Chunky Artist Trading Cards

Inspired by two brilliant challenges this week, I created my first wood block ATCs, they measure 2.5″ x 3.5″ and are .75″ (1.9 centimeters) thick.  They feel like a good sized deck of cards in your hand; fun to pick up and admire and addicting to make 🙂

*click for a closeup*

chunkyatfronts

My first chunky ATC is for the Mittwochstempler/Wednesday Stamper (WS): Angel theme.  For my “GROW” gardening Angel, I used three different stamps.  The block of wood that my husband cut for me is covered with very small print book text that I inked and stamped on, adding images and other papers.  Since I am mostly inside these days playing with paper, I could certainly use a gardening angel!

chunkyatcgrowfrontchunkyatcgrowback1

My second chunky ATC is for the Big Art Adventure challenge of creating a wooden ATC this week.   I call this one “Rules 4 Giving”, which is what it says on one side.  I also covered this wooden block with book text, inked and added images; applying inks again and again layering with paper.

chunkyatcrules4-front chunkyatcrules4-back

Thanks to Linda and Rosie’s Big Art Adventure and Audrey Hernandez for the inspiration!  These are great fun to make and they stand up nicely on a shelf or cabinet!
Great fun!  I have two painted and ready to play with today!  I think I will need to try an even chunkier size too….if you please JJJ oxooxo

30 responses to “Chunky Artist Trading Cards

  1. I love these chunkies – I like the idea you can add things to the sides. My favorite is your choice of yellow color, but they are all beautiful.

    Like

  2. I love the second one !!!!!!!! *o*

    Like

  3. They are stunning Pattie – can’t choose a favourite love them all – the elements you’ve added are brilliant and I agree they are addictive – looking forward to making more

    Like

  4. Theses are so fun…love the blue one!

    I too love the feel you get holding them in your hand! I have mine on my desk next to my key board!

    I asked my DH for more wood! I would like to try 2.5 x 3.5 x 2″. I think it would be fun!

    Like

  5. Gorgeous little works of art Patty – absolute treasures.
    I am so glad you joined in with us!
    Love Linda xxx

    Like

  6. WOW amazing work ! i have to add you to read more lol !

    Like

  7. Your chunky ATC’s are so brilliant. Love your gardening angel! Wonderful artwork. Would like to see them in real live.

    Like

  8. I love what you’ve been up to lately Patty! These are my favourites, though… I love the concept of chunky ATCs and shall be making some to take to the Fairs with me. Yes, I shall be going to more (see latest blog post!)… and I received quite a few compliments on the pair of altered spoons, so I thank you for the inspiration. I didn’t come home with empty boxes, but I sold a lot more than I thought I would! Yay!!
    I know where the birdie is… *wink, wink* and that is an extremely handsome house too!

    Like

  9. FANTASTIC!! I especially like the blue one with the cider recipies! I am not so much a blue girl but it is so pretty! Can’t wait to see more!

    xo

    Like

  10. Love this pieces!

    Like

  11. I love your chunky atcs, they are great. What a brilliant idea to have a gardening angel. The colours are beautiful and I can tell you enjoyed making them , it shows. No doubt like me you will make more of them as you had a good time. Well done they are lovely, Jaqi

    Like

  12. I love them, especially the second one! I have some pieces of woods at home, I have to think how to cut them! 🙂

    Like

  13. these are beautiful patty! and chunky indeed. definitely a nice variation vs the “flat” ones 🙂

    Like

  14. I’m impressed! Greatful things!!!

    Like

  15. These are just great! And isn’t it fun to work on the sides and back too – they also make super Christmas presents! Lovely work and thanks for taking part in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

    Like

  16. I´ve missed my words.
    These are so wonderful and gorgeous.
    Fantastic work. You inspire me.

    Like

  17. Very cool – I have a piece of picket fence that I’m sure you could do wonders with!!!!

    Like

  18. Love it, love it, love it. Dis I told you that I love it hehehe. Fabulous!

    Like

  19. they are both and on both sides wonderful, pretty pretty nice art work!!!

    Like

  20. these chunkies are fantastic!!
    and you are a good choice for the wednesdaystamper-team!!

    Like

  21. These dimensional ATC’s are fabulous and I can imagine how much fun they are to make!! OOOOH I’m going on a scout mission in the garage today….hehehehehe. Thanks, as always, for the beauty and inspiration you share so generously!
    Cheers,
    Gaye

    Like

  22. OMG! These are gorgeous! I have a half done chunky ATC sitting on my desk right now. I am totally inspired to get it finished!

    Like

  23. Oh yeah, I can feel a vibe of new obsession with these. How fun, thank you for this new inspiration!

    ps. I am loving the tape and that hubby of yours is a keeper!

    Like

  24. Love, love, love them! What a great idea.
    Deb

    Like

  25. These are beautiful. This is a really great idea, isn’t it!
    Nancy

    Like

  26. alle deine holzklötze sind so toll geworden. hab schon alles abgesucht, aber keine holzklötze gefunden, die ich verarbeiten kann;(((

    Like

  27. B R A V O … wonderful, gorgeous ART.

    THANX FOR SHARING

    I am a little late with mine but better late than never. :))

    have a lovely weekend
    chriss x

    Like

  28. These are absolutely incredible! Really lovely work!

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo