WS: Exotic Places

For my first designer challenge (I am SO excited about this opportunity) for Wednesday Stamper/Mittwochstempler/WS,  I chose Exotic Places.  Sometimes when the holidays draw near, my first instinct is to leave for some far off place, even tho I really enjoy the holidays and have never gone away for Christmas…….a girl can dream……

Riding on an elephant would certainly classify as exotic in my book, especially in India!  Mind you,  I’ve only been on horse back a couple of times in my life; which is another story.

Here is the spread I did in my India altered book.  Be sure and visit WS for lots of amazing eye candy and see what other exotic places people decide to visit at this busy time of year.

*click to zoom in*

wsexotic1I used fabric on the right side along with different inks, a piece of gold embossed blue paper and I stamped with an unmounted elephant rubber stamp (I’ve had it so long I cannot remember where it came from, it was in my early stamp collecting days).  I edged it with my gold Krylon pen and because of a slip of the pen, I ended up scribbling on it too to make things match……classic flopportunity!   I added a bindi to the elephants forehead.  I think I will need to wear one of those when I go for my elephant ride in India one day! wsexoticrt2

“Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night.” ~Edgar Allan Poe, 1809 – 1849

Elephants are highly revered in India.



26 responses to “WS: Exotic Places

  1. Gorgeous spread!!! ove the fabric.

    Like

  2. fabulous pages Patty!!! love the colours!!!

    Like

  3. Elephants have always been a favorite – next to horses!!! GReat job!!

    Like

  4. What a schitterende pages
    wow!!!

    Like

  5. of course i love your spread! i love elephants and certainly would love to ride one. the elephant festival in march should be just as exciting to see

    Like

  6. I was so excited to see you as guest designer today and to gaze upon your very exotic and wonderful journal spread. I too have always dreamed of riding on an elephant….perhaps we need to meet somewhere?!!LOL

    Like

  7. Wonderful spread and great theme, Patty!

    Like

  8. I love love this page!
    The krylon “mistake” is awesome, kinda looks like there’s a forest in the background. And the embossed blue paper looks SO beautiful!

    I’ve never ride an elephant either, only horses and a llama! 🙂 (when I was very little, lol)

    Like

  9. Very exotic and very beautiful, Patty. Lots of art for me seems to be making lemonade from lemons, or rescuing my work from some blip I’ve made on it. No elephant riding for me, although my daughter did ride one in Busch Gardens Florida years ago.
    Faye

    Like

  10. i just wondered who made the spread on the homepage of this week… it is truly wonderful! i love the colors, the patterns and of course elephants!

    Like

  11. Nice piece of art.

    Like

  12. Fantastic spread, Patty. I really love the fabric and the blue embossed paper, they give it a very rich look.

    Like

  13. Such a wonderful piece! Thanks so much for hosting this week and for the wonderful theme!

    Like

  14. Wow what an amazing entry for an altered book.
    Fantastic colors and design. Love them.

    Like

  15. You made a fabulous choice! And your artwork is fantastic. I love all of the elements you’ve used. The only problem is now I want to strap on my backpack and hit the road!

    Like

  16. This is stunning – can’t wait to do my own on this theme!

    Like

  17. Wonderful spread in your india altered book ! I love the ornaments and the vintage elephants. It really looks like you love elephants.
    Thank you for the “exotic places” theme !

    Like

  18. Beautiful pages, i love the colors and elephant images. jenxo

    Like

  19. Wonderful pages.

    Like

  20. Soooooooo nice!!!

    Like

  21. This is such an awesome piece of work!

    Like

  22. Geart spread. Love the color combination.

    Like

  23. I just adore your artwork! My eye was instantly attracted to all the luscious patterns.
    Linda x

    Like

  24. Pingback: Elephantidae « Magpie’s Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  25. Oh, my goodness!! I love this page in your altered book!!! I love elephants, my favorite color is blue!!! P-E-R-F-E-C-T!!!!

    Thanks for more wonderful inspiration!!!
    🙂
    Hugs, Ashlyn

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo