just because … all the way from the Land of Oz

a surprise arrived in my mailbox from far far away

the lovely Australian stamp was fresh and uncanceled … I will definitely be soaking these in water as even the Air Mail stamp is special …

I could not believe my eyes when I saw the beautiful vintage pieces of Japanese fabric … I could almost hear the swish of kimonos from long ago … indigo and silks from the 1930’s and 40’s … one piece lovelier than the next … the book pages above certainly are very old world too with a fabulous patina to the delicate time worn papers …

with gorgeous ingredients like these … I could not resist the urge to begin a journal that I have had in mind for some time now…

the first signature pages for my Asian journal are underway … thank you so very much dear Jen … oxo

footnote: Friday has been a frustrating day trying to comment on blogger/blogspot bbb’s (blogblogblogs) … Service Not Available or asking to leave an identity and there is nothing to click …



31 responses to “just because … all the way from the Land of Oz

  1. Patty,
    What a fabulous gift! You are so generous yourself and so deserving!
    Hugs,
    Suz

    Like

  2. Patty! WOW! Fabulous gifts – just beautiful and so deserving. You are loved by so many and give so much of yourself to share with all of us! Enjoy! xxoo

    Like

  3. great present lovey!! xox

    Like

  4. beautiful spread! I love the muted colors with a hint of red =)

    Like

  5. Oh what beautiful fabrics.. so lucky..and a beautiful start to your journal.. lovely.. have a great weekend..
    xo

    Like

  6. What a wonderful surprise package and I am going to love seeing this newest journal you’re inspired to begin.

    Like

  7. WOW! Such a beautiful gifts!!! and I love first pages too…
    Hugs
    Oxana

    Like

  8. oh heavens…you made out like a bandit!! Wonderful mail day for you and I love the beginning of this journal you show here…

    Like

  9. Aren’t surprises like this a wonderful thing? It means so much that someone was thinking of you and knew exactly what you would like. I’m looking forward to seeing your journal evolve.

    Like

  10. Lucky you…what a nice gift!

    Like

  11. Lovely stuff and you certainly don’t waste anytime time creating with it!!!

    Like

  12. Sooooooo soothing and grogeous!

    Like

  13. Oh wow. These are lovely. What a lovely gift and so very thoughtful. And those Asian pages are to die for! Love the beauty and simplicity of them.

    Like

  14. Beautiful gift and journal page you made with it!

    Like

  15. “I could almost hear the swish of kimonos from long ago …”

    we are sooo cut from the same cloth 🙂 lovely.

    Like

  16. What a beautiful surprice.
    Nice Japanese fabric!

    Like

  17. Oh my… what a wonderful surprise to find in your mailbox! It’s all so gorgeous!!! I can see you journaling, please do! This should be the best beginning you ever will encouter! Start NOW! Can’t wait to see what you create!

    Like

  18. This certainly looks full of Eastern promise ;0)

    Like

  19. the swish of kimonos, what a beautiful turn of phrase!!
    oooh patty, what a stunner journal, its going to be wonderful…i love what you have made so far…
    ive just painted the white text with twinklings ,oooohhhhh it soaks it up beautifully…
    i knew you would love it.xxx

    Like

  20. oh how lovely. Blogger has been making changes – very very frustrating.
    Patty can you email me your address so I can send you a copy of La Mode !

    Like

  21. ooh this is precious….beautiful fabrics too …happy crafting, dear Patty!!

    Like

  22. What a wonderful gift! And what a wonderful beginning to a journal I shall look forward to seeing as it progresses!!

    Like

  23. Patty,
    How diverse you are in your creations!!! From steampunk ( I have yet to grasp that concept) to the soft, beautiful journal in the asian fabrics. love it!!
    xo
    lynn

    Like

  24. Hi Patti! Your new Asian journal has such a soft and peaceful appeal. It’s going to be a wonderful treasure. Terri

    Like

  25. You go girl…these are tasty delicious design elements! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  26. beautiful goodies Patty and what a great theme for your new journal. Hope you are enjoying your weekend 🙂
    xo
    Gaye

    Like

  27. What a wonderful surprise, Patty! I`m happy for you!

    Like

  28. Ooooh lovely jubbly! Treats make life so special. Your journal is going to be fabulous Patty….I especially like all that Asian text.
    Linda xx

    Like

  29. This is going to be a WONDERFUL journal!!! I so adore all things Asian. Can’t wait to see the rest.
    xx,
    Autumn Clark

    Like

  30. Don’t you love postage stamps from far away? They are simply the best! This is wonderful!

    Like

  31. Patti! Lucky lucky you – and what a gorgeous journal you`ve started! I have a thing for Japanese fabric – I see I`m not alone.
    AND I also have company from your amazing creation – which arrived safely yesterday unscathed and so creative! I love how you mounted the 3 little butterflies. You did such a beautiful job. And the collage! Are you kidding me… I feel so so lucky. I`ve taken photos and will be adding it as a separate post if that`s ok with you….

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo