sacred lotus…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Lotus Welcome sign frogit is that time of year again when the loti are blooming about an hour’s drive away on the other side of Washington, DC…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Lotusland first visit 4 July 16it was a lovely low humidity day on the 4th of July so we made our first visit of the season…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Lotus collagesince 2013 when we first visited we try and go as many times as we can during July and August…

Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Lotusland 4 July 2016I had to remind myself to breathe as all that beauty takes my breath away…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens photo opsbecause it was a bit of an overcast morning there were more photographers than usual with their fancy camerasMagpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Loti Reflectionswe don’t even use our tripod and manage to snap hundreds of photos that make us very happy…Magpie's Nest Gesso Citra Solv art journal pagesinspired by the loti I worked in a small art journal that I made using Citra Solv magazine pages washed with gesso and machine stitched down the middle…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz TAP transfer on cottonthe little Debrina Pratt girl is a TAP transfer on delicate cotton and the dragonfly is a sticker that popped up when I was looking for something else…Magpie's Nest Patty Szymkowicz Lotus Art Journal Pagesjoining Yvonne’s lovely IN MY GARDEN challenge over at Art Journal Journey…

30 responses to “sacred lotus…

  1. Lotus is for me so delicate and means serenity… Thank you, Patty for this moment of “fresh air”.

    Like

  2. I love joining you every year when you visit these gardens. Don’t let Chris see this post, because she doesn’t like frogs in her gardens!

    On a serious note, I loved the photos you took, and I agree that a cloudy day is preferable for taking great photos. Yours all turned out simply stunning. I can tell you both enjoy that “hobby.”

    Like

  3. I would love to visit those gardens, too, so beautiful. Thanks for another wonderful journal spread for Art Journal Journey, much appreciated. Have a great weekend, Alles Liebe, Valerie

    Like

  4. Amazing gardens and an utterly beautiful spread dear Patty!
    Happy , happy weekend♥
    thank you so much for joining AJJ again!
    hugs
    Susi

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos and a wonderful journal page! It is like a look into paradise!
    Happy weekend, Rike

    Like

  6. The best Loti photos I have ever seen, great shots! I wish I could spend a day between this amazig Loti paradise. Your Journal pages looks very nice with the soft washed out background, the beautiful Loti photo and the sweet Loti girl. Well done!
    Big Hugs and happy weekend.
    Sabine

    Like

  7. They are beautiful! I remember looking at your lovely pics last year.

    Like

  8. There really is something so magical about loti – such delicate, unusual blossoms – the colors, the forms – breathtaking! You and Mr. Magpie have such intuitive eyes with your cameras.

    Like

  9. Always love to see pictures of this beautiful place. The photos’ you two take are amazing! xoxoxo

    Like

  10. You are so lucky to live near such beautiful aquatic gardens and I can see why you visit them often. The loti are so magnificent! I have never seen them before and I’m amazed at the size of them. I will have to research to see if there are any parks here that have them as I would love to see them in person :-). Your journal page captures their elegance and beauty, wonderful! Happy weekend and thanks so much for sharing your spectacular photos and visit. J 🙂

    Like

  11. You have captured the beauty and magic of your visit to see the Loti so wonderfully on your lovely soft and gentle spread.
    Loved your photos – what a fantastic place to go.
    Gill x

    Like

  12. Lotus have the most delicate, beautiful blossoms and one of the ugliest big old seed pods–LOL! You got great pics without a tripod–and your journal pages are delightful, as always. 🙂

    Like

  13. OH How beautiful a garden to visit and your journal page is just as lovely. You always capture the spirit of whatever you are working on. I have some Citra Solv pages somewhere that I made a few years ago. :/

    Like

  14. Gorgeous photos of the Lotus garden, beautiful blooms and it was lovey to see one on your awesome journal spread. I think it seems a very peaceful place to visit. I am so pleased you are enjoying the theme Patty.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  15. I wonder if these flowers are the same as what we call water lilies here – must ‘do a google’ to find out! Beautiful flowers anyway, no matter what they’re called.

    Like

  16. Such beautiful photos. And the art journal page is amazing! LOVE it ❤

    Like

  17. A beautiful layout with a lovely photo. You’ve created a really ethereal look which I love.

    Like

  18. These water lilies are a dream, just beautiful pictures! I love it, when white merges via green in pink! Your pages show all the romance of this beautiful flower. Thank you for your visit to my blog. Ulrike

    Like

  19. Your photographs are gorgeous, talented lady! The mixed media pages are beautiful as well 🙂 Happy Sunday xx

    Like

  20. I’ve never been to this garden, but it looks gorgeous. Wow, what beautiful lotus blooms. This looks like the kind of place you can take a deep breath and just let the rest of life go. It transferred very nicely into your journal page. I love the washed out background. Have a wonderful rest of the weekend Patty. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  21. Oh it is magic there, what a special beauty ,and your photos, makes it almost alive .The beauty of the last one with lotus in the water , is gorgeous, dear Patty, and I love you with your parasol in one of the others.
    Your Sitra solv spread is such interesting background, for the lovely girl and her lotus and the photo and dragonfly on the other side !!
    Hugs and smiles
    Dorthe, oxox

    Like

  22. Your collages of the macro pictures are dreamy. I can see there were lots of you out there taking pictures.The one with the reflection is especially nice. But your journal pages have to be without question my favorite contribution of the day. Beautiful. Lovely. Sweet. Muted Colors. Perfection. Hugs, genie

    Like

  23. Very beautiful!! Love those lotus flowers! xo

    Like

  24. there is something so peaceful, ethereal and beautiful about the loti. I feel the same about your lovely journal pages too. Your pictures are positively gorgeous!! No need for the fancy cameras:)

    Like

  25. All your photos of the lotuses (can be either!) are so beautiful. I do like the frog resting on the water too.
    Your art, as always, is divine and delicate with the complex textured soft background and the lovely images.

    Like

  26. Pingback: out and about… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  27. I love it when you visit this beautiful spot, Patty. And the art is such a perfect complement to the wonderful photos. Splendid.

    Like

  28. Beautiful garden and wonderful journal page!!! ♥
    MiSchra ♥

    Like

  29. pearshapedchris

    This spread is so beautiful! I love the garden pictures , although I did move on swiftly when I saw the frog:-) Chrisx

    Like

  30. I am behind but still trying to catch up. Your pictures are lovely as is your journal spread. Such a sweet young lady!
    sandy xx

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo