a very creative and talented marketing team. So enticing! You’ve reminded me to look for some new prayer flags this year. They always make my heart flutter when I see them swaying in a breeze. Ohhh . . . . your rabbits foot fern is lovely in the teacup! My grandmother gave me one that I had for years. Sadly, it’s gone now, but your post helped me to revisit an old memory. Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  13. did you buy one of the eggs? my Mom used to blow out the inside of eggs and decorate the outsides with ribbon and sequins …. one of those emu eggs would be amazing!

    Your flags are so pretty – I can almost feel the spring air blowing through them …..

    Happy T today Patty …. re re re 🙂

    Like

  14. wow! those eggs would have stopped me in my tracks too! xo

    Like

  15. Patty thank you for reading my lengthy post – I hate ” wordy ” posts too – this was the most wordy I’ve ever done !

    Like

  16. Love the emu eggs….reminds me of our time in Augstralia. The Kombucka tea sounds interesting….are you renewed???

    Like

  17. Oh my… the Emu egg is so beautiful… I’ve never seen one before… The Tibetan Prayer Flags or so pretty and I never knew what their exact purpose was… Now I do! Don’t you just love Rabbit Foot Fern’s fuzzy feet??

    Like

  18. wow, look at those gorgeous eggs! The color and texture of them are just amazing. Love the flag history- all new to me. And what gorgous patterns and vibrant colors to welcome the spring!

    Like

  19. i am so glad you told us those little blue eggs were chocolate, because i was thinking maybe your were having tea and hummingbird omlettes for a minute there…
    the emu egg is amazing – what an incredible colour! another thing i would never have known about! thanks!

    Like

  20. Love your pictures, tnkx for sharing;o)

    Like

  21. What a lovely tree and I am seeing more of these doodles very nice and origional (think that’s why I like them so much)

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  22. I did enjoy your Easter Morning even if it is Thursday today lol I think the flags are wonderful and your lovely Table decor

    Love Dawn xx

    Like

  23. I never knew emu eggs were that green/ blue color…they are so beautiful….I love prayer flags too, even though I am not a buddhist….there is something so beautiful about the prayers being sent that way…the symbolism of it……

    Like

  24. Pingback: seeds and tea… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  25. Pingback: * JoY * | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo