Ana’s “friday archive dive”

Ana of  i made it so has a fun Friday challenge open to all…she calls it friday archive dive…this week’s prompt is NEWit is a fun challenge and opportunity to look back into your blog posts…time moves so quickly…I picked Altered Cutlery as NEW…it was to me about three years ago this time…sixteen blog posts later it has not lost its alure…here is a blogpost from 2008 with some of my early pieces of  altered cutlery…

Altered Spoons

Posted on January 9, 2008 by ~*~Patty| 15 Comments |

Spoons8Jan08 Still playing with cutlery, thank you SO much Charlotte Kemsley; moving from mostly forks to spoons at the moment.

Two soup spoons were flattened by my husband. The center teaspoon was pounded just a bit to give a flatter spot for the image of the three little boys.

Tenderness8Jan08

On the back of the spoon I added the words “the beating of his heart”. The charms were removed from a bracelet from the early 1900′s. The names of Edwin 3-30-08, Carl 10-18-12, and Meacham 9-1-15 are engraved on the bottoms of the shoes. I had the perfect image of three boys to add to the spoon along with the blue crystal heart.

The image of the Indian girl holding her papoose is just so precious, she’s a real beauty.

Deb of Lavender Rose Ramblings (don’t you love that name, two of my favorite flowers!) shared a fabulous resource with me. The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 amazing images and more.

If you’ve not checked it out before, it is well worth the visit.

“A mother’s arms are made of tenderness and children sleep soundly in them” ~Victor Hugo

28 responses to “Ana’s “friday archive dive”

  1. love these spoonsxx happy new year!xlynda

    Like

  2. so cool patty! i have never seen anything like it. and it’s so familiar at the same time because it is just so you.

    thanks for sharing, i admit… i have a blast with these dives. so much fun to read everyone’s take on the topic.

    Like

  3. I love these, Patty! Beautiful!!!
    Have a nice week-end!

    Like

  4. Oh Patty, I love your altered spoons, they are so precious! There are still some spoons waiting for me …. have a great weekend, Petra. x

    Like

  5. This is wonderful what you created using spoons. I am back…Heidi and I went for a few ski runs before she went running off back into the Alps.
    yodahlayheewhoooooo

    Like

  6. also, Loving the purple. and visitors who sign off with a yodel!

    Like

  7. These are beautiful Patty, I’ve never seen anything like them before!!

    Ali xoxo

    Like

  8. I just adore those little shoes! Adorable! You put so much effort and originality into your art. Have a blessed weekend Patty!

    Like

  9. just lovely Patty, the little shoes are too cute….

    Like

  10. It’s always a pleasure seeing what you are up to. These altered spoons are stunning! Happy 2011!

    Like

  11. I adore that picture with the baby and the Indian lady….the spoons are beautifully done with the right theme and details….Thanks for sharing the link to the NYPL…I can’t wait to look through the entire library….happy weekend to you dear friend!!

    Like

  12. Fantastic work on these my friend, I am on catch up again lol. Hoping to do more blogging this year. Happy New Year my friend
    hugs June xxxxx

    Like

  13. Oh, Patty,
    Charming spoons! I love the first image. I wonder if that came from the New York Public Library. Sounds like a wonderful resource! Someday I want to alter spoons but for now, I will just have to enjoy yours!
    Hugs to you, my friend,
    Suz

    Like

  14. These are wonderful Patty — simply beautiful. A question — what do you use to adhere the image? And do you put a sealer over it? I would like to try my hand at making one of these for each of my cousins, using photos of our grandmother. I don’t know I’d be good at the beading, but if I could get started with the image, who knows what creative munchkin might pop out of my brain! Thanks so much for sharing them — treasures for sure!

    Like

  15. These spoons are just divine…….I particularly love the Indian themed one. You’re right, she’s beautiful! And your additions of feathers and beads and leather are the perfect touch.
    I,too, have some flattened spoons in a jar ~ but have I done anything with them? No. I dare say I should put them on my table so they are staring at me to DO something wonderful!
    Thanks for the jolt of inspiration. Sometimes it’s a much needed shove in the right direction (lovingly shoved) to get the juices started!

    Have a great weekend. We’re supposed to be bitter cold by tomorrow night. Perfect weather to stay inside and create!

    Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  16. I’m in such a slump, Patty, trying to make some pages for SOMEONE’s pages in the 6 X 6 RR that I simply cannot get right! And here you are, handing me the keys to the kingdom with your link to the NYPL images. If I’m lucky, you may just have given me the push I need to work on these pages. Now I don’t claim I’ll make fabulous art, since I’m still in said slump, but at least your link may kick start some ideas I hope will develop. Thank you, dear!! And even though it’s Saturday, after I get home from stocking up on essentials before the impending snow, I may just see about joining this challenge. So thanks for that, TOO.

    Like

  17. Thank you all for your lovely comments…altered cutlery is just SO much fun with so many possibilities.
    Jeanie ~ to answer your questions. I use UHU glue stick…the pink/purple is my favorite…if you want the silver not to tarnish you would need to seal it with a spray sealer of some kind
    for my pieces I have not sealed them…you could also use gel medium (another fav glue of mine) to adhere your image and then coat the image with gel medium as well
    hope that answers your questions 🙂
    oxo

    Like

  18. OMG patty your spoons are rock.
    Really special design. Love it.

    Have a lovely sunday.

    Like

  19. your spoons are divine, thanks for digging up that post! Off to check out the ‘friday archive dive’ 🙂

    Like

  20. Love the spoons and thanks for the NYPL images link… I kinda got lost in it!

    Like

  21. I can’t get past those baby show charms- ANTIQUE? They are beyond precious! It’s the engraved birth dates I love so much. That spoon is my fave!

    Like

  22. fun idea to look back at old blog posts, though i prever to move one. and i LOOOVE the one indigo/southwest style. happy sunday!

    Like

  23. Your altered spoons look fantastic.

    Like

  24. I love love love your altered spoons! I really need to try that myself 🙂

    Like

  25. Einfach traumhaft schön, Patty! Gefallen mir alle sehr! Wollte Dir noch ein frohes neues Jahr wünschen! Bin leider etwas spät! Wie immer! ;o)

    Like

  26. Hey Patty! These are fabulous! Congrats on getting published in Sew Somerset!!!

    Like

  27. Thanks. UHU isn’t sold near me anymore. At least I haven’t found it. But I have enough gel medium to take me through 2011 — watch out, spoons! Here I come!

    Like

  28. Pingback: just because… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo