Tea and Tech

Virginia Tech that is … we just returned from a visit with our son in Blacksburg

DSC07094ClayCorner deck

we stayed at a really nice and comfortable B&B in town … right next to campus and within walking distance of a lot of fun spots

DSC07341Hokie pride is everywhere

1Hokies-Mascotsdecorated mascots pop up here and there

FrmMkt-2

the local Farmer’s Market was in full swing even in the rain and chill … getta load of the puff ball mushroom on the left

DSC07330

we had an especially nice visit talking to the Birdsong Farm people about their bees …  all of their natural products are so pure and inviting

1PEACE-boots

Love these Peace boots worn by a lady from Squirrel Hollow Farm & Bakery… they made fresh pierogis and all kinds of delicious tarts and treats

DSC07132Country Rdimagine this picture with a beautiful blue sky 😉 … it didn’t happen the five days we were there … we actually do not mind the rain … someone once said how silly it is to complain about the weather … the one thing that is certain is that it will change again no matter what

DSC07104*all photos are clickable for close up views…if you double click the picture above,  you’ll see the ‘Loitering Allowed‘ sign underneath the banjo and awning*

we always go the extra 30 miles or so to visit the sweet town of Floyd

DSC07319Ftn Youth Mist

next stop the Blue Ridge Parkway

DSC07235MabryMill

Mabry Mill is always worth a photo stop … the water wheel was actively turning

DSC07166Misty

hard to get enough of the misty mountain views

DSC07147Moo
MOOOO

DSC07138Sheep

the sheep look anchored to the hillside by their long horns

DSC07179VillaApp patio

a local winery closed for tasting …

gosh you stopped by for tea and ended up on a mini tour of one little corner of the Blue Ridge … visit Kimmie for all of this week’s tea links

“Anyone who says sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain” ~unknown

22 responses to “Tea and Tech

  1. Oh what beautiful photos!!!!! I love the foggy one! Wish I could come down and see the scenery! The trees must be gorgeous this time of year! Maybe one of these days hubby and I will be able to go road tripping without the teenagers….

    Like

  2. loved the tour! just gorgeous photos and the weather gave everything that misty ethereal look! xo

    Like

  3. Oh I want to come live there in the Misty Mountains! What a beautiful lovely post (as always). Happy tea to you, XOXO Christen

    Like

  4. Love these pictures. My ancestors are all from Georgia… reminds me of Georgia so much.

    Like

  5. Oh, such beautiful autumn photos! I really must grab my camera and get out before it all turns white 😀

    Like

  6. ooo that is my kind of break! beautiful, beautiful photos patty….thanks for the birdsong link, i’m going to see their products!!! oooo what a great mini-break, thanks!

    Like

  7. oo i ordered some beeswax votive candles for xmas…i bet they smell great! i also am going to try the lavendar spray on my pillows at night….yummmmm

    Like

  8. I cannot help but be green with envy. The photos are glorious…ah…to be there. I’m glad you got to go and had such a wonderful time.

    Like

  9. What a gorgeous place you live! It actually reminds me of where we are up here in the pacific northwest. We all like to say – “Hey! if you don’t like the weather, just wait a few minutes!” another thing I’ve heard said is, “There’s no such thing as bad weather – just a bad job dressing for it!”

    Happy T 2Day!

    Like

  10. Looks like a wonderful trip you had Patty, thanks for sharing with all the beautiful photo’s 🙂

    Like

  11. Looks like a fabulous time — all the more so because of being together. Those boots rock! But that whole area looks beautiful — fun and pretty, fascinating and a great time! Welcome back!

    Like

  12. woa, that is a MUSHROOM? I thought it was a loaf of bread or something, lol. It’s huge!

    I love the pumpkins in the background of the pictures, looks like fall is getting there quickly : ) Spring has sure taken its time to arrive here, lol.

    so cool you got to visit your son, it sounds like a great trip. Oh, and you know what? In the end my parents are NOT moving this year, lol (not cool, I was looking forward to having some freedom ;p)

    Like

  13. Once again you’ve NAILED these shots. I so admire your artistic eye when it comes to photography. These photos are just fabulous!!! I’m so glad you shared them with us!

    Like

  14. Awesome post, Patty! I loved each of the photos – especially the Wellies and the farms. Something about fog and a farm . . . . Hmmm . . . maybe in a past life . . . Thanks for sharing your day and your memories! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    PS – I have tried several times to subscribe to your RSS feed – however, it’s not working! Am wondering if anyone else is having a problem.

    Like

  15. I just love my mini vacations via Patty. This is gorgeous country. I’ll have a sauerkraut pierogi please and thank you.

    Like

  16. thanks for sharing! glad you got to see ds and the fog photo is absolutely awesome!

    Like

  17. oh, i am homesick now to the very bottom of my heart…your photos got me all teary-eyed~so beautiful. i can smell the crunchy leaves. thanks for taking us along with you…

    Like

  18. Great post Patty! the Blue Ridge is my fav, in fact probably one of my all time favs from your blog trips, what an amazing atmosphere you captured. Mx

    Like

  19. WOW! Your photography is absolutely breath-taking!

    Like

  20. Patty, you took such gorgeous pictures of the Blacksburg area. I love the shots of the old barns.

    Like

  21. These photos are so pretty… it makes me want to go on a trip. I loved the one with with the water wheel . Blue Ridge Parkway seemed ideal spot for a floating ghost !

    Like

  22. Pingback: Tea at Tech… in the gardens… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo