waste not…want not

a favorite bag that I bought at World Market a few years ago is made of small squares of beautiful sari pieces…

over time they have started to come away from the backing…

so I decided to tease them off the rest of the way and give some a new life…


stitching them onto some of my gelatin monoprint fabric pieces

which just happen to be in complimentary colors…

adding beads and netting and more…

~* sending Brightest of Blessings to you and yours *~

36 responses to “waste not…want not

  1. What a wonderful “upcycling” of this beautiful fabric. By the way – World Market is one of my fav stores – love their handmade wrapping paper and lovely tissue paper, as well as many other interesting (and many tasty) items!

    Like

  2. I lvoe what you did with those scraps, looks absolutely gorgeous. have a great weekend.

    Like

  3. o patty, they are beautiful! what a delicate way you have…wispy & wavy and those colors!!! swoooning over here…xo

    Like

  4. Oh Patty! I am just lost in the beauty. xoxo

    Like

  5. What beauty in rebirth and I love these colors. Patty, I hope your week has been a good one. We are so happy since we have had some much needed rain these past few days. Take care and have a great weekend.

    Like

  6. This is just beautiful ;0) Love your stitching ;0)

    Like

  7. positively gorgeous repurposing! just lovely…I never enjoy trying to ‘fix’ or ‘repair’ things, but making something new is a great idea.

    Like

  8. A wonderful ethic to live by, even moreso when the end results are so full of beauty.
    This reminds me of the sea for some reason.
    Have a beauty filled weekend.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  9. I simply love what you’ve upcycled! In fact, your new piece is far prettier and detailed than the original bag!! Lovely, lovely work, Patty
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  10. beautiful way of using these small pieces Patty, love your stitching!

    Like

  11. My kind of project: repurpose, recycle, reuse. Words I live by. Of course, this is beyond recycling. It is a work of art.

    Like

  12. Thankyou for your bright blessings dear friend.
    I so admire your reuse of those beautiful sari pieces- they are beautiful,
    and added to your monoprints fantastic pieces comes to life.
    It is looking amazingly lovely, Patty.
    HUGS
    Dorthe

    Like

  13. More creative creations by Patty! Your projects always put a huge smile on my face! Have a wonderful weekend! XO

    Like

  14. What a great idea for reuse! They are so beautiful!

    Like

  15. your stitching is gorgeous Patty!!! xx

    Like

  16. really beautiful way of giving new life to your bag 🙂

    Like

  17. ok, so this is pure bliss Patty! can’t describe how happy this makes me! …oh to have a world market near me….happy weekend!! xo

    Like

  18. stempelchaotin

    Soooooooooooooo beautiful Sweetie.
    Absolutely devine.

    Have a sunny weekend my dear Patty.
    xoxo

    Like

  19. Love the recycling job. The purse was very pretty. I’d have had a hard time throwing it out as well. The colors are perfect!!

    Like

  20. Good for you! and it’s soooo pretty!

    Like

  21. I feel bad about the bag, but you’ve kept the best part in your art. I love it – so delicate and pretty.

    Like

  22. gorgeous and upcycling!

    Like

  23. the colors are amazing on this! I love what you did with it! one stunning piece! P.S. I have SOCKS on today and a long sleeved blouse…it is COLD! 🙂 and I LOVE IT!

    Like

  24. I adore your fabulous creative work, Patty! The colors and the design is amazing!
    Have a nice weekend my friend. Hugs MARTINA oxo

    Like

  25. oh patty i have a cushion that has done exactly the same thing…i have been using it in all sorts of projects too….i love using the colored mesh backing from it too…..i am going to make an art journal case using my gelli printing and those too 🙂
    yours looks really pretty 🙂

    Like

  26. I have a purse just like that in very bright colors. You’ve taken those patches and embellished them beautifully. Your monoprint fabric pieces are beautiful, too. Have a great day. Tammy

    Like

  27. Hi Patty. Stunning project. Love the fabric. Great upcycling.
    Regards Florence x

    Like

  28. julia christine stephen

    Beautiful

    Like

  29. Dear Patty, you have created beauty from beauty. And the way you have photographed… so lovely.
    roxanne

    Like

  30. *gasp* …these leave me speachless… so lovely.

    Like

  31. Rich and luscious…. well done !!

    Like

  32. oh how incredibly beautiful dear Patty-thank you for sharing your creative gifts so generously 🙂

    Like

  33. marmeladegypsy

    Great idea, Patty. They’re awfully pretty!

    Like

  34. These looks so awesome!!! You are being so productive!

    Like

  35. Oh this is sooo gorgeous!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo