2008 Annual Worldwide Candle Lighting

229candle_heart The Compassionate Friends (TCF) Worldwide Candle Lighting®, held annually the second Sunday in December.  This year it is Sunday, December 14.

This event unites family and friends around the globe as they light candles for one hour to honor and remember children who have died at any age from any cause.   As candles are lit at 7 p.m. local time, creating a virtual wave of light, hundreds of thousands of persons commemorate and honor the memories of children in a way that transcends all ethnic, cultural, religious, and political boundaries.

Now believed to be the largest mass candle lighting on the globe, the Worldwide Candle Lighting, a gift from TCF to the bereavement community, creates a virtual 24-hour wave of light as it moves from time zone to time zone. Hundreds of formal candle lighting events are held and thousands of informal candle lightings are conducted in homes as families gather in quiet remembrance of children who have died, but will never be forgotten.

The Worldwide Candle Lighting started in the United States in 1997 as a small internet observance, but has since swelled in numbers as word has spread throughout the world of the remembrance.

We miss you Alex, our blue eyed boy…..our candles always burn brightly for you! XOXOXOXOO

12 responses to “2008 Annual Worldwide Candle Lighting

  1. We will light our candles Sunday, thank you for this reminder.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the information … I’ll light my candles and pass the information along on my blog as well.
    Hugs and blessings,

    Like

  3. This is fabulous Patti… thanks so much for sharing.
    hugs
    Chris xx

    Like

  4. This is wonderful. I will be lighting my candles for this too. Thank you for sharing this.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

    Like

  5. My heart is with you and your family Patty….always. m

    Like

  6. this is such a lovely idea Patti, its Sunday here now and i will be doing this tonight …..

    Like

  7. We will light candles for Alex and two of Katie’s friends tomorrow – thanks for sharing this info……

    Like

  8. We will be lighting a candle tomorrow night at seven for our Baby Luke…..Thank you for posting this on your blog….Melinda

    Like

  9. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve made myself a note so I can remember to take part tomorrow (tonight, rather). I’m so sorry for your loss, I didn’t know. God bless all of these children. Serena

    Like

  10. I will be sure to light a candle and put it in my kitchen window tonight….

    Like

  11. 7 p.m. it is – I have it on my calendar from last year. What a lovely remembrance and support system for all who have lost children.

    Like

  12. We will be lighting candles from our three children to your son Alex, our pastor’s son Jody, and the unknown son or daughter my mother in law lost before she was pregnant with my darling husband. For those we know and miss, those we don’t know and are missed, and those we could have known and miss just as greatly. Thank you Patty.

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo