Inner Child

I am combining two challenges in one 4×4 this week.

The 4×4 Friday challenge is using a “quote” in your creation.
The challenge over at Layers of Colors is “children”. (BTW, I did use two stamps, the background stamp is pretty much covered up, but I also used a Layers of Colors unmounted bubble stamp along the edges, it’s very subtle here).

I started with a photo of me when I was two years old. It was taken just outside of Munich, Germany. Am I pouting or WHAT! I Love my wicker pram in the background, there’s only a peek of it. That would be a wonderful thing to still have, but it is long gone.

I used one of JoAnna Pierotti’s darling dresses from a Paper Whimsy sheet that I recently ordered.

Boy, did I ever have to fiddle getting the image of me the right size to fit the dress; cutting arms and adding bits of dress color to make it work, using a little Signo white gel pen….luckily I like to fiddle.

That is the music to Swan Lake in the background.

So here is the quote I chose by Stephen Nachmanovitch:

“The most potent muse of all is our own inner child”

21 responses to “Inner Child

  1. Wonderful card, great picture!

    Like

  2. Had fun on your blog awesome saying on your 4×4 cute baby!

    Like

  3. I love the sweet dreamy quality of this piece, it’s a perfect child’s imagination and not getting everything we want when we want it! :0) Beautiful “fiddling”!!

    Like

  4. you just keep getting better and better! i love your little you in that dress! your hard work fiddling paid off! she’s super cute!

    Like

  5. hastingshall2

    Patty, this is really one of those WOW!!! pieces. You were certainly cute as a button! I had one of those wicker bassinets. After my generation, it proceeded down the line for at least 2 more generations of my sister’s family. You succeeded in dressing your picture very nicely.

    Like

  6. Hi Patty~
    Thanks for your kind comments on my blog, your so sweet. And speaking of sweet, Oh my this little princess is to cute for words. I love those dresses….

    Like

  7. Oh no what a little Darling.
    This is so wonderful. Love them.

    Like

  8. A very beautiful work !! love the little girl ! great card !!!!

    Like

  9. A brilliant piece Patty, very cute too!! x

    Like

  10. Absolutelty gorgeous.

    Like

  11. I love your canvasses, almost as much as I love everything else you create. That pic of you is just too, too cute!! I keep getting inspired by artwork all over the blogosphere and I like the new look of yours…
    Those little frills at the base of your canvasses are a really fancy touch, very you!!
    *wanders off to make coffee, giving her tambourine an occasional shake*!!

    Like

  12. Loved this one and I do hope you show this one to your Mom. You sure were pouting about something! But it is a great photo and well captured in this latest venture of yours. It has taken on a whole new life!!

    Like

  13. This is precious! I love using images of my little self in my art work… 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog and your wonderful comments!

    Like

  14. This is a precious piece!! LOVE the photo of you and what you have done with it here, amazing!
    Gaye

    Like

  15. enjoyed viewing your site, love your style each piece is so unique which I really like

    Like

  16. Adorable and so true! Having a child allows that inner one to surface and play a lot more often too!

    Like

  17. This is gorgeous! What a wonderful background, and the image is darling too!

    Like

  18. This is adorable…I love your art piece! Beautiful!!!

    Like

  19. brilliant work …and I have lingered at some of your other artwork….amazing blog !

    Like

  20. I love this piece! It’s so detailed. A lovely composition!

    Like

  21. wonderful artwork!!! love the cild-picture.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo