crisp in the fall…

the music lady I put together awhile ago waited patiently in one of my art journals until I figured out what was next for her (she was from a catalog and I gave her the music dress)…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-fall-splendor-beginning-pages

I am joining Valerie’s Art Journal Journey INDIAN SUMMER-GOLDEN OCTOBER-AUTUMN challenge…

magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-fall-splendor-beginning-pages-1

purple paint and yellow glaze along with spiderweb washi tape helped bring my pages to life…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-crisp-in-the-fall-left-page

the F. Scott Fitzgerald quote that I saw in a magazine appealed to me so I printed the words with our computer…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-crisp-in-the-fall-journal-pages

the border on the bottom of the left page along with the leaves were cut from assorted junk mail…magpies-nest-patty-szymkowicz-crisp-in-the-fall-journal-pages-oct-2016

one of Seth Apter’s rubber stamps (on the right) along with some extra brushes of yellow glaze gave a nice finishing touch to my pages…

 

25 responses to “crisp in the fall…

  1. Your pages are once again beautiful. It’s always amazing what can be done with junk mail, and you have turned it into treasure here. Thanks for joining us with your musical autumn lady and the lovely quote! Hugs, Valerie

    Like

  2. Oh that is so special- you took this extraordinary color combination and it’s not “loud” it’s just BEAUTIFUL and Patty styled – amazing!
    Happy start of the new week and thanks a lot for joining us at Art Journal Journey with another just BEAUTIFUL entry dear Patty!
    hugs
    Susi

    Like

  3. Patty this is very beautiful, a tribute to this splendid season of golden light and leaves with a touch of magic, just like your special Autumn lady!

    Like

  4. Hello Patty, c’est absolument superbe, quel talent, bravo.
    Bizzz

    Like

  5. Love the words you used to go with your page. The colors are fantastic! They match my Vikings shirt I’m wearing today. 🙂
    SKOL Vikes! 🙂

    Like

  6. She’s gorgeous Patty! ❤️ ❤️

    Like

  7. Its a gorgeous journal spread Patty and I love how you used the cut out lady from the magazine. Super colour combinations and background, I do think this season makes us look even closer at what we see around us.
    Yvonne xx

    Like

  8. Suitably misty and ethereal for the season. Love Seth’s products.

    Like

  9. Wonderful Patty! The lovey musical lady and the purple and gold gives this page a very mystical look. I especially like the way you have used the cobwebs and gold leaves to accent her dress and hair :-). Lovely quote too, which I haven’t heard before – thanks for sharing. Magical as always! Wishing you a happy start to the week! J 🙂

    Like

  10. This is fantastic. I especially like the spider webs. Not only fall but a little Halloween too. 🙂 She looks like a good Halloween witch. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  11. Christie Juhasz

    Such beautiful pages!

    Like

  12. Lovely as usual. Have a great week!

    Like

  13. Lovely spread Patty! What a wonderful quote you chose to go with your beautiful lady.
    Alison xxx

    Like

  14. Wow! A fabulous page Patty! I love that quote too! Hugs, Chrisx

    Like

  15. How gorgeous Patty!! I do love that purple!! Yum!
    And your doll is just delightful-I am a huge dollie fan! xx

    Like

  16. Such beautiful spread. The golden and purple lends magic to each other, and truly create a wonderful expression of fall, and the lady so beautiful with her music skirt !! You have some great junk-mail pieces to work with ,too, dear Patty, they also added to the gorgeous fall feeling, I get when seeing your pages.
    A warm hug from rainy Bornholm and me !! xoxo

    Like

  17. A drean in purple are these pages dear friend. The highlights are the yellow leaves , they built a good contrast. Well done.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine xox

    Like

  18. gorgeous pages and a beautiful combination of colors. Wonderful quote too!

    Like

  19. This is just so special and how you combine these bits and pieces and stamping and ladies from catalogues is so very skilful and magical.
    That is a great quote, and quite true, I think; Autumn is for starting or restarting fresh pursuits.

    Like

  20. Gorgeous mixed media art, I love the lady’s music dress. I hope you are doing well, we are enjoying the crisp air 🙂 Take good care, Shirleyxx

    Like

  21. Beautiful Patty – I have been absent due to hurricane Matthew but all is well now. But my poor daughter in North Carolina still does not have power and she live more towards the center of the state. They have had way too much rain.
    Sandy xx

    Like

  22. That’s a beautiful image and I really love the treatment with the purple and gold. It just feels like autumn to me.

    Like

  23. Not sure how I missed this entry, but it is a beauty. The lady is a bit spooky with the spider web for a waistline, but I like it. It’s a great AJJ entry. Even the colors are indicative of autumn.

    I have finally used all my stars tissue. Glad to see you still have some left.

    Like

  24. Absolutely gorgeous art journal pages. I just LOVE that quote so much – it’s perfect here! Your work is always so beautiful!

    Like

  25. This is so beautiful Patty.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo