paper gift bags

all thanks to Terri at Pringle Hill Studio for sharing Robin-Marie Smith’s video on how to transform a humble paper bag into something so much more…I got busy and made a slew of them…using mostly lunch bag size (5 1/8 x 3 1/8 x 10 5/8 in…13 x 7.9 x 27 cm)…

a very nice way to use up scraps of fabric…paper and lace…bits of this and that…

there is an opening at the top where you could slip in a little gift or card or

add ribbon to make a hanging pouch even…there is something so relaxing about sewing willy nilly with no worries about straight lines or if it matches…feels good to just play

34 responses to “paper gift bags

  1. they are gorgeous! every single one!

    Like

  2. Love them! They are perfect little wonders!!!

    Like

  3. oo those are super cute!! and i know what you mean….i love to play with my sewing machine….it’s very relaxing and zen-ish

    Like

  4. WOW Patty! These are fantastic! xxoo

    Like

  5. So you played a little.. and wow, what a gorgeous bags came from that! LOVE IT Patty!

    Like

  6. Heavenly bags Patti! I can’t believe how much you get done in such a short time ~ to make a slew of them. How I wish I could get my art act together and create a slew of somethings!!! Wishing you many blessings and as always thanks for the inspiration my dear! XO

    Like

  7. ooh Patty.. these are soooo cute.. love them.. soooo missing paper here and playing.. thanks for showing them..
    Kath
    xoxo

    Like

  8. I love when you get inspired!!!!

    Like

  9. I saw that video tutorial a couple days ago (I’m subscribed to Robin-Marie’s blog) and if I had an ounce of knowledge about using a sewing machine, I’d totally use this as to wrap my christmas gifts.

    yours are splendid! : )

    Like

  10. I love these! I soooo need to get another sewing machine and actually learn how to use it!!!!

    Like

  11. Ooh Patty
    A slew – how gorgeous!!
    That must mean there’s a little bit of the Irish in you, begorrah!
    All very beautiful and I’ve always loved brown paper bags, so dressing them up will be fun – I think I’ll do red, white & silver for a Christmas theme with hanging ribbons for the tree!!
    Show ya when they’re done!!
    Thank you for an inspirational start to my week.
    Shane x

    Like

  12. fantastic… this is awesome mailart!

    Like

  13. “brown paper packages tied up with strings….”

    i love the look of those patty. it’s a great way to wrap up those homemade cards which don’t have the matching envelope. thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  14. These look fabulous!!!! Who would ever think that a brown paper bag could look so good:)

    Like

  15. Patty,
    I just love these. I need to finish all my Silver Bella things and then get busy and make some of these. They look like the short term, instant gratification project I could use right now.
    Thank so SO much for your support and your lovely note on Jud’s site. Honestly, it means the world!
    Big hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  16. They look awesome!!!

    Like

  17. This is very Nice!!!
    Love it!

    Like

  18. The result is awesome! Beautiful paper bags!
    Hugs

    Like

  19. These are AWESOME, Patty!!! now I’m excited!!

    Like

  20. Aaaaaggghhh!! Something else I just have to make-how wonderful are these???? Yikes. My to-do list is waaaay too long….
    xoxo
    lynn

    Like

  21. Those are beautiful! I’ve been doing something similar for cards …

    Like

  22. These are so fun and a great way to use up those little bits.

    Like

  23. Oh these are too fun!!! What a great idea!

    Like

  24. So wonderful, dear Patty.
    Have a great week

    Like

  25. Love, love, love them 🙂 Just got back from seeing the slew that Terri made too, and it is a great idea. I have tons of paper bags I can use, been saving them just for something like this, I got a deal on a whole box once from a shop that went out of business, and I have lot’s of little bits to use up.

    Like

  26. Love the buttons, love the tulle, love everything about these little bags, Patty!!! They’re all so awesome and are filled with your own style!!! Great minds think alike . . . I posted a couple of my bags too! So glad you liked the video!!! Hugs, Terri xoxox

    Like

  27. Wow Patty your bags are wonderful.
    Very amazing. Love them all.

    Have a lovely new week my dear friend.

    Like

  28. What fun Patty! and what a lovely result! totally fab! Mx

    Like

  29. oh my gosh, Patty … these are so cute! Great idea for the upcoming holiday …

    Like

  30. ive been dying to make these since i saw the video…love love love yours…jenxo

    Like

  31. This is a great idea! Fun and nice!

    Like

  32. These are AWESOME! For a girl who claims not to sew those stitches are looking mighty good! Such a great idea…the concept reminds me a lot of Dispatch from LA’s journal books. I could sit and do pages upon pages…the eclectic look of randomly taking bits of this and bits of that so appeals to me. It just flows…really love your vintage inspired renditions of these, Patty!

    Like

  33. Pingback: WS: Red and White | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  34. Pingback: ‘sew’ much fun… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo