Jasmine Tea

there were some unexpected guests today for tea

… the first visitor was a fuzzy bumblebee


I have a confession to make … I found the bee laying on the path in the garden … he was a goner … I put him in a safe place … not sure why … but then I had the idea to pose him on our blooming Jasmine … you know … giving him one last photo op


when what to my surprise just off to the left …


observing me was a young praying mantis … not as willing a photo subject as the bee … hopping here and there

… wish you could smell these Arabian Jasmine blossoms

I did manage to click off a few photos before she fled the scene … some days you just don’t know who will drop by for tea … so glad you did …

the pink papers are pieces of cardstock I painted with beet juice

if you would like to check in on the other T Tuesday posters … be sure to visit Kimmie’s Art in Red Wagons sidebar here

* * * * *

I was invited to have my ‘Go Ask Alice’ postcard included on the Lewis Carroll Society of Brazil blog … thank you very much Adriana

what a lovely honor … blogging truly is a bridge that spans all across the globe!

24 responses to “Jasmine Tea

  1. Hi Patty! CONGRATULATIONS on the invitation to be part of the Lewis Carol of Brazil Society!!
    I can certainly imagine the fragrance from the Arabian Jasmine…I love them and I have them in my garden as well.
    Happy T and enjoy the rest of the day!!!
    oxo
    steph

    Like

  2. Oh, yummy, Patty, and what a sweet thing you did for the Bumblebee. We really need to cherish them – they do so much good for us. At first I laughed out loud and then I realized what an honor you gave the Bee and a tribute in that one act -and all at the same time. The tea smells good! Hugs,

    Like

  3. Talk about a quirky post. I so enjoyed this one. Lovely tribute to the bee and awesome photos. Happy Tea Tuesday.

    PS. I want a Trader Joe’s to come to Kansas.

    Like

  4. I absolutely adore your photos, they are wonderful. It is always very nice to have guests around for tea …..

    Like

  5. ooo ms. mantis! how fortunate you are to have her to tea!! i made roasted beets for dinner last night…yummmy…i’ll have to try the beet juice paint! happy tea tuesday, sweet patty…

    Like

  6. lovely tea! and such a variety of guests! poor bee!!
    love your beet juice papers! happy T day!!xox

    Like

  7. dot ferrero

    I love to collect ‘passed on’ subjects for indoor display…rhinoceros beetle, dragon fly, butterflys, snake skin,..all evidence of Nature’s bounty. Lovely post…thanks

    Like

  8. You have a good eye for interesting photographs

    Like

  9. Ha I have a little sprig of Jasmine in my tea picture too !
    How funny about the bee. I always think Praying Mantis look like little old oriental gentlemen going T’ai Chi ( also mentioned on my post today ! ) On the last day of our retreat we saw one .

    I love your last picture – lovely

    Like

  10. Lots of surprises at tea today, Patty! Love the pics of the winged things. You never know what you’ll find in the garden! The other day I picked some fresh basil for our tomatoes, and as I was rinsing it in the kitchen sink a baby grasshopper flew right off one of the leaves! What a wonderful surprise! I quickly put a drinking glass over it, and my Honey Bear swooshed him up and released him back into the wilds of our backyard.

    Congrats on the invitation!!! Your work is soooo deserving!!! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  11. what a great finale for the bumblebee. Love it all! YOur tea setting is very inviting.

    Like

  12. Hi Patty.
    I got a smile out of the “Posing of the Bee” Here I was thinking at first look that you were lucky to get the perfect shot.LOL
    Your Journal will be awesome. I too joined Carole’s class but I am just at the beginning. I’m afraid it has been so hot here in Southern Ontario, Canada that my energy level is very low in spite of AC, so I better shake a leg and get going. I have found a book to use so it is a start…
    Thanks for sharing.
    xoxo
    ((((hugs))))
    Maggie

    Like

  13. LOL Well, apparently you will even drag in a dead bee. Frightening isn’t it! I have a dead dragonfly on a shelf…gives me an idea…………

    Like

  14. How lucky to have such an exotic visitor to your garden, but then this is the UK, nothing exotic really lives here!

    Like

  15. amazing photos Patty! And I love your bee confession …. poor little bumbler! …. I’m off to TJ’s later today – I will look for your special tea 🙂

    Happy T today!!! Kimmie

    Like

  16. Patty ~
    This was such a delightfully charming tea post today! I will be grinning about that last photo opt. for the rest of the day. ❤ Katie

    Like

  17. Marilyn Rock

    Patty! I love the fact that you confessed about the bee 🙂 You gave him a place of honor, too. Great photos as always!

    Congratulations on being part of the Lewis Carol Society of Brazil Blog! Very-well deserving. xxoo

    Like

  18. the bumble bee, the quietly observant mantis, and finally, that little jasmine flower in your tea. perfect little surprises captured there.

    Like

  19. Lovely guests… and teawares… Your jasmine is very pretty and I bet it smells wonderful!

    Like

  20. Love your post, as always 🙂 your tea looks pretty with the flower and the Mantis really does look like he’s praying for a taste 🙂

    Like

  21. Wow, Patty! Gorgeous pictures!!! And that spoon with the blue and white dishes are to DIE for!!
    xoxo
    lynn

    Like

  22. Isn’t the praying mantis the most bizarre-looking creature?!
    Lovely photos today Patty…and that tea sounds very special 🙂

    Like

  23. What a wonderful post….you made me laugh about the bee´s one last “foto op”….I am still smiling….tooo cute. Wonderful fotos filled with inspiration for my hot afternoon here. I will now go have a look at some of the links you presented us with………….tah,tah

    Like

  24. This is an adorable post – love the bugs!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo