gypsy journey continued …

my journal finally has a cover … a piece of an old old quilt … a TAP transfer and piece of map fabric (thank you Heidi) … a rusty old key with a vintage flower spray stitched on …


signatures in place …


fabric from Kim Gibson’s recent natural dye demo for the inside covers and book ties …

just so happens it matches the green grass on the caravan transfer on my front cover perfectly … a happy accident …

it is such fun turning the pages …

again and again

the wonderful blue writing on the left is a piece from my Color Paper Swap partner Patricia … she is a most amazing artist … I used other bits from all of the wonderful goodies she sent me too

I am looking forward to making another journal soon … there are so many things to try and do

my swan TAP transfer image is from the NYPL digital collection … … tissue papers … torn map and bits of netting

Carole has a new on line class in the works … can’t wait … there is actually still time to join in her “Open Your Door” journal class … you know you want to!

“The best way of life is to be, simply be” ~Yogi Tea Tag

38 responses to “gypsy journey continued …

  1. You amaze me with your talent…and all the while bringing proper nutition to Mr. Magpie from your kitchen stove top. This journal is wonderful…what a keepsake.
    P.S. I used to be a “hooker” toooooo omg,,,,small world. Toooo many interests…soooo little time.

    Like

  2. oh proofreading always helps doesn´t it…
    NUTRITION….grrr

    Like

  3. Your Gypsy Journal is pure magic Patty – and I just love the caravan pic on the front cover – plus an old quilt to cover it – genius!

    Like

  4. Superb Patty!! love every single page!! and those TAP transfers are just fab, I love the sharpness you get with this technique, so much better that liquid transfers for photos. So what’s next?? I’m totally inspired to go on with another journal, hark I think I hear the marrieds calling… Mx

    Like

  5. What a beautiful marriage of mixed media, Patty! Your journal is beyond fabulous! You truly inspire me!!! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Like

  6. The cover is perfect! I am truly inspired. Time to go find a book to tear up and join in Carole’s class (better late than never!)

    Like

  7. Marilyn Rock

    WOW! Patty; this is beautiful! That TAP transfer is so clear and crisp. Gorgeous cover with the fabric – just breathtaking! xxoo

    Like

  8. Love the journal!
    So when were you hitting the Jager…? *grin*

    Like

  9. Your journal is fantastic….have journaled for years but nothing like what you so…it’s wonderful…keep it up.

    Like

  10. Patty! I agree…these are the kinds of pages that are fun to turn, again, and again, and again. They are also the types of photos you want to enlarge when you’re viewing them on a blog! I love the jagged stitching on your cover…perfect way to stitch this! What a glorious cover…and page after page…On the sixth set of photos, is that a round stamp you’ve used? I love that stamp….do tell! So many wonderful details and uses of different textures, mediums, etc. What a keepsake! Xo, Sue

    Like

  11. thank you all so much for such lovely comments

    Yes Sue that IS a Inkadinkadoo, Tin Can Mail stamp, the number on it is: 91629 O (there is a 205 aways away from that number on the left … hard to tell if that is part of the ID or not?)

    oxo

    Like

  12. Patty,
    That is an incredible journal? I adored each page and will go back again. It’s good to see the Tap Transfers up close (and personal?).
    Hugs!

    Like

  13. FANTASTIC!!!
    Love it Patty!!

    Like

  14. Liking it very much. Always enjoy when you show all the pages and parts! Helps me visualize, almost “feel” it!

    Like

  15. I love the final process and the book is so desirable…it would make me hold it near and dear to my heart. I think I would like to create one for me for my six brothers and sisters. Imagine and Live in peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    Like

  16. I LoVe the journal cover, PerFecT!

    Like

  17. Whoa !! Such impressive.
    I would love to flip through one by one 🙂

    Like

  18. WOW Patty!!! It looks gorgeous!!!
    Hugs
    Oxana

    Like

  19. oh Patty i wish i could reach aout and flip the pages, its just gorgeous as i new it would be! ejnxo

    Like

  20. Amazing pages, Patty!!! well done! I love that stamp too!!! I wish I could get it somewhere….the shape is my husband’s favorite..and mine too as it has a special significance to our profession…Thank you for sharing these beautiful pages….
    hugs steph

    Like

  21. Patty, this pages are so amazing!
    I have also bought this transfer paper . But had not time to try it yet. The Jägermeister picture made me laugh:-)

    Like

  22. I not only love the cover of this journal, I also like all the pages you have created in it. So many clever pages and lovely backgrounds. You did a super job and I just kept looking and looking at each of the lovely pages you created. This is a real gem.

    Like

  23. o patty, such a lovely creation! i especially love the shot of the edges of your book…my favorite page is the one with the pressed flowers & flattened box frame…although they all have their own, special appeal…

    Like

  24. ooo, that’s a gorgeous journal! So many details and different textures. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

  25. Oh wow so wonderful journal Patty.
    This is fabulous. Great details and fantastic fabrics. Love it.

    Have a sunny weekend my dear friend.

    Like

  26. Dear Patty,
    your pages are stunning. I love them. Also laughin about the Jägermeister-label.
    Es ist meisterlich !!!
    Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog.

    Rosie

    Like

  27. Oh Patty this turned out fabulously!!!! I have started my second one! I had the same idea about the old quilt for a cover!!!! Maybe we’re p-psychic!!! 😀

    Like

  28. Patty
    your journal is amazing! love the old vintage quilt…beautiful work!

    Like

  29. Wow Patty!! Your journal is wonderful! Mine is almost ready to be sewn together. It’s so inspiring to see everyone’s projects from Carole’s class. Thanks for sharing yours!

    Like

  30. So thrillingly lovely Patty ~ I adore each and every page! I just love and adore all of your artistic work ~ whether it’s altering, gardening, tea sipping, or photography! Blessings!

    Like

  31. I am just sitting here with my mouth hanging open and drooling. Hot Dog Girlie Girl – you did it and FINISHED it and I haven’t even started. Huggies to you – me

    Like

  32. I am just sitting here with my mouth hanging open and drooling. Hot Dog Girlie Girl – you did it and FINISHED it and I haven’t even started. Huggies to you – xoxo – me

    Like

  33. The cover is just perfect! I really love how this is coming together. You’ve really gotten into the groove with this book. AWESOME!
    xx,
    Autumn Clark

    Like

  34. Have you guessed by now that we all want to hold this Patty and see it in close-up!! Do you think you could arrange for it to travel around the world, lol 😉
    Fabulous work my friend; you’re a star. Now I need to go and get on with mine…….

    Like

  35. waouhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh superbe bravo md

    Like

  36. Pingback: Lil Book of Whimsy « Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz

  37. You my friend are such an inspiration to me 🙂 I feel blessed just visiting your wonderful blog my dear!! keep up the wonderful creative Artwork my friend, I Love it!!

    Hugs and smiles,
    Linda

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here...it means a lot to me and I appreciate your visit very much oxo