messy Tea

life is messy sometimes…there is no getting around it…many years ago a young couple across the street was given  a nice sized tree as a house warming gift…

they proudly planted it in their front yard anticipating the shade it would provide in the years to come…the tree grew and grew way past the second story of their house…

the couple divorced and moved away…

not long after the new owners moved in the tree had matured enough to start making pods

curvy brown pods… some almost a foot long….lots of them every autumn…you don’t even know they are there until the leaves fall..

the present owner is contemplating chopping the tree down…

I am a huge fan of trees…and marvel at them every day…but I must confess I’ve had my moments of not Loving this particular tree…the wind blows the rattly pods into our yard and all down the gutters edge…

we sweep and rake them again and again each autumn filling several large bags before they finally all fall down…

the neighbor has his work cut out for him…with LOTS more than that to deal with…I have tried to see the beauty in them…

they are a nice shape…I fondly call them “poop pods”…oh my…who said that…not sure if the tree is some sort of Locust…

it took a rest last year and there were no pods…we were all overjoyed…so maybe it deserves a chance if it is only going to be a pain every other year from now on…

as I was raking a bunch yesterday I had the idea that they might look nice sprayed gold…we could add them to the greens we put outside for the holidays…I couldn’t find the gold paint…

this red is not really doing it for me…

not a big fan of spray paint anyway…this can is probably ten years old at least…I tried to find some redeeming quality but off to the city compost heap they will go…

happy last T Tuesday in November…I am enjoying a cup of homemade Yogi tea with the rain gently falling outside…trying to find my *twinkle*

won’t you join us for tea over at Kimmie’s…there are more bloggers that join in…you don’t even need to drink tea 😉

“Optimism is a kind of heart stimulant – the digitalis of failure” ~Elbert Hubbard

24 responses to “messy Tea

  1. Don’t throw them away – I want some!!!:>)
    Take the red ones, and roll them in some silver glitter – it will transform them- hopefully – not a fan of red either – but glitter might help!!! I can see them hanging from a Xmas tree! Speaking of messy – drop by and see my “messy” clafouti!!!!

    Like

  2. Yes, Patty, I will join you for a messy tea here at work. Yup, the red didn’t do it for me – but girlfriend, I have faith in you that these poopy pods are in your future and you will find a use for them! Hugs

    Like

  3. I think they are catalpa trees. I have one on my property line. The pods vary in length depending upon the variety the neighbors bought. I have used mine in nature inspired assemblages, but that’s about it. Like you, I do more raking of them than arting with them. Love your handy tea holder. Couldn’t help it. I need a smile or two right now!

    Like

  4. Get some gold spray paint! But even the red would look great if you put them in a big glass vase! Do it!

    Like

  5. yes honey locust do that , but the leaves are so tiny you don’t need to rake them and they don’t do the pod thing until they mature, but they look pretty painted red!! happy tea day! xo

    Like

  6. The city where we live in their “great wisdom” planted a bunch of these along a walking trail into town. What a mess is right! When the pods drop off before drying they have this icky ooze that comes out of them if ran over or stepped on.
    I’d like to come up with an artistic use for them as well but haven’t given it much thought.

    Like

  7. our neighbor to the back of us had one of those…and he cut it down…and i know what you mean about spray paint…that’s a summer thing for me and when they are gone, i’m done….they smell…i can”t help thinking they would have been really pretty painted in gold lumiere and wired onto a stick…happy t tues dear one..

    Like

  8. Looks like orchid tree pods that we have here. We also have large mesquite beans that we rake up. But I love my trees, so I deal with it. Take the pods, put large faux pearls in them, as many as looks good ( usually just a few…3-5), then glue the pods together around the pearls a little bit so it looks like a complete pod bursting open. String three finished pods together with a bow. They will look like pea pods, the pearls being the peas. You can spray the pods gold, or silver or whatever color you want but do this before adding the pearls. I’ve seen these in high end stores selling for lots of money.

    Like

  9. I think this is an Gleditsia triacanthos… we call it
    “Lederhülsenbaum” in german..
    I´m sure you´ll find a way to transform this fruits to ART!

    Your Klimt tree is fantastic !
    Thank you for the tea!
    xxx Susi

    Like

  10. Patty we make wreaths out of these seed pods at the shop!!! I had the job of washing them all first, hundreds of them but they come up nice and shiny with a bit of soapy water. They are then laid over a circular base and hot glued together, I’ll try and take apic for you! Mx

    Like

  11. Painting them gold or silver would be pretty cool …. But I’m with you on the spray paint thing … Your homemade tea by candlelight in the “twinkle” cup looks very cozy … Perfect for a rainy November day …. Happy tuesday! *twinkle*

    Like

  12. aww Patty, i like the red! mixed in abowl with some potpourri they be lovely…..

    Like

  13. gather those red poopy poops or what’s that name? randomly splatter some gold paints and place them in a tall transparent vase….or perhaps have them around a candle stand…..Happy T to you and Happy December!!!

    Like

  14. I am with you and NOT into the pods so much, but love your tea shot, and thanks for sharing the recipe! I would try it without the milk, or I would make it just for the smell!

    Like

  15. oh those pod things look great painted!!! Add some gold or silver to them….I have never seen anything like them actually. That is probably the couple that divorced and left the “bowl” behind too:)

    Like

  16. We used to have one of those and they were the worst — the total worst. I admire your efforts to foof it up — but what can you do with poop pods?

    Like

  17. We faced the same problem.
    My mom-in-law hav to swept them away .

    Like

  18. Oh life is funny ~ isn’t it? We had a really tall ratty old lopsided pine tree on the NE corner of our property. Mark loved it as much as I didn’t like it. But then the ice storm of 07 took care of it. And I was sorry to see it die. I did like to collect the pine cones for class projects. I love the way you try to see the beauty and drama of poo pods. You are a wonderful story teller and I love to read your stories. Hope your week is blessed! ~ katie

    Like

  19. Lovely relaxing cup of tea 🙂 I think all the pods need is a little ‘twinkle’ too 🙂

    Like

  20. Hmmmm…..

    I think a few of those would be good, but not bags full of them! Have you thought of spraying them, and then stringing them to make a mobile or a hanging decoration of some sort? I think they would look good twirling gently in the air.

    P.S. Love the tealight holder.

    Like

  21. Poor tree – he/she is just trying to produce a lovely new decoration for your Christmas celebration!!!
    With gold or silver paint and glitter they will look spectacular.
    He/she deserves a second chance – beauty as they say is in the eye of the beholder.
    Go and give him/her a good hug Patty – please….
    hugs
    from your greenie friend x

    Like

  22. I think the pods are very cool and would look really great with gold or silver spray paint… or better yet… GLITTER! There’s your twinkle!

    Like

  23. fantastic photos..seen those pods somewhere before.. i know theres bigger ones, identical, just bigger and they are carob.. regards.P

    Like

  24. poop pods! lol! {I can sure tell you are from a household with significant male influences! Picking up that men’s locker room talk…ha ha!} I used to feel the same way about the cottonwood trees up in the Midwest, the little feathery pieces would gum up the air conditioning unit when they began shedding. And there wasn’t a tree anywhere near our property or I might have been tempted to infest it with whatever would have done the trick. Pine beetles, locusts,….something “natural” of course! But the pods are pretty cool looking….

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo