freedom square…

the August challenge over at Art Journal Journey (AJJ) is QUADRAT / SQUARE

 “inchies” (1×1 inch squares) immediately came to mind along with this collage I had made on a piece of scrapbook paper way back when...

Scrapbook page of Inchies

I printed the sheet and cut rows to create a border…

reduced inchie border

 reducing the size a bit to better fit my 5.50 x 6.25 inch (13.97 x 15.87 cm)  spiral journal pages…

Twinchies and altered tin

next I checked a tin I altered awhile ago which holds twinchies (2×2 inch collage squares) I had made...

Freedom She Whispered (1)

I found two that spoke to me so I glued them onto cut squares of map paper…

Freedom She Whispered

I really enjoy starting with blank pages letting them evolve without much planning (Paper Whimsy girls are always irresistible)…

Freedom She Whispered (4)

inking the edges and smearing some of my new Viva Inka Gold Metallic Rub for highlights

♥ thank you very much for your visit ♥

38 responses to “freedom square…

  1. Wow, Patty, this is gorgeous, I love every detail.

    Have a lovely Sunday

    Like

  2. Wow, I love this example of “square”. That whole sheet of inches is marvelous! that must have taken awhile to create.
    ~Dawn

    Like

  3. Beautiful pages and I love your altered tin! I’ve been thinking about ways to decorate my craft area to make it more inspiring. That is definitely an inspiring way to organize. Thanks for introducing me to a new challenge blog, as well. The work there is amazing (as is yours).

    Like

  4. What lovely pages. The use of the inchie sheet as borders is really effective. Love your altered tin. Linda taught me how to do these and they are great as decorative storage.

    Like

  5. Now this I could sit and study and let time slip by as the detailing is astonishing.
    I really do need to purchase some PW images as they always appeal to me.
    BTW your altered tin is a beauty.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Like

  6. This is gorgeous, I love every detail.
    Your journal page tells all many stories!

    Like

  7. I said it before Patty and I’ll say it again, your collage work is out of this world 🙂 Fantastisch! xox Dymphie

    Like

  8. What a fantastic collage sheet dear Patty,- a wonderful way to have bits of art to start new gorgeous pieces for books, cards, or everything else.
    I so love the pages you made for your journal-both the borders and the center pieces are so beautiful, and very special, –wonderful in your blue colours and with the inka gold !!
    Hugs from Dorthe-xx

    Like

  9. I just LOVE your inchies collage!!! I couldn’t have cut it. However it, and the twinchies, now have a new and beautiful life.

    Like

  10. absolutely genius Patty! WOW!

    thank you very much for this masterpiece!
    xxx Susi

    Like

  11. Your pages are fabulous! I particularly like how you were able to reuse some of your previous work to create a totally new piece. You are just so clever!

    Like

  12. Gorgious. I keep looking around the page. It is so well balanced and interesting! Kind of reminds me of ancient Icon art.

    Like

  13. I need to retrieve my fabric inches…they were fun to make and would be easy and portable while I am waiting for Ken’s treatments. They are so beautiful! Peace, Mary Helen

    Like

  14. oh you have been having been having fun with your inchies patty…beautiful collage 🙂

    Like

  15. “Miss Patty” — you are a wonderful artist!!

    Like

  16. Wow!!! I love how this looks!! Fabulous!!! ~Sophia

    Like

  17. Beautiful work!

    Like

  18. It was fun to see how you used some of your old art (even when it was scanned and printed) to make something new and fresh. Gotta love the page of inchies. I did that in my Time AB, and remember how long it took to make a two page spread.

    Gotta love that PaperWhimsy gal. She is the perfect addition to the right side of your spread.

    BTW, I was wondering if your spiral bound book’s pages are removable. The one I have has these score type lines (technical term for I can’t exactly explain what I mean) that allows you to readily remove the page easily, leaving the tabs in place. I am thinking about working in this book, but the score/ripple/whatever that line is, turns me off. I want something permanent, not a page that comes away from the tabs easily.

    Like

  19. Hello!! WOW, this is soooo awesome!! I love these little inchies, so dang cute. Great job on them and how it turned out, beautiful!

    Read your post below and enjoyed the words and pictures. I bet it is strange to have summers with no kids in the house after all those years. I try to cherish these days off with my kids knowing one day they will be off somewhere doing their own thing. Your journal is beautiful and I have a similar shadow picture on my blog too. Just posted my Mandala and was hoping to see yours but will come back later and see if you have it ready.
    Thank you for the wonderful visit!

    Like

  20. This is incredible! Love how you pulled out of previous work to make a whole new piece. Fantastic!!

    Like

  21. Loving the gold. Just wonderful Patty! xoxo

    Like

  22. That ist more than wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  23. Isn’t it fun to revisit an old project and revamp it into something new? Ind it is incredibly beautiful, as is all of your work. (Sorry to be redundant, but I just can’t help it! Your work rocks!) I’ve never done inchies before. I love these — but even better in their new form.

    Like

  24. I love reusing my art in various ways, and you did a great job today!
    Rinda

    Like

  25. Wow! These are great! How did I miss this post?

    Like

  26. I meant to say that I ESPECIALLY love “She whispered.”

    Like

  27. Precious inchies and precious PW girls!!! Love them all….isn’t it exciting to use maps in art? I can’t help but feel that a map is fabulous inspiration and a great spring board to creation!
    Have a beautiful week, dear Patty!
    xoxo
    Karen

    Like

  28. Beautiful! So many gorgeous details.

    Like

  29. What a beautiful page Patty! xxx

    Like

  30. Pingback: Bohemia…more squares | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  31. oh, patty! what gorgeous works!!! brilliant!

    Like

  32. Your paintings and squares are so wonderful that I am here my mouth open 😮
    Backrounds are amaising and the wholenes beautiful and fine. I love Your art!

    Like

  33. you make my fingers itch for creating inchies or twinchies… they look so gorgeous each for itself and all together!

    Like

  34. Patty, this is gorgeous!!!

    Like

  35. Beautiful, such a great way to use the theme. Love your journal and your inchies ans twinchies.
    xx Monique

    Like

  36. Gorgious!!! Wonderful work!

    Like

  37. You have such a knack for re-creating things from something that looked wonderful to begin with into something that looks just as wonderful again.

    Like

  38. Pingback: bleu… blue… blau… azul… blu… blauw… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo