Gothic Arches: Old School

CJSGraduationDayJune07I am stretching the Gothic Arches: Old School theme just a little here. I could not resist, as this picture is the first one that popped into my head…our boy is leaving his old school making ready for the new.

One of the happiest days of our lives, June 2007, was when our ‘baby’ graduated from high school! We are so proud of him!

We are all adjusting quite nicely to our empty nest and our college freshman is enjoying his new life as well. We’re moving forward.

“You cannot help but learn more as you take the world into your hands. Take it up reverently, for it is an old piece of clay, with millions of thumbprints on it.”
~John Updike

P.S. The gold crystal flower centers sparkle so beautifully in person, looking at the arch today, I had to giggle, my ‘headpiece’ looks a little like a rooster teehee!

38 responses to “Gothic Arches: Old School

  1. What a beautiful arch featuring your son, to treasure forever!
    Judy NZ

    Like

  2. very beautiful arch, it’s your son and it’s my husband ! futur and past..

    Like

  3. You can be proud, again an fabulous Arch.
    I love your ideas, compliments.

    Like

  4. gorgeous arch!! great background!

    Like

  5. Fabulous and special arch. Great photo.

    Like

  6. Patty this is just lovely! Such a special picture.

    Like

  7. Beautiful, very lovely Patty !

    Like

  8. Fabulous arch!

    Like

  9. Wow Patty this is brilliant. Amazing arch.

    Like

  10. Love this one, mother and son and how nicely it is all a part of the arch thing you have going there.

    Like

  11. kreativgeschwafel

    an amazing arch!!

    Like

  12. This is fantastic!

    Like

  13. Such a wonderful idea, really a precious arch.

    Like

  14. Very nice arch, love it.
    Special memories too, can’t beat that.

    Like

  15. What a lovely way to honor yourself and your son as you both move into a new phase of your lives.

    Like

  16. Fantastic arch. Congrats to your son!

    Like

  17. Wonderful arch and what a great memory for years to come!

    Like

  18. wow wow
    gorgeous arch !!!

    Like

  19. Wow.. how creative. Love it

    Like

  20. I love how personal your arch is, Patty! This makes is 100 times more special! Beautiful!!

    Like

  21. I too felt your pride!! My second daughter graduated last year and the first about five years ago!! two more to go and then I will have the empty nest!! I am kind of looking forward to it!!

    Like

  22. Patty, that is so powerful! I love it.

    Like

  23. What a wonderful arch…and such a sweet photo!

    Like

  24. Lovely special arch, great photo 🙂

    Like

  25. great photo, wonderful Arch

    Like

  26. Great arch, Patty!!

    Like

  27. Gorgeous arch, great photo.

    Like

  28. Your Blog makes my day!!! I travel weekly to your blog for inspiration and admiration from your wonderful creations!

    Thanks for making my day!

    Check-it-out: * http://AndreasWhimsy.blogspot.com *

    ~Andrea~

    Like

  29. Great arch — I love how you’re including actual photographs.

    Like

  30. très réussi ! j’adore
    c’est très original

    Like

  31. this is such a precious moment in a childs life and gorgeous arch!

    Like

  32. You’ve been tagged! Details on my blog at http://undertones-artgypsy.blogspot.com

    Like

  33. AMAZING! I love your blog and your work! The sea items are so beautiful. I live in Florida and I am obsessed with collecting seashells! (I grew up in Colorado, so anything from the Ocean inspires me!) I hope you are enjoying your beach time here in Florida. Where do you purchase your supplies? They are so one of a kind.. or maybe it’s just the artist!~

    Like

  34. That was a great day, Patty!! Love what you did with the photo. 🙂

    Like

  35. Oh I love this interpretation of “Old School”, Patty! This is definitely a rite of passage for your son and you have commemorated it beautifully.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo